We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful pool only”
Review of Balneario Acuna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balneario Acuna
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Caldas de Reis
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful pool only”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were en route to Santiago (pilgrims) and did not want to stay in Alburgues the entire way. We checked 2 other places before here (not happy with price and service of other places). Price was 70E for 3 people, with simple breakfast to go.
Room was basic, towel warmer did not work (a perk) and bathroom had a funny smell.
Wifi NOT free, nor is coffee.
For the price, the pool made this place but I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Collkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    71
    37
    8
    14
See reviews for
20
64
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed one night in this nice hotel on our way to Santiago de Compostela in May 2013. We stayed not in the main building but in the yard where the brand new rooms are. Everything was clean and comfortable. Central heating system was working and that was very important since the weather was pretty cold then. Shower cabin has enough space to was and feel well. There is swimming pool in the yard, unfortunately we couldn’t use it because of cold weather. You can park you car right under the windows of your room. Breakfast was delicious and food plentiful. All personnel at the desk spoke English fluently and were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oleg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

despite all our efforts to communicate with the front desk staff and rude restaurant staff, they made no effort to make us comfortable after a long day of walking in the rain. not only did we feel out of place but also unwelcome. the food was horrible and the bed was hard. the best part about this hotel was the spa. it was a joy and so was the staff in that area. I would not ever recommend a stay here to anyone who does not speak Spanish.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikki0526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Caldas de Reis hotels

Sunndalsora, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My friends and I spent one night in this magnifisent hotel in Caldes de Reis on our pilgrim way. We were tired so it was nice to have spesial programm to pilgrims - cold mineral water pool and after that - hydromassage with hot water in a pool and water change colour all the time. Minus - we spent a night in a modern part of the hotel, so we miss an old charm (but we have a breakfast there), also they have not rooms for 3 people, so we must pay for two 2-rooms, pity. By the way - we spent next night in another spa hotel just around a corner, cheaper, but without open pool. Staff friendly, clean rooms in modern style.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betulanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff, particularly in the restaurant and on reception are the key points of this hotel.

We were allocated a twin room in a modern block near the pool so were disappointed not to be in the atmospheric old hotel block. Probably because Portugal Walks did not pay enough from our £180 per night hb.

Nice dining room overlooking the river but dinner was like canteen food. Lovely helpful waiting staff though.

Breakfast very good though with plenty of choice.

Excellent pool

Room Tip: Go for a traditional room in the old building unless you like bland and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeful-Guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is in a gorgeous location overlooking a medieval bridge and a gorgeous river. The building itself is lovely with a big foyer reception area. Out back is a really nice swimming pool and lounge area. Those are the good things.

Bad things. No free wifi? Seriously? I was told I could use free wifi "in the bar". Instead it cost me 8 Euros for 24 hours of service. This is the ONLY place throughout a two week trip I was charged for wifi. Pretty ridiculous.

They have a gorgeous swimming area, but no towels. I was advised to use the bathrobe that was in my room. A spa with no towels? Uhh... ok.

Last bad thing was breakfast. Weird fruit salad and orange juice that tasted like Kool Aid.

But... like I said... the location is great so if that is important, this would be a great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muddy902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We arrived at the end of a very hot, long day's walking on the Camino Portugues en route to Santiago de Compostela and were very pleased to see what a lovely room & ensuite we had. All was sparkling & modern within an lovely old building. We had beautiful views over the river and town from our balcony. The staff were very friendly and our breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandgroper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caldas de Reis
1.2 mi away
Torre do Rio Rural Hotel
Torre do Rio Rural Hotel
#1 of 3 in Caldas de Reis
243 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Balneario de Compostela
13.3 mi away
Talaso Hotel Louxo La Toja
Talaso Hotel Louxo La Toja
#1 of 2 in Isla de la Toja
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel Eurostars Isla de La Toja
Hotel Eurostars Isla de La Toja
#2 of 2 in Isla de la Toja
590 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Norat O Grove
Hotel Spa Norat O Grove
#6 of 25 in O Grove
365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel O Cruceiro
Hotel O Cruceiro
#2 of 9 in Caldas de Reis
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balneario Acuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balneario Acuna

Property: Balneario Acuna
Address: Rua Herreria 2, 36650 Caldas de Reis, Spain
Location: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Caldas de Reis
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Caldas de Reis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Balneario Acuna 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Balneario Acuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing