We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Claxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2009

Would agree with previous reviews, this is a wonderful cottage set in a lovely rural area yet only around 5 minutes drive to the park & ride car park, then a short 10 minutes bus ride into the centre of York & it's many attractions. There is also a bus stop at the end of the lane with a half hourly service into the city.

We too enjoyed the warm welcome along with the lovely tea & cake (a very nice gesture). Our room was very pleasant with a large 4 poster bed (see photo), the delicious breakfast perfectly matched the rest of the enjoyable stay.

We would definitely stay here again & highly recommend this accommodation to anybody who prefers to be slightly away from the hustle & bustle of the city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKholidaydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 189 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The cottage is set in a great location for anyone looking for some peace and quiet within easy travelling distance of York and the surrounding area. Upon arrival we were greeted with a pot of tea and a rather large slice of cake, which was a great way of starting our trip. The cottage is very clean and is very well decorated and furnished, particularly the rather romantic large 4-poster bed with views of the beautiful large rear garden which is ideal for relaxing in. Although it is located quite near to a busy road, there is no noise from the traffic. Breakfast is a great way to start your day and is very well cooked by Carol, a wonderful host with good knowledge of the local area and attractions.
We had a very relaxing stay and would definately recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a break in wonderful surroundings away from the hustle of city life and we would definately stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven_and_Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We were welcomed with a pot of tea and slices of homemade cake.
Our room was clean and comfortable and very pretty. Breakfast was very hearty
consisting of local produce very well cooked.
The situation of the cottage is superb and is surrounded by a lovely garden.
Well situated for York, Whitby, Scarborough, Harrogate, Helmsley and many other
towns.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it to our friends.
Jean and Tony Shepherd

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenfingers_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

and excellent well run bed & breakfast, welcome was brilliant coffee and cake on arrival Carol was an lovely person to deal with very helpful and knowledgeable. would definetley go again and would recommend any one visting york or surrounding area to stay will Carol. 10/10

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taz1959_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2009

This was our second stay here and still as lovely and relaxing as ever! Carol is a fantastic hostess and didn't complain when our party info changed at last minute - she accommodated us all perfectly. Tea and cake went down a treat on arrival and fabulous brekkie the next morning meant contented teenagers to continue our journey (always a bonus!).
Will definitely be back, just hope the place doesn't get so popular we can't get in...!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norfolknin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2009

we stayed for two nights in april, with the four of us. carol is a great host,. the place is great, somewhat hard to find for us, the only thing that could improve is the shower, but maybe thats because we are always very keen on showers.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dominees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

We recently spent a weekend at Claxton Cottage. We had a lovely stay. The welcome of a cup of tea and homemade cake was a lovely touch and well received ! Our room was clean and tidy and we were able to have a key to the cottage, meaning we could come and go as we pleased. I feel a special mention for the fab breakfasts is also needed. All in all a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NIKmogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claxton
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
7.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
7.8 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
145 reviews
7.5 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#6 of 194 in York
1,487 reviews
6.2 mi away
Tower Guest House
Tower Guest House
#5 of 194 in York
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Claxton Hall Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Claxton Hall Cottage B&B

Address: 1 Claxton Hall Cottage Malton Road | York, Claxton, York YO60 7RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York > Claxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Claxton
Price Range: $159 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Claxton Hall Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well established family run Bed & Breakfast accommodation in 19th Century cottage. Set in 1 acre peaceful gardens 10 minutes from York. You are welcomed with homebaked cake on arrival. All rooms en-suite with views over open countryside. Four poster rooms available, guests private lounge, ground floor rooms available. Ample private parking and close to Park & Ride bus service. Totally non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Claxton Hall Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Claxton Hall Cottage B&B York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing