We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I have ever stayed”
Review of George House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George House
Ankara, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best places I have ever stayed”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A friend and I were doing some walking along the Lycian way and just stumbled upon this place. We loved it so much we ended up staying three nights. The view down to the Mediterranean is absolutely breathtaking and it is perfectly positioned to catch the sunset. Room rates include a great breakfast and dinner, lots of carbs to get you pumped up for walking. I really can't recommend this place enough, it's family run and they bend over backwards to look after you and make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    17
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
36
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wish we could have stayed an extra night. We hiked up to George House from nearby Fethiye and did about 13 kms to get to this paradise. It is bare bones, in the best way possible. Our room was a little bungalow with a mattress on the floor. The bungalow sat on a cliff with the most spectacular views of butterfly valley as well as a perfect breeze that washed over us all night. The sunset was unreal, the (locally sourced) food was spectacular, and the hosts were some of the sweetest people you will ever meet. Oh, they also have pool. Would do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mingo77212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights, in order to hike in the area. It was easy to get here from fethiye and we were greeted with Turkish tea. We stayed in one of the new rooms, which were large, clean and had a great bathroom. The dinners were amazing - great vegetarian and meat options - and the breakfasts were also really good. The host was incredibly nice and helpful, and provided great tips on hiking around George house. The views were also amazing. And the whole place was really inexpensive! We were sad to leave!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chark23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The location, the half-board price, the food, the exciting climb down to the beach, the ease of getting to nearby attractions, the pool, George House has it all. And, the owners are very friendly. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn_57Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hiking the Lycian trail in February makes finding accommodation tricky. After Day 1 of the walk, we found George House, which was the only place open in Faralya. Considering that Hassan (George's son and current proprietor of George House) could have charged us double and offered food half as tasty, we were awfully happy to get a reasonable deal and great food. We stayed in one of their bungalows (clean, hot water, heated) for 90 Lira - a great deal considering it included dinner and breakfast. What was most awesome about Hassan was his willingness to call ahead to other lodges along the trail to help us find out which towns had openings. Each town had only 1 place (sometimes no place) and Hassan was our "trail angel". We had a few words in Turkish. I suggest you learn the basics of accommodation Turkish if you want to hike here in the off season - or get an app that translates etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank euphgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our original plans to backpack on the Lycian Trail were switched to two nights at George House and dayhiking. Why: We were there in December during a very cold cold spell. We are so glad we did this. Meals were incredible and you get both morning and evening. Tea is available all day. The views were great from the hotel and while the rooms were small, you really don't need anything bigger. We hiked in from Oludeniz on the Lycian Trail and on the advice of some people spent a few days hiking the local trails around Faralya which were right on the coast and well marked and, naturally, gorgeous. There also appear to be several options for staying in warmer months from tent sites to a cabins without heat. Stunning...do yourself a favor and come to this delightful place. I understand that there may be a book coming out soon of the local hikes so get there soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palawan Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is the highlight of the trip I had in November 2012.

The place is located in the amazing butterfly valley. George House's cabins are right there at the cliff overlooking the cove and the ravine, it's like they own the whole butterfly valley.

I took the minibus from Oludeniz that stopped along the main road in Faralya and walked my way little down to George House Faralya. It was the end of the tourist season (end of October) so there are only less than 10 guests as I remember staying at the place so it’s quiet, not busy and I like it that way - on the last day I was the only one left in the place, that even the owner and his family had to say goodbye to me as they're going to visit relatives from the nearby village, I was left alone in the whole place, not for more than an hour though as I was also checking out of the place to move to Kabak Valley that day.

Location – picturesque, right at the edge of the valley overlooking the secluded beach/cove below. The place is so nature-bounty, there are a couple of benches and tables where you can just marvel at the surroundings. It’s on the edge of the cliff, so watching the spectacular sunset is so dramatic – poetic I would say. There are many trees around and bushes bearing fruits like lemon, pomegranate, herbs, flowers, pine trees, etc. The family who owns the place also live there.

The Rooms – they have a choice of concrete rooms with bathrooms, wooden cabins without bathrooms, and an open wall-less roofed houses that seems like treehouses, and you may bring your own tent and camp in the area. I paid TL60 for the one with a bathroom with twin beds joined together inclusive of breakfast and dinner. Great view of the green mountains from the long shared balcony/walkway just outside of the room.

Breakfast – is at the open common area roofed with crawling plants or – when it’s raining - inside the large reception/common area/lobby with TV and low tables. Breakfast is good that lunch is not necessary. Dinner too is served at 5:30pm as the daylight saving time move one hour advance so it got darker early. Delicious buffet dinner, home-cooked with salad, and mostly vegetarian dishes, and some sweets that I can’t figure out if it’s from potatoes or some root crop.

Staff - Hassan, the owner, is very friendly and courteous, he gave me a lift one day to Kabak Valley. His family are very attentive to guests needs and you’ll feel comfortable being around them.

Wifi Internet – works in the room as mine is a little near the main house.

Tourists coming from the boat tour in Fethiye to butterfly valley and climbs from the beach to the valley ends up to George House because the top of the valley is their grounds. Going down to the beach area through well-marked path is a little challenge but a nice experience.

Experience the village life at George House Faralya, I enjoyed the place a lot and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: If you need wifi connection, stay near the main building, otherwise the cabins near the end of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheShoppelifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faralya hotels
0.0 mi away
Faralya Punica Hotel
Faralya Punica Hotel
#1 of 2 in Faralya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.0 mi away
Perdue Butik Hotel
Perdue Butik Hotel
#2 of 11 in Faralya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Faralya Botanica
Faralya Botanica
#4 of 15 in Faralya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gemile Beach Lodge
Gemile Beach Lodge
#10 of 15 in Faralya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon
Avalon
#1 of 11 in Faralya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nautical Faralya
Nautical Faralya
#3 of 11 in Faralya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George House

Property: George House
Address: Faralya, Uzunyurt, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Uzunyurt > Faralya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Faralya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your George House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George House Hotel Faralya
George House Turkey/Faralya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing