We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of Sail Rock Cafe - CLOSED

Sail Rock Cafe
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sirnach, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We got everything of the restaurant we expected. First a good cafe. Then a tip how to make a beatuiful walk. Then a tip where to stay for the night (Heatherfields Chalets just few houses away - beautiful hosts, beautiful cabin). And at last a very good cooked meal: lamb shanks and good wine. All with Margaret's friendly talks an compagnonship

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Juerg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    11
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Given location and prices should be fantastic”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Something has gone wrong in the last few years since Lonely Planet rated this as a place to go and the salt and pepper squid as "almost spiritual". Damp floury squid - basic science will tell you the oil just wasn't hot enough. Oysters served with balsamic vinegar - just odd. A fish chowder with a skin on it and a faint back note of a cream of heinz/watties soup. Not much on the menu that seems to require skills other than heating and a glance back at the kitchen on departure revealed a row of young people lined up at microwaves and deep fat friers ready for action. Such a shame - given the location and the price this should have been much better - a hands up though to the friendly and well meaning staff who were so nice it was impossible to complain (mind we are British too and that's just the way we roll!!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Margaret is the perfect host - she opened her cafe early for my husband and I - twice she did this for us so we could have her outstandingly made coffee and even in a wripple wrap cup ( so that hot coffee doesnt burn your hands!) she's open all manner of hours/daily and does everything for her guests with pleasure (and a bit of a cheeky smile!) We had a lovely lunch there too, consisting of scallops and squid and a lovely bottle of wine. We would recommend very highly to go there! If you've made the trip to Mangawhai Heads - don't let the opportunity slip by to visit a great place to eat and drink! Thanks Margaret from Helen & Steve Holmes

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“4th visit and Very Good”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We have eaten at Sail Rock 4 times in the past 3 years and are aware of the reviews here and on NZ www sites.
Our last visit was Monday of Queens Birthday weekend and the food and service great.
One of our party cannot eat eggs, so we asked the waiter if the chef would make a toasted sandwich (which wasn't on the menu). Not only did they oblige, but the sandwich was large and filled with tasty fillings as requested.
We also had the corn fritters and this was a large helping with a great sweat chilli sauce and creame cheeze.

Overall, a great experience and we really appreciated the staff making the effort to accommodate the special request on a busy public holiday.

We will return to Sail Rock, as this is the best location in Mangawhai with North facing veranda and outside seating.

If you found this review helpful, please vote - thanks.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kato007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Has definitely improved”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

To be honest, we have avoided this restaurant for the past few years due to terrible dining experiences. We decided to give it another shot and are glad we did.
Food was wonderful so they must finally have a cook who knows what he/she is doing. Host was welcoming if a little too informal. Once she found out we were locals, the Host asked some personal questions such as where we live and what we do for work - which was a bit of a surprise and we felt a bit interrogated. This may put some people off when they are just there for dinner.
Lovely food, however the blue triangle plates should definitely go. Really detracted from the food and was too dated. Decor was very basic, needs a makeover. Prices a tad expensive for what you got and menu was very limited.

However in saying all that, the food was really good and we didn't wait long. We will definitely consider Sail Rock again next time we go out to dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pachewychomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sail Rock Cafe also viewed

Mangawhai, Northland Region
Mangawhai, Northland Region
 
Mangawhai, Northland Region
Mangawhai, Northland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing