We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best experiences during our travels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Karia Bel' Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bozburun
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of the best experiences during our travels”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

A REAL HIT !!! The boutique hotel “KARIABEL” in BOZBURUN – TURKEY.

Being a diplomat and living in a far hotter country (India) you try to visit other spots of the world with milder temperatures and so we came to explore the south-coast of Turkey. Apart from touristic cities and very interesting archaeological sites such as Pergamon, Side, Efese and especially the Apollo temple at Didyma we finally ended up our journey for a restful stay at Bozburun. Instead of staying at the village and its romantic harbour we found a terrific little and cosy boutique hotel by the name of Kariabel. We could not reach the hotel by car but had to do the last 500 meters by boat, arranged by the hotel. Quite an experience ! Especially when you arrive at a spot with absolute quietness and surrounding nature with sea and birds. The hotel is built in several floors against the steep bank of the shore and each hotel room, decorated with very much taste, has its own terrace and a splendid view on the Mediterranean Sea and in particular the Greek Isle of Simi. The concept is half-board and having your exquisite dinner (chapeau to the cook !) by candle light on the terrace at sea-level is quite an experience. After talking to the proprietor you understand the high standard level of the hotel: She has more than twenty years of management experience with the Hilton Hotels, which guarantees the quality of this boutique hotel ! We are sure we’ll come back to Kariabel !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turkey36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    20
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
137
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2010

Karia Bel is situated in the most stunning surroundings. Lying in bed looking through the window over the bay is fantastic. The rooms are beautifully decorated and offer privacy. The owner (Beliz) does her utmost to make everyone feel welcome. Food is superb and the personel are very friendly and helpful. We will definately return to this little paradise.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YdeTheHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blzk, Owner at Karia Bel' Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear Karia Bel' Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind comments. It is a pleasure to learn that your have enjoyed your stay..
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Beliz Uke Yavuz
Hotel Manager / Owner
Karia Bel' Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Karia Bel and were very pleased. You need to call from the jetty in Bozborun for the boat to come pick you up, so make your phone is charged. There is no road access as the hotel is built up a very steep hill. This means there are a LOT of stairs involved, so this would not be a suitable place for anyone who had trouble getting up and down. Once you're at the hotel, you'll spend most of your time down on the little patio right on the ocean. The setting is just unbelievable. It's impossible not to relax about five notches while you're there.

The owner retired after 25 years working for Hilton and knows how to run a hotel. She has just been in business for 13 months (as of 9/10) and is still putting some finishing touches on things. Our room was large and clean, with a private balcony. You could wake up in the morning and look straight out to the sea.

Though the accommodating staff can run you to shore or to nearby restaurants for dinner, we were lazy and stayed on site for all our meals, which were perfectly acceptable if not amazing food. The staff is very pleasant and the breakfast is good.

I disagree with the reviewers who complained about the price. This hotel is in a remote location and all the supplies must be brought in from far away. We found the price (for food and lodging) in line with what we payed elsewhere in Turkey and did not think it was out of line at all.

Definitely recommend this place to couples or solo travelers looking to get away for a few days. It's probably not a good place for elderly, or for families with kids looking for beach time--there is no beach, the patio just drops off into the ocean. This is not the Four Seasons with endless diversions, so bring your book.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blzk, Owner at Karia Bel' Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear Karia Bel' Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind comments. It is a pleasure to learn that your have enjoyed your stay..
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Beliz Uke Yavuz
Hotel Manager / Owner
Karia Bel' Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We had fabolous 3 days in this hotel. The service, food and rooms were at top standards. You can feel the notion of quality in every detail. The owner, Beliz, is very warm, welcoming and professional. I can't say any single negative comment about the staff. They are doing a very good job although being at the end of season.

The location is unbelievable, the sea is one of the best you can find anywhere in the world.

We were amazed with the tasteful food and service.

I definately recommend this hotel and will hopefully be back soon.

Ilhan

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilhan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blzk, Owner at Karia Bel' Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear Karia Bel' Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind comments. It is a pleasure to learn that your have enjoyed your stay..
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Beliz Uke Yavuz
Hotel Manager / Owner
Karia Bel' Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2010

From the moment we were greeted, we knew that Karia Bel was what we were looking for. We had a wonderful time letting ourselves to be surrendered by nature.

When lying comfortably on the jetty beneath the shades of a tree, while listening to the quiet sound of the waves, we were overcomed with a feeling of serenity.

The hospitality and sincerity of the staff made us feel at home. The landscape was fantastic and the sea was just beautiful. The quality of food and the romantic atmosphere were perfect.

Thank you for making our holiday unforgettable. We will definitely go back and recommend to all our friends!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m_johansson40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blzk, Owner at Karia Bel' Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Dear Karia Bel' Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your kind comments. It is a pleasure to learn that your have enjoyed your stay..
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Beliz Uke Yavuz
Hotel Manager / Owner
Karia Bel' Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antalya
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

To start with the price given to us by the owner over the phone, 180 TL with half board, was per person and not for the room as we understood.
I had never experienced such misunderstanding during my 20 years of traveling and my 20 months of living and traveling in Turkey. By the way, there are no prices in the hotel’s website and if I were you I would double check everything else written on that site.

She, the owner, never tells you until you arrive in the village of Bozburun that the only way to reach the hotel is by boat. You are told to park the car somewhere in the open air and you just hope to see your car again at the end of your stay.

The place is in the middle of nowhere and there is absolutely nothing to do unless you pay for boat trips. In the second day of your stay you are already more than bored. There is not even a TV in the room, not that I like watching it but it is normal to have the opportunity to make a choice especially in a lost place like this.

The place is absolutely not a child friendly as there are steep stairs to go to your room. Kids or even you may slide in the shower area which is same as the breakfast area.

Food is good, as anywhere else in Turkey, but you need to be extremely patient.
During dinner, it took us two hours from the time we seated to the time we finished.
Dinner menu, included in the half board, was nowhere displayed, and no options to choose from. They just put the meal in front of you without saying anything at all.

So…for us Karia Bel is a ‘don’t go place’ …even if the price would be 180 TL per night instead of the 360 TL per night we ended up paying just for the room plus the extras. The ‘extras’ is another long story but the most important thing to know is that they are inevitable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank Antalya_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blzk, Manager at Karia Bel' Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Dear Karia Bel’ Guest,
Greetings from Bozburun.
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that you have shared in Trip.Advisor following your stay in Karia Bel’ Hotel.
However we understand that we were not able to convince you about our hotel and service. Therefore I would appreciate it very much if you could give us another chance, and experience the finest Turkish hospitality at the Karia Bel’ Hotel.
Kind regards,
Beliz Uke Yavuz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

In general, I might say it is a decent place. But, to me, it is over priced. For a place like this, it should be half of what they charge. I stayed there for 2 nights, we payed 700 USD with extras. (The room costs 275 USD a night) Another 75 USD for extras, hamburger, etc, very pricy. Overall, 350 USD a night for a place where there is even no lobby, it is absurd! There place is extremely small. You bump into other people all the time. If you stay in one of those rooms with a balcony, you can have a bit privacy. DON'T go there with your children. There is no place to go or nothing to do. This place is for couples who want to spend a quiet and romantic holiday for maximum for 2 days. More than that, romantism might turn into a fight club. :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArcapA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blzk, Manager at Karia Bel' Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Dear Karia Bel’ Guest,
Greetings from Bozburun.
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback that you have shared in Trip.Advisor following your stay in Karia Bel’ Hotel.
We are delighted to receive your constructive feedback as nothing can be more gratifying than favorable comments from our guests. However we understand that we were not able to convince you about our hotel and service. Therefore I would appreciate it very much if you could give us another chance, and experience the finest Turkish hospitality at the Karia Bel’ Hotel.
Kind regards,
Beliz Uke Yavuz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bozburun
6.2 mi away
D Maris Bay
D Maris Bay
#1 of 1 in Hisaronu Bay
561 reviews
3.1 mi away
Loca Boutique Hotel
Loca Boutique Hotel
#1 of 5 in Selimiye
226 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lemon Garden Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Aphrodite
Hotel Aphrodite
#4 of 6 in Bozburun
34 reviews
10.4 mi away
Golden Key Bordubet
Golden Key Bordubet
#1 of 1 in Bordubet Bay
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Miamai Butik Otel
Miamai Butik Otel
#2 of 6 in Bozburun
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karia Bel' Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karia Bel' Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Karia Bel' Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Adatepe Mevkii No 139, Bozburun 48700, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bozburun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bozburun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Karia Bel' Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Hotel & Restaurant directly on the sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Karia Bel' Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing