We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable, friendly, enjoyable, good food, great service, top of the pubs.”
Review of Witsend Resto Pub

Witsend Resto Pub
Ranked #4 of 10 Restaurants in Hemmingford
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Traditional Irish Pub Fare.Serving Lunch and Dinner from 11:30AM til closing.Voted the best Fish'n Chips in the Greater Montreal Region.Steaks, Seafood, Ribs, Pasta, Burgers. Kids welcome.Specialty beers on tap. Summer terrace.Reservations Reccommended.
Quebec
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Reliable, friendly, enjoyable, good food, great service, top of the pubs.”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

First review after at least 10 visits which confirms the great atmosphere, excellent service and very reliable quality, by far the best choice in the area for a full service licensed restaurant.
Stephanie served us again tonight and she is a bundle of positive energy wanting to please her customers.
Favourite choices for us are: Chipotle seafood (with rice or pasta), Fish and Chips, Fajitas, any burger and the ribs, my wife loves the local cider on tap and if I was a beer drinker the choice on tap would be a dream come through (I stick to red wine by the glass).
Portions are very generous and always served efficiently and rapidly. For those who complained of slow service during the occasional and exceptionally beautiful weekends in the summer (it has happened to us as well), when everybody shows up at the same time, please visit outside of those odd times and enjoy a great meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank italcanerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    36
    7
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The burger Jack Daniel and Guinness! Very Nice indeed. The Fish and Chips too ! Definitely a nice place for a quick bite and drink on the move!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kailash R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malone, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fish n' Chips”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Since moving to the North Country it has been very difficult to find a good meal at a restaurant. On a recommendation, we tried Witsend Resto Pub in Hemmingford. We heard the Fish n' Chips was very good so we had that. Fish was pretty good as were the fresh cut fries. I would have preferred that the fish had been cooked slightly less, but overall it was much better than the other places I have been. I did enjoy the pub atmosphere, reminding me of previous meals in England & Ireland. The service was fast, but didn't know I was supposed to go to the bar to pay. I thought it kind of pricey, but willing to pay for good food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very good fish and Chips”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Happened to stop in Hemmingford and ended up going to Witsend for lunch. It turned out to be a good decision as we got to enjoy their famous fish and chips. There was a generous portion of fish and some good fries - all very tasty. All in all a good experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good irish pub”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I like to food and they have good beer on tap. Good service. I recommend the crab dip, the ribs . Good overall menu and a nice place to go. Make reservations on saturday and sunday during the summer. No live music.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jfelix1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Witsend Resto Pub also viewed

Hemmingford, Quebec
Hemmingford, Quebec
 
Hemmingford, Quebec
Hemmingford, Quebec
 

Been to Witsend Resto Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing