We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a peaceful place”
Review of George House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George House
virignia
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What a peaceful place”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We made a last minute change to cut short our stays at Fethiye to squeeze in two nights stay at George House, we knew it would be a rewarding experience along the drive from Fethiye to Faralya (we hired a taxi).
The host family was very hospitable, Hassan who appeared to be the only one fluent in English was a pleasant and helpful guy, we had lots of good laugh with him and his wife.
We stayed in the new cabins which has en-suite bathroom and A/C/Heater unit, very comfortable.
The place was next to the cliff off Butterfly Valley, very quiet and peaceful, we spent quite a bit of time just sitting by the cliff enjoying the view. We also did a coastal hike from Faralya towards Kabak Beach, the view was magnificent but the 4.9km hike took us 3 hours.

Room Tip: Ask for the new cabins that have en-suite bathroom and A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaiWap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    18
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
36
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stopped here for a drink on route and were warmly welcomed. Basically it was a help yourself to a tea or coffee and pay as you leave. You could sit turkish style on floor cushions and admire the views. It has the most stunning views looking towards butterfly valley and can imagine it is a fab place to come and stay for a night. It had various huts/chalets you could stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very nice place to stay in Faralya. We stayed in the wooden house (40 TL per person, shared bathroom) with dinner and breakfast is included. Dinner consisted of a soup and a variety of Turkish vegetarian dishes and tasted very good. Breakfast was a traditional Turkish fare with cheese, tomatoes, boiled egg and fruits.

Owner and his family are very friendly. There is a large fruit and vegetable garden.

Extra points for a very nice small pool with cool and crystal clear mountain spring water, a real refreshment on a hot day!

Room Tip: Pool with clear and cool water is very refreshing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paraba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The accomodation is mainly used by hikers (Lycian way) that stay overnight, but some people stay a longer period too. It is easy to reach by Dolmus, it is a very beautiful place. The owner and his family are very friendly and welcoming and do everything possible to make your stay pleasant. The food is included in the price. It is very good (usually vegetarian). The sunsets over Butterfly valley are a must-see. Usually quiet at night, depending on the amount and type of guests, but generally quiet after twelve o'clock. The surrounding is very natural and green and there is a choice of foot paths to take from there or from other starting points in the area. The Dolmus takes you to (the more touristic) Olu Deniz in about 15 minutes. The beach is reachable, but it is a steep and not easy way down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laguna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here three nights. We wanted to hike 2 sections of the Lycian Way. However, we wanted to be transported to Alinca to start our hike and walk back to the George house, as we are retired and wanted to walk more down than up. Let me tell you that was no easy task figuring this all out before hand on the computer. That is until I contacted the owner, Hasan, of the George House who arranged for transport over the mountain the morning after our arrival. No other guest house could be bothered. Hasan made everything easy and was so accomodating. The transport to Alinca was just as spectacular as the hike. We hiked from Alinca to Kabac and decided at the last minute to overnight at the Olive Garden and the next day finish the hike back to the George
House. We had left our big pack packs in the room back at the George House. When we checked out we paid thinking we owed three nights because we used the room to store our packs. Hasan said no problem you do not have to pay for that night because you were not here. How many other places would do something like that. The George House has a special ambiance, everyone so friendly and helpful. The food was good and the conversations were great with all the hikers passing thru with stories to tell. The view over the Butterfly Valley with its surreal sunsets were just a view steps away. The rooms were large and comfortable. We stayed in the new rooms that had an ensuite bathroom and air conditioning. There may be glitzier places to stay - but I am sure none can hold a candle to the warmth, friendliness, helpfulness and overall location of the George House. Flip off an email to Hasan and see for yourself. Nothing is to much trouble.
Thank You Hasan for everything. We wish you the best and hope to visit again soon

Room Tip: Book his new cabins with ensuite bathroom and air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siamjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were only planning to spend one night in George house along the Lycian way but stayed an extra night because we liked the place so much and local hiking was easily accessible. George house is perfectly situated in Faralya on top of a cliff overlooking the butterfly valley. Cat, who helps out in the summer, is a great resource for the Lycian way and helped us pick out some great local trails around Kabak. The Dolmus system is solid in this area and you can easily get to oludeniz or Kabak for the day. George house is very secluded if you want to get away from it all while still allowing you to be close trails and beaches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhamrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Planned on staying a couple of nights and ended up staying a week. Great place to relax after constant travel. Basic cabins, clean shared bathrooms, great Turkish hospitality and amazing walks in the area. The food is delicious and food and drinks are reasonably priced.

With three generations working together it is a great insight into Turkish culture.

Definitely recommend George House and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totoro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Faralya
0.0 mi away
Faralya Punica Hotel
Faralya Punica Hotel
#1 of 2 in Faralya
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa
SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa
#3 of 103 in Oludeniz
819 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nautical Faralya
Nautical Faralya
#2 of 11 in Faralya
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Perdue Butik Hotel
Perdue Butik Hotel
#3 of 11 in Faralya
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Faralya Botanica
Faralya Botanica
#3 of 16 in Faralya
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gemile Beach Lodge
Gemile Beach Lodge
#11 of 16 in Faralya
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George House

Property: George House
Address: Faralya, Uzunyurt, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Uzunyurt > Faralya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Faralya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your George House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George House Hotel Faralya
George House Turkey/Faralya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing