We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an ok Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Didim Beach Resort Aqua & Elegance Thalasso
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Altinkum
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning, check in was smooth and allocated our room efficiently. The room was spacious enough for both of us, with a double bed and a single bed also, the bathroom was a bit cramped, with a small shower cubical, but was adequate. At this point I would like to mention the lady that cleaned our room, we asked for another pillow, and this request was acted upon speedily, also the various shape that she created on the bed from the towels and the bed clothes were amazing, and very entertaining, we looked forward to going back to the room to see what she had created, she worked long hours, often still cleaning at gone 5pm.
The food we thought was a bit hit and miss but we always found something to eat, but we only stayed a week, I think if we would have had a 2 week holiday you could get a bit fed up.
A lot of the bar and waiting staff lack or don’t possess any customer service skills, and were very often rude and unhelpful, ok I understand it was towards the end of the season, but we should all made to feel welcome, it is our holiday after all, we were never rude towards them. The two waiters in the outside dining area, Memhet and another waiter were always helpful towards us and always got the drinks from the bar while we were having our evening meal. A few of the younger bar staff were also very good towards people.
The hotel in general was nice with a good selection of swimming pools, and the beach was easily accessible, we never had a problem getting a sun bed at the pool area or the beach, there are towels supplied by the hotel to use at the pool and the beach, get a card from reception for 10tl (deposit) and have a clean towel every day, This could work out expensive if you have a large family, also pay a 50tl or £20 (deposit) for your safe deposit box key. You do get both deposits back at the end of your holiday.
We were given the sales spiel for the Turkish Bath by fat boy, we just had the Turkish Bath and skin peel, this was done over at the Elegance Hotel, and to be honest it was not very good experience, the place was cold, we had a much better Turkish Bath last year at another resort, Fat Boy does seem to generate lots of business, but the end result is a bit lacking the original sales patter. The entertainment team work hard, and are very engaging. But if I go to watch the evening show I want to be entertained and not to be the entertainment. We did have a nice time, and I would recommend this Hotel, but it is not a 5* the management just needs to address a few things to ensure guests are treated better, and with a bit more respect, by the staff.

You shouldn’t have to tip to get good service, it should be you tip when you get a good service.

Room Tip: some rooms do have limited sea views, and look directly onto other balconies, these are 104,105,204...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardiffboy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 1,878 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

One week's holiday at Didim Beach 14th to 21st October. Weather was exceptional. Lovely hotel, pool and slides great for kids. Kids club good, evening entertainment mostly participation in games, no actual shows. Food was good, something for everyone, a bit repetative but for a week it was OK for us. Loud music around the pool but there was a quieter pool area down by the beach. Would definitely recommend this place, especially if you have children. We loved it !

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Myself and my family booked a weeks holiday to Didim Beach June 2012,when we got there we were told that we had to move over the road to Garden of Sun after three hour delay to our flight,who needs that with four children early hours of the morning we were not happy as you can imagine ,the manager said they were overbooked how can that be when we booked 10 months in advance aload of crap.They said we can come back after three nights,all the children were tired and upset so we left it till the morning but still no joy.We moved to Garden of sun which was pretty ok and asked could we stay there as the children were enjoying themselves after all the upheaval but guess what Didim Beach said no chance we ended up in the annex over the road just a pool and a bedroom as we had to go for our meals in the Didim beach can you imagine with the children, still nothing was getting done and we never saw a rep at all while we were there,so please think twice if you are going to go to Didim BEACH YOU JUST MIGHT GET MOVED..

Room Tip: Building we were in rooms very small not much sunlight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizlaverty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 16.30 for a week we got dropped off outside the hotel went into reception checked in & the porter takes you up to your room which are clean & tidy nearly everyday i had swans or flowers or even a lady on my bed just little touches like that was nice. Food was a little repetitive but you wouldnt starve, from day one the entertainment team try & get you involved they are really friendly & happy rio the boss, kiko is crazy & never stops ricky, okan, sadie, leah, sarjane & nihane all really friendly they are like family now very entertaining without hassel. We sat at the pool bar every night & cafer the barman was great always looked after us one of the barman wasnt as helpful never cracked a smile. We met a couple which was her birthday we booked the al a carte with the help of jan who was great & ordered us a cake. I would recomend a turkish bath with scrub & peel toatally great & end up with a great tan would really recommend this hotel & would love to go back thank you everyone had a great holiday so sad to leave everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peanutjazz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived as 2 20 year old girls, well aware that this wasnt a party holiday, however the animations team made it great fun with pool games and entertainment in the evening. Pool was quite loud and noisy but thats expected when there are waterslides, but it was annoying having to get up before 7am to get a sunbed. The food was ok, nothing amazing but then we wernt expecting that, some nationalities at the hotel seemed unable to queue nicely for the buffet so expect to be pushed in front of. Bar opened for a good amount of time with large variety of drinks, house cocktail was very nice. Rooms clean and tidy with lots of storage space. Do not go to see the hotel nurse, we did and regretted it, get your rep to contact a dr instead. I would probably go back here as it was quite good value for money, and had a good time.

Room Tip: All rooms have free aircon, in the elegance part of the hotel is quieter at night as it is further f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Like others, we too were a bit concerned about the bad reviews, but really shouldn't have been. Yes it's a 4 star rather than 5, and yes some of the staff seemed rather uninterested, but overall our party was more than happy with the stay... There were 4 of us in our late 30's, although we act like late 20's... And we were all so sad to go at the end of the week.

We found the food substantial, and you can always get snacks, or other food throughout the day!

The rooms were nice, my only small criticism is they are a bit noisy as the doors really slam shut loudly and the walls were so thin I could hear the people next doors conversation, but nothing a bit of consideration didn't solve!

The main dolphin pool has loud music playing throughout the day which some may enjoy but others may find annoying! We made full use of the relax pool, where you can still hear the music without it being overpowering!

I read the reviews about Fatboy so felt like I already knew him when we met him... Defo recommend the Turkish bath at the beginning of your stay, it really sets you up for the week and worth every penny! He is such a lovely guy and really helped us out with local info, do's and dont's etc that your reps may forget to tell you!!

We made use of the dolmus buses into town, and the local boat trips are amazing! The Saturday market is definitely full of characters... Be prepared, but good bargains!

Also would recommend Romeo's Restaurant and Bar in Altinkum... Romeo, Roberto and Robin made us feel so welcome and the Turkish meal was fantastic!

Already booking for next year, loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderwoman4006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Arrived on the 1st October (well 2nd really as it was 3am) for 10 nights with my sister, brother in law and nephew (my partner flew out to us on the 3rd for 1 week) after a good 2 hour transfer. We knew how long this was when we booked so wasn't a problem.
The check in was quick and our bags were swiftly taken to our room (536). Our room was quite spacious and clean with beautiful views overlooking the pools, slides, sea and marina.
We had a little problem with the toilet cistern but rang reception and it was dealt with the following day. Our shower leaked all over the bathroom floor but other than that the room was fine. Aircon worked brilliant.

Safe was a £20 deposit which we got back at the end of hol and the beach towels were £5 each deposit which we also got back. Nice fresh towels everyday.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly, always happy to help out and always had a smile except one man who worked at the pool bar. He looked like Ronaldo the footballer and was the most ignorant arrogant Turk i have ever come across. He wasn't bothered about serving any customers, just chatting up the girls who sat at the bar all day and night hanging on to his every slimy word. My advise is to ask another (nice) barman for a drink as this other bloke never got the order right when he did finally do some work.
I would like to say a big thank you to Janice who organises the al a carte. She helped my partner out big time when his transfer company went bust and organised another bus to take him back to airport. She went way and beyond the call of duty. Thanks Janice!

The hotel was kept very clean. The cleaners came everyday with fresh towels and the pool are was always immaculate as were the bars. The staff were always going around collecting empty glasses and emptying ashtrays.

I thought the food was brilliant. Fresh salads, meze, bread, soup, hot meat dishes, fish, rice, cous cous, vegetables, chips, pizza, burgers, pancakes, cakes. I'm not sure what people expect when they go to Turkey but if you want traditional English food then i'd suggest either going self catering and eating out at British themed bars, or book to go to Benidorm or Blackpool. There was plenty of food and it was all good quality. I honestly don't know how people can complain about it. Yes it did get repetative towards the end but it's the same at home. In 10 days i would probably cook the same thing twice too!! We did eat out a couple of times but i still chose Turkish dishes. The Ottoman Kebab is always a winner!

The main dolphin pool was VERY loud and the main hub of entertainment and too big to keep an eye on a 3 year old who constantly loves to run everywhere so we usually spent our daytimes on the lovely little beach or around the quieter pool at the Elegance. The bar people at the elegance were fantastic and if they had to nip anywhere then they had no problem in allowing you to pour your own drinks which was fab. Both pool areas were very clean. We never saw any accidents with the slides but we did see quite a lot of people slipping over around the main pool as the surface is very slippy. The surface at the Elegance is not.
We never had a problem any time of day getting loungers around any of the pools or the beach as there were plenty and people didn't really reserve them. I expect in high season this can be a problem though as the hotel is so big.

The reason i have rated this a 3 is because i have stayed at 4* before and this hotel lacks a few of the little touches that make it a 4. Some of the furniture in the dining areas are shabby, there is no waiter sevice to your table in the evening, the rooms do need a lick of paint and tbh it could do with a few more lifts. It was not too bad but i imagine it's a nightmare in the high season! Also the tables were not always set properly and we had to go on the hunt for cutlery. Not a problem really but when you are sitting in the outside dining area it's quite a long walk.

Shop on complex is VERY expensive so i recommend either using the ones either side out side of the hotel or hop on a dolmus into Altinkum where everything is over half the price!! Do not buy inflatables from here.

You can get into Altinkum town very easily on the dolmus right outside the hotel , they run about every 2 mins. It takes less than 5 mins and costs 1.75tl. We used it loads!

We didn't do any of the spa treatments but my partner did pay £10 to have unlimited use of the Sauna, gym, jacuzzis and thermal spa. He said it was well worth the money.

Entertainment staff were brilliant even though we didn't do any of it. We did see them do some of the activities. They did ask but we never got hassled. My nephew loved the mini disco in the evenings but 9.30 is quite late for childrens entertainment after eating at 7pm.

Overall i really enjoyed my holiday At Didim Beach resort but i would not return as i prefer smaller quieter places. I only went here as it was with my family and the little one. It's great for familes but not really for couples. We went out of season hoping the kids would be at school but there were probably more kids than adults here.



Thank you to everyone who made our stay an enjoyable one. This is my 3rd year running to Turkey and it is still one of my favourite places.The people are so friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea. Stunning views across the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altinkum
3.7 mi away
Venosa Beach Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
D-Marin Didim Marina Yacht Club
1.6 mi away
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
Tuntas Suites AltInkum
#2 of 30 in Altinkum
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Aurum Didyma Spa & Beach Resort Hotel
1.9 mi away
Buyuk Anadolu Didim Resort
1.9 mi away
Palm Wings Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Didim Beach Resort Aqua & Elegance Thalasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Didim Beach Resort Aqua & Elegance Thalasso

Address: Camlik Mah. Aytepe Cad., Altinkum, Didim 09270, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Aydin Province > Didim > Altinkum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Altinkum
Price Range: $51 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Didim Beach Resort Aqua & Elegance Thalasso 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Didim Beach Resort Aqua & Elegance Thalasso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Didim Beach Hotel Altinkum
Didim Beach Resort And Spa
Didim Beach Turkey
Didim Beach Hotel Turkey
Hotel Didim Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing