We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Didim Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Altinkum
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

we have just come back from a lovely 10 day break here. had a lovely time the hotel was lovely and clean with maid service and clean bedding and towles daily. the staff were all so friendly and helpful. the food was lovely although very repetitive the only thing i could moan about was having to chase round the restuarant for cutlery. all the pools beach etc was all lovely and clean always and the children loved the slides. cant wait to go back x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    473
    304
    203
    219
See reviews for
972
290
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 10 days from 17th June, there were seven of us made up of 2 families with 3 children aged 9 months, 3 years and 9 years old. Some of the reviews we read before going were worrying us but we were pleasantly surprised and would go back again.

The food is repetitive but there is plenty to choose from. At breakfast you can choose from freshly cooked French toast, boiled eggs (3 minutes or 5 minutes) fried eggs, crepes, pancakes, toast, cereal, fruit, yoghurt, bread rolls, toast and omelettes. Lunch and dinner are very similar with large selections of salad, dressings, olives etc, an outside area with cooked meats, stir fry, spaghetti & ragu sauce, and a variety of hot meals. There was always something we could eat & enjoyed and that includes things suitable for mashing for a 9 month old baby. There's also a snack bar opened between 12 and 5pm where you can help yourself to chicken nuggets, chips, chicken burgers, hot dogs etc and a great wee hut down by the beach serving sweet and savoury pastry type crepes.

The tables are all set in the restaurant for meal opening times but if you are not first family at the table you will probably have to get your own cutlery before you eat, this was a bit annoying after a few days as we usually ate about an hour after service started. Also it looked pretty busy in the restaurant at opening times but seemed much quieter if you waited an hour or so before going for your meal.

A couple of times we did think that the wine from the pool bar were watered down at night, another problem with the wine is that it can be warm due to the bottles not being kept in the fridge once opened but I ended up asking for a cold glass from the fridge and it wasn't a problem. The beer was nice and the spirits were fine too - local brands.

The hotel gardens and surroundings are lovely.

Our room was cleaned each day with fresh towels and bedding and nice displays on the bed too.

All staff were extremely pleasant, hard working and helpful. They work long hard shifts and deserve to be appreciated.

We went out for a great meal one night to a restaurant called vista and would highly recommend it. Also if you are looking for a boat trip I'd recommend taffys boat, it's a great day out, the crew are lovely and the food was delicious.

There's a Thomas cook kids club with 4 girls working in it and you can pay £5 per session if you are not a Thomas cook customer. If the kids want to go to a kids club make sure they go to the Thomas cook one and not the one next door where the girl works alone and also splits her time between serving ice cream outside and minding the kids meaning that young kids in her care are left alone for short periods of time!!!!!

Make use of the Turkish baths in the hotel, £40 for a 2 hour treatment with massage or £10 for bath and foam alone.

Great family holiday & we would return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

First impression was a good one and was not disappointed when inside. Room i had was very spacious. Fresh towels and cleaned every day. Food was ok. Some days better than others but there was always something. Plenty to choose from. All staff we came accross were fabulous. Could not have done enough to help. Became friends with a few of them. And Michelle the medic in hotel was absolutely amazing. Few incidents with the kids and really helped. Even got a free bus to take us to her husbands bar for a few drinks. Would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Sea view in Elegance hotel. New build added to Didim Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mags D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hi, we have just come back from holiday here (10th-20th june 2013) myself, my husband and 13yr old son, and we had a great time. I was greatly concerned due to the reveiws but am glad to say it more than lived up to our expectations. It sounds like the other reveiws stayed in a totally different hotel!

We found the staff overall very pleasent and helpfull, although the girl bar staff very rarely smiled! but the rest were great, especially Mustapha from restaurant service, he was amazing and well deserved his large tip at end of stay.

The rooms were clean and tidy and very spacious for the 3 of us, yes the bathroom could of done with abit of a overhaul but what do you expect after years of use, you cant keep anything in pristine condition when used every day....does your bathroom look as though it has just been fitted....there you go then. The room was cleaned every day and stunning arragements made with towels, flower petals and clothing...some were amazing.....housekeeping also came round every day to replace empty water bottles in fridge....no probs with air con.....

The greatest problem i see with other reveiws is of the food...dont go to turkey if your not willing to try something different...if you want sun and english food, go to benidorm.....however we loved the food and was never hungry and there was a vast choice. Also snack huts and bars were dotted all over.
We did go out to eat once as it was Fathers day while we were there, the place was called JAFFA'S which was recommended by our rep Chris....the fillet steaks are to die for. Icecream was free at the kids club almost all day, however the icecream was also for sale for 1tlira less than 50p how anuone can whinge about that is beyond me.
Free cocktail trolley in the evening, only 1 cocktail but its something that had just started the last week we were there. Also staff coming round the pool&beach areas offering snacks.

The pools were crowded and if you didnt get your towels out early you were pushed for a sunbed, however we spent most of our time on the beach and could always get sun loungers, great for snorkling, amazing clear water.

The only down side was the wifi was limited to the lobby/reception area and if a lot of people were on devices it could take forever to do what you needed to do....

We had the turkish bath and massage which is a must, skin was amazing after and is said to help you tan, i am fair skinned and got a lovely colour and never burned even when temps were off the scale lol. Ladies just to mention if you have one with the massage and you have a one piece on they will pull it down to your hips and are often not the only ones in there...this happened to me....but was totally worth a tiny bit of embarressment.

We went on 2 trips, 1 to the market which was £20 from the rep, dont pay this as we found out we could have got the dolmus(white mini buses) from front of hotel for 2tlira each! They are every 10 mins or so and an experience to say the least, sometimes not for the faint hearted, our 1st experience was funny around 30 squished in , but other journeys to and from town we got seats. The other trip was the lazy day cruise, this was good but HOT, again booked with rep.The only off putting thing was the crew were constantly taking photos and then ask you to buy at end of trip and they come round for tips which i thought was rude.

All in all we had a fantastic time and would recommend it to freinds and would return.

Room Tip: we had sea view and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel is very old and very dirty not at all 5 star hotel max it should be 3 star,We stayed ther 7 night and our room it was never cleaned only bed was tidy but not clean bathroom not clean flour or chenged any towel or anything in bed.Bathroom very old and dirty ,when you turn on aircondition electric fuse was going off,
You had to pay for everything in hotel to use safe you had to pay for ice cream to pay,Internet was not working in room only place to use internet was in the reception.
Staf was very rude not helfull lasy and all time in the mobile phone.Non of them speaks English ,Most of turists was Turkish.
Food was all time same and not fresh and cold.Drinks was very poor and not enough,wine was mixed with water and alcool as well.
In one word waste of the money and your time .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Niki143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Altinkum hotels

staffordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hello we stayed here from 27May to 10th June 2013.

Background.

We have stayed in many all inclusives over the years and always enjoyed it. 23 of us travelled on this trip ranging from 3 months to 70’s. We are an easy going bunch and accept that things happen but it’s what you do about it that matters. None of us would return and all have said its the worst AI we have ever been.

The Good

The coffee is excellent – 24 hour help yourself machines with a good selection of good coffee

The décor – very nicely done, gives a good feeling of grandeur

The maid service – They work very hard and always leave a towel animal etc on your bed

The food – in the main restaurant the food was excellent if you arrived by 7pm when they opened. By 7.30 most of the fresh / gone items had gone and they for the most were not replaced.


The bad

The restaurant set up - this has an outside seating area which is very pleasant but they do not have a smoking / non-smoking section and most of the guests that sit outside light up and leave it in the ashtray whilst they are eating. As the area is overhead covered this builds up and makes it impossible to eat out there without getting a mouthful of smoke with every mouthful of food.

The entertainment – Not one of our party enjoyed this – they have an entertainment team who try to act some sort of show each night but it’s just a noise. It would not hurt for the amount of guests to bring in some professional entertainment a few times a week.

The Ugly

The drinks are all watered down to the extent you can have any spirit neat and it still tastes of water. The wine was disgusting, must have been 90% water, all the bottles lined up already have the seal broken, I went to the shop and purchased a bottle of identical wine and showed them a glass of mine and theirs and the Manager just shrugged his shoulders and said “I don’t drink alcohol” At night they lined put about 20 pints on the bar of the beer so it was all flat and refused people who asked for a fresh one. We drank out every night, the bar next door (Mojito) did nice large glasses of wine for 6 TL and no hassle. All you heard in the hotel was people moaning about the drinks.

The Quiet Pool – This is surrounded by decking that’s rotting and needs replacing. One of the children in our party (2years old) walked on it and got 9 splinters that would not come out and she had to be taken to the Doctors to have them removed. The hotel still did nothing and we heard of many others getting splinters from that area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

On arrival found accomodation to be very good, that was the best part of the holiday. Drinks are heavily watered down, Jesus turned water into wine, staff at this hotel managed to reverse the process. The beer was only worth drinking if you got it from the pool bar. The all inclusive drinks were for 22 hours a day with the bar only closing in the morning between eight and 10'o clock probably to give them time to doctor the drinks. Food was not up to much and the kids menu was atrocious. Went down for dinner 1 evening and there was no food left for the kids. Was told by the staff that the kids meals were finished. After a heated discussion with the restraunt staff more food was brought up. If you have young children or are not steady on your feet, ignore the amphi theatre like the plague. There are chairs to sit on but they are not connected to anything and could cause a serious injury. Booked the A la carte on 1 evening of our stay, waited an hour between 1st and second courses and the food was less than good, walked out before the desert was served. would definitely not recommend this hotel but did like Altinkium. If you want a nice Sunday Lunch walk 100yards down the road towards Altinkium where you will get a nice Sunday Lunch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altinkum
3.7 mi away
Venosa Beach Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
Tuntas Beach Hotel Altinkum
1.9 mi away
Buyuk Anadolu Didim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Aurum Spa & Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#3 of 29 in Altinkum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.9 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didim Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didim Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Didim Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Parlamenterler Yolu 3, Altinkum, Didim, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim > Altinkum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Altinkum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Didim Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Didim Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didim Beach Hotel Altinkum
Didim Beach Resort And Spa
Didim Beach Turkey
Didim Beach Hotel Turkey
Hotel Didim Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing