We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem not to be missed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Torre do Rio Rural Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Caldas de Reis
Certificate of Excellence
Lima
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A gem not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Torre do Rio is a beautiful and small hotel with a very attentive staff and wonderfully decorated rooms. Located on the bend of a stream with rapids, you can hear the water rushing over the rocks from your room. The converted textile mill constructed of rock is inviting, relaxing and a place I will return to soon!

Room Tip: The two rooms closest to the stream allow you to listen to water at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexT7801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    11
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
24
151
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is a spectacular property. The grounds are magnificent. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars, is because the owner did not help anyone get their bags the their rooms, and there is no elevator. He watched as I carried my mother's bags, and my own to the third floor, without offering assistance. That said, the bedrooms are beautifully appointed, with the best sheets and pillows. Every room has a magnificent view. This could definitely be a 5 star hotel with a bit more attention from the owner, or if they hired a bit more staff. Free Wifi is a definite plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brink9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel was my absolute favourite place in the entirety of my two months spent trekking Spain out of at least 40 hotels I booked. It is situated in a lovely wine region boasting the delicious Albariño wines near the town of Caldas del Reis. It is a short hike through the vineyards to the town which is itself very quaint with a proximity to other great coastal towns of interest.
This spectacular B&B is hidden away and completely secluded in acres of natural lands with a river. It was built upon and overlooks the ruins of an old textile mill. It has manicured gardens with blossoming fruit trees and lots of little hideaway spots to sit and chat or enjoy some wine. Designed with flair, style and exquisite taste it exceeds all others for miles around.

The staff are amazing people who are devoted to making your experience very special. Meals are delicious and catered to your whims. Fine linens, towels, candlelit stairs, flowers, private dining room all set the tone and ambiance for a special stay.

I extended my booking to stay longer in this great hotel and met some lovely travelers who made my stay really memorable. I would return in a heartbeat! Miss this place and you've lost something really special.

If this review was helpful please leave a helpful review vote to benefit other travellers. Thanks.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and uniquely furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thesuperfoodchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is possibly one of the most beautiful hotels in the whole of Spain. From the moment we entered through the electronic gates we were mesmerised. The sound of rushing water surrounds the hotel and the gardens are sublime. The conversion of the mill has been done with style and the level of comfort is incredible. Best breakfast we had on our 10 day tour of the region with homemade quince and cakes the highlight. Although it does not have a proper restaurant as such the staff prepared a great dinner for us which included flaming chorizo bought to the table. Torre do Rio is a work in progress and with other buildings set for renovation I can only predict great things in the future for the hard working owner and his staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherry050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Start with a picturesque river that bounds down rapids 270 degrees around the property. Add a rustic stone building overlooking a 150-year-old ruin of a textile mill, gorgeous fruit trees, manicured gardens and lawns. Sprinkle in fancy linens, fine furniture, perfumed towels, olive oil soap, doilies, potpourri, huge vases full of (mostly silk) flowers and sentimental music piped throughout the lobby. Breakfasts are sumptuous, and the local albarino wine is sublime.

A hotel like this would cost at least $250/night anywhere else, even with its modest dinner selections and out-of-the-way location. It thoroughly exceeded my expectations. However, there are still things that I would change - I'd toss out the overbearing potpourri, get a CD changer so I didn't hear Pachelbel's Canon seven times during my visit and dial back on the floral displays. It still deserves a five-star rating.

Room Tip: I didn't try out multiple rooms, but it's hard to imagine that there's a bad room in thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattandmargot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Absolute perfect location, really beautiful decorated interior, very friendly staff are just a few words of our experience in Torre do Rio. This B&B is located in a completely renovated watermill near a small river with a beautiful lush garden with flowers and lots of fruit trees. Breakfast is served in a very nice room and is very good with fresh fruits, juice, fresh coffee or tea, home baked sweet pastries, cheese, jamon serrano, fresh bread etc. etc. Rooms are decorated with style... A real A++ experience which I can recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joost32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

A stunning converted 19th Century mill building with beatifully landscaped grounds bordered by the river. This is a wonderful place to relax and explore the Galician countryside. Staff are friendly and attentive, the hotel is impeccably furnished throughout and the views from whichever room you stay in will be stunning. Highly recommended, a real treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrTomWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caldas de Reis
18.1 mi away
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Quinta da Auga
Hotel Spa Relais & Chateaux A Qu...
#2 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hotel Mardevela
Hotel Mardevela
#1 of 75 in Sanxenxo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Balneario Acuna
Balneario Acuna
#2 of 3 in Caldas de Reis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Altair Hotel
Altair Hotel
#3 of 74 in Santiago de Compostela
5.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
17.0 mi away
Augusta Spa Resort
Augusta Spa Resort
#5 of 75 in Sanxenxo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel Carlos I Silgar
Hotel Carlos I Silgar
#2 of 75 in Sanxenxo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torre do Rio Rural Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre do Rio Rural Hotel

Property: Torre do Rio Rural Hotel
Address: Lugar Baxe 1 | San Andres de Cesar, 36653 Caldas de Reis, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Caldas de Reis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Caldas de Reis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Torre do Rio Rural Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY... 10,000 m2 designed to help you unwind and relax. Just over 1 km from Caldas, one of the most traditional spa towns, our staff has everything ready to spoil you. Let yourself be carried away by the intimate atmosphere enveloping you, and give yourself the time you deserve and which your everyday life makes impossible. DREAM... Torre do Río is a restored textile complex dating from the 18th century, bathed by a meander of the Umia River, surrounded by nature in the purest Galician style. Everything seems conceived for experiencing the tranquillity and harmony of an almost magical setting. AND EXPLORE... The privileged Salnés area in which this three-hundred-year-old tower rises up stands out due to its thermal and gastronomic activities. Both Caldes (less than 1 km away) and Cuntis (less than 10 km away) feature natural-water Spas. Another must-see are the area's Roman bridges and the spectacular waterfall on the Umia River, a short distance from our facilities. Torre do Río is also close to other cities and towns of the Ria of Arousa, such as Vilagarcía, Santiago de Compostela, Vigo, Pontevedra, Isla de Arosa, Cambados, Sanxenxo and O Grove. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Torre do Rio Rural Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing