We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is one of the most amazing locations you are likely to find.”
Review of George House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George House
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The location, the half-board price, the food, the exciting climb down to the beach, the ease of getting to nearby attractions, the pool, George House has it all. And, the owners are very friendly. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn_57Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for George House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 91 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hiking the Lycian trail in February makes finding accommodation tricky. After Day 1 of the walk, we found George House, which was the only place open in Faralya. Considering that Hassan (George's son and current proprietor of George House) could have charged us double and offered food half as tasty, we were awfully happy to get a reasonable deal and great food. We stayed in one of their bungalows (clean, hot water, heated) for 90 Lira - a great deal considering it included dinner and breakfast. What was most awesome about Hassan was his willingness to call ahead to other lodges along the trail to help us find out which towns had openings. Each town had only 1 place (sometimes no place) and Hassan was our "trail angel". We had a few words in Turkish. I suggest you learn the basics of accommodation Turkish if you want to hike here in the off season - or get an app that translates etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank euphgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our original plans to backpack on the Lycian Trail were switched to two nights at George House and dayhiking. Why: We were there in December during a very cold cold spell. We are so glad we did this. Meals were incredible and you get both morning and evening. Tea is available all day. The views were great from the hotel and while the rooms were small, you really don't need anything bigger. We hiked in from Oludeniz on the Lycian Trail and on the advice of some people spent a few days hiking the local trails around Faralya which were right on the coast and well marked and, naturally, gorgeous. There also appear to be several options for staying in warmer months from tent sites to a cabins without heat. Stunning...do yourself a favor and come to this delightful place. I understand that there may be a book coming out soon of the local hikes so get there soon!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lamaroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is the highlight of the trip I had in November 2012.

The place is located in the amazing butterfly valley. George House's cabins are right there at the cliff overlooking the cove and the ravine, it's like they own the whole butterfly valley.

I took the minibus from Oludeniz that stopped along the main road in Faralya and walked my way little down to George House Faralya. It was the end of the tourist season (end of October) so there are only less than 10 guests as I remember staying at the place so it’s quiet, not busy and I like it that way - on the last day I was the only one left in the place, that even the owner and his family had to say goodbye to me as they're going to visit relatives from the nearby village, I was left alone in the whole place, not for more than an hour though as I was also checking out of the place to move to Kabak Valley that day.

Location – picturesque, right at the edge of the valley overlooking the secluded beach/cove below. The place is so nature-bounty, there are a couple of benches and tables where you can just marvel at the surroundings. It’s on the edge of the cliff, so watching the spectacular sunset is so dramatic – poetic I would say. There are many trees around and bushes bearing fruits like lemon, pomegranate, herbs, flowers, pine trees, etc. The family who owns the place also live there.

The Rooms – they have a choice of concrete rooms with bathrooms, wooden cabins without bathrooms, and an open wall-less roofed houses that seems like treehouses, and you may bring your own tent and camp in the area. I paid TL60 for the one with a bathroom with twin beds joined together inclusive of breakfast and dinner. Great view of the green mountains from the long shared balcony/walkway just outside of the room.

Breakfast – is at the open common area roofed with crawling plants or – when it’s raining - inside the large reception/common area/lobby with TV and low tables. Breakfast is good that lunch is not necessary. Dinner too is served at 5:30pm as the daylight saving time move one hour advance so it got darker early. Delicious buffet dinner, home-cooked with salad, and mostly vegetarian dishes, and some sweets that I can’t figure out if it’s from potatoes or some root crop.

Staff - Hassan, the owner, is very friendly and courteous, he gave me a lift one day to Kabak Valley. His family are very attentive to guests needs and you’ll feel comfortable being around them.

Wifi Internet – works in the room as mine is a little near the main house.

Tourists coming from the boat tour in Fethiye to butterfly valley and climbs from the beach to the valley ends up to George House because the top of the valley is their grounds. Going down to the beach area through well-marked path is a little challenge but a nice experience.

Experience the village life at George House Faralya, I enjoyed the place a lot and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: If you need wifi connection, stay near the main building, otherwise the cabins near the end of the c...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheShoppelifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We made a last minute change to cut short our stays at Fethiye to squeeze in two nights stay at George House, we knew it would be a rewarding experience along the drive from Fethiye to Faralya (we hired a taxi).
The host family was very hospitable, Hassan who appeared to be the only one fluent in English was a pleasant and helpful guy, we had lots of good laugh with him and his wife.
We stayed in the new cabins which has en-suite bathroom and A/C/Heater unit, very comfortable.
The place was next to the cliff off Butterfly Valley, very quiet and peaceful, we spent quite a bit of time just sitting by the cliff enjoying the view. We also did a coastal hike from Faralya towards Kabak Beach, the view was magnificent but the 4.9km hike took us 3 hours.

Room Tip: Ask for the new cabins that have en-suite bathroom and A/C
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaiWap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stopped here for a drink on route and were warmly welcomed. Basically it was a help yourself to a tea or coffee and pay as you leave. You could sit turkish style on floor cushions and admire the views. It has the most stunning views looking towards butterfly valley and can imagine it is a fab place to come and stay for a night. It had various huts/chalets you could stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank webber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very nice place to stay in Faralya. We stayed in the wooden house (40 TL per person, shared bathroom) with dinner and breakfast is included. Dinner consisted of a soup and a variety of Turkish vegetarian dishes and tasted very good. Breakfast was a traditional Turkish fare with cheese, tomatoes, boiled egg and fruits.

Owner and his family are very friendly. There is a large fruit and vegetable garden.

Extra points for a very nice small pool with cool and crystal clear mountain spring water, a real refreshment on a hot day!

Room Tip: Pool with clear and cool water is very refreshing
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faralya
0.0 mi away
Nautical Faralya
Nautical Faralya
#3 of 11 in Faralya
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Perdue Butik Hotel
Perdue Butik Hotel
#4 of 11 in Faralya
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zakros Hotel Lykia
Zakros Hotel Lykia
#1 of 16 in Faralya
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gemile Beach Lodge
Gemile Beach Lodge
#14 of 16 in Faralya
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chakra Beach Kabak
Chakra Beach Kabak
#32 of 137 in Fethiye
36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montenegro Motel
Montenegro Motel
#2 of 11 in Faralya
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George House

Address: Faralya, Uzunyurt, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Uzunyurt > Faralya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Faralya
Price Range: $69 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your George House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George House Hotel Faralya
George House Turkey/Faralya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing