We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly,Friendly,Friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
George House
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Friendly,Friendly,Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here three nights. We wanted to hike 2 sections of the Lycian Way. However, we wanted to be transported to Alinca to start our hike and walk back to the George house, as we are retired and wanted to walk more down than up. Let me tell you that was no easy task figuring this all out before hand on the computer. That is until I contacted the owner, Hasan, of the George House who arranged for transport over the mountain the morning after our arrival. No other guest house could be bothered. Hasan made everything easy and was so accomodating. The transport to Alinca was just as spectacular as the hike. We hiked from Alinca to Kabac and decided at the last minute to overnight at the Olive Garden and the next day finish the hike back to the George
House. We had left our big pack packs in the room back at the George House. When we checked out we paid thinking we owed three nights because we used the room to store our packs. Hasan said no problem you do not have to pay for that night because you were not here. How many other places would do something like that. The George House has a special ambiance, everyone so friendly and helpful. The food was good and the conversations were great with all the hikers passing thru with stories to tell. The view over the Butterfly Valley with its surreal sunsets were just a view steps away. The rooms were large and comfortable. We stayed in the new rooms that had an ensuite bathroom and air conditioning. There may be glitzier places to stay - but I am sure none can hold a candle to the warmth, friendliness, helpfulness and overall location of the George House. Flip off an email to Hasan and see for yourself. Nothing is to much trouble.
Thank You Hasan for everything. We wish you the best and hope to visit again soon

Room Tip: Book his new cabins with ensuite bathroom and air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank siamjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    17
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
36
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were only planning to spend one night in George house along the Lycian way but stayed an extra night because we liked the place so much and local hiking was easily accessible. George house is perfectly situated in Faralya on top of a cliff overlooking the butterfly valley. Cat, who helps out in the summer, is a great resource for the Lycian way and helped us pick out some great local trails around Kabak. The Dolmus system is solid in this area and you can easily get to oludeniz or Kabak for the day. George house is very secluded if you want to get away from it all while still allowing you to be close trails and beaches.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhamrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Planned on staying a couple of nights and ended up staying a week. Great place to relax after constant travel. Basic cabins, clean shared bathrooms, great Turkish hospitality and amazing walks in the area. The food is delicious and food and drinks are reasonably priced.

With three generations working together it is a great insight into Turkish culture.

Definitely recommend George House and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Totoro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denizli
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

very very nice hotel george house faralya... comfortable rooms vith a best view and nice family atmopshere.

faralya is a nice place to stay if you go around fethiye or ölüdeniz


.....................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

George House was the best place we stayed in southwestern Turkey, hands down, and maybe one of the best places we've ever stayed, period. We loved the tidy, little cabins along the cliff-side, and the beautiful common area where the family serves the most delicious breakfasts and dinners (think grape vines and piles of geraniums). There is a swimming pool, a fire-pit, and tons of space to hangout (inside and outside) in between hikes. Is it basic? Yes. Bathrooms are shared, and the internet is a little wonky (but seriously, who cares). It is so clean and comfortable, and Hasan and his family are so kind and welcoming (we arrived at lunchtime, and wanted to order some food off the menu, but Hasan insisted that we try the gozleme they'd made for themselves, no charge, instead). Definitely don't stay here if you like Oludeniz (the absolutely grotesque tourist trap next to Faralya). Definitely stay here if you've come to the south to hike, explore, swim, relax, recharge, and enjoy the most spectacular coastline I've ever seen. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acdubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I really enjoyed our stay at the George House. The grounds felt like summer camp-- there were tree stumps to sit on and watch the sunset, a pool well-utilized by the guests, plenty of space to wander around and admire the beautiful location, and everyone ate dinner breakfast and dinner together. The views over the sea were incredible. Everyone was extremely friendly-- both staff and guests. The food was delicious. And this was a great location if you are going to do any hiking of the Lycian trail. I highly recommend staying at the George House.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberlandia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for the first two nights of walking The Lycian Way on the 1st/2nd October 2011.
Hasan is truly a remarkable host! even though we arrived at midnight he had prepared a gorgeous vegetarian feast. In the morning he made sure we caught the 8.40am Dolmus to the start of the walk.
Our room was basic but comfortable (although my very cold blooded partner missed having a duvet :-( )
On departure Hasan showed us the way to his beautiful coastal walk to Kabak (route and pics on Everytrail at http://www.everytrail.com/view_trip.php?trip_id=1313234 )
We paid 190TL for two nights including all food.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geofones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Faralya hotels
0.0 mi away
Perdue Butik Hotel
Perdue Butik Hotel
#3 of 11 in Faralya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon
Avalon
#1 of 11 in Faralya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Faralya Botanica
Faralya Botanica
#3 of 15 in Faralya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nautical Faralya
Nautical Faralya
#2 of 11 in Faralya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gemile Beach Lodge
Gemile Beach Lodge
#6 of 15 in Faralya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandarin & Mango Boutique Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George House

Property: George House
Address: Faralya, Uzunyurt, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Uzunyurt > Faralya
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Faralya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your George House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George House Hotel Faralya
George House Turkey/Faralya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing