We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great scambled eggs”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bennetts Cafe

Bennetts Cafe
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Mangawhai
Cuisines: Cafe, Contemporary, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great scambled eggs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a loverly brunch here with friends who are locals, the scrambled eggs and the omelette were great good portions and well presented, the onion jam and mahoe cheese filling in the omelette really made it stand out. The staff were really attentive and the food came really quickly, but I am glad I dressed warmly as the place was really cool even with the fire going.amazing chocolate next door that is really nice but you need a new mortgage to pay the rates they charge.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlistairAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    40
    18
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
227 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good lunch option in Mangawhai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

I ate here twice while I was working in Mangawhai. It is one of the only decent places within walking distance of the Saturday market. I found that they don't have much for vegetarians, so I ended up having the vegetarian sandwich both times. It was one of the better roasted veggie sandwiches I had in NZ, but it was extremely overpriced for a small sandwich and nothing else. I also tried the 70% dark chocolate from the factory and found it quite average. The cafe was always busy, so I'm sure the other food is great. Nice ambiance and the outdoor seating is nice on a sunny day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

We loved this shop and it's courtyard. Sorry we only had time to stop for coffee. Our last day in Mangawhai so would not be able to take chocolate with us on the plane to Sydney - they are Ferocious at customs there. Never mind another time, we will definately visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Sophie2009London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice but well over-priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

First i want to say that Bennetts is a beautiful cafe. However, apparently before Bennetts was runner -up for best cafe in 2011, it was reasonably priced. Now the costs of food/ drinks is fairly high. I LOVE the Benetts hot chocs and mochas but tbh I have now been there twice and the novelty has worn off. While a beautiful setting with the ambience of an Italian Cafe, the overpriced items are a major turn off. Also the wait staff are fairly average (young girls with little experience probably hired so the owner doesnt have to pay them much). Also, dont order any display food, there was a fly on a bun and I saw a worker remove the fly and leave the bun to be bought. Off putting!

Helpful?
Thank RoCo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florakaty
Level Contributor
134 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The menu alone is enough to make you want to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

In fact, I have made it an ambition to try everything on their menu !!! The breakfasts in particular are scrummy and beautifully presented. The portions are quite large, but they don't mind you sharing. Great coffees and freshly squeezed juices. Really good value, excellent service

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank florakaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennetts Cafe also viewed

Mangawhai, Northland Region
Mangawhai, Northland Region
 
Mangawhai, Northland Region
Mangawhai, Northland Region
 

Been to Bennetts Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing