We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Etched in my memory” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedar Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Baviaanskloof Nature Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Guesthouse
Knysna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Etched in my memory”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

If my mind could last as long as those fascinating cave-paintings, I'd remember my visit to Cedar Guest House for eons! The surrounding mountains whisper old, mystical stories, the labyrinth oozes spirituality. And to be seated around a fire under a night sky that's suddenly got much bigger. Signs of artistry made manifest everywhere - in the renovated farmhouse (I loved the comfortable bed and great linen), the adjacent garden, the cleverly constructed cottages. I'll be back...!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank David_C_Knysna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Baviaans is always special and Cedar is a perfect fit. Fantastic place to visit. Beautiful, peaceful and a real connectedness pervades. The accommodation is also first class. I have stayed at other establishments in the area, but this is the best I have experienced. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I have visisted Cedar Guest house twice now and a lot of work has been done since 2006. It is a special place and just what I am always looking for in guest house. Quiet, remote, serene and just right to recharge me. The accomadation of the olf farm house I found magical, I love old farmhouses. Excited to go again...

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Comfortable spacious unique. Peaceful warm and inspiring. Full of surprises. I could appreciate the love and care that went into developing this beautiful weekend get away. I will be going again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevebuchalrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are looking for a secluded place in a beautiful setting to get away from it all, Cedar Guest House is an excellent choice. We found the house well equipped with comfortable beds and very neat and clean. Having the option of ordering home made bread (baked in a wood oven!) and having meals at Marta's little restaurant, 50m away from the house, was great - especially after being very tired after a long hike.

We are looking forward to many return visits!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baviaanskloof Nature Reserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Sederkloof Lodge
Sederkloof Lodge
#1 of 4 in Baviaanskloof Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
Baviaans Lodge
Baviaans Lodge
#2 of 17 in Baviaanskloof Nature Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Guesthouse

Property: Cedar Guesthouse
Address: Matjiesfontein Farm, Baviaanskloof Nature Reserve 6571, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Baviaanskloof Nature Reserve
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Baviaanskloof Nature Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three fantastic accommodation options in the Baviaanskloof, the Cedar Guesthouse, Just for Two cottage and Cob Cottage. For family groups or romantic getaways, this accommodation is entirely surrounded by the Baviaanskloof World Heritage Site Reserve. Magnificent hikes, waterfalls and mountain pools. Spectacular views and mountain landscapes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing