We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B in Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nonsuch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingswear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nonsuch House
Ranked #2 of 6 Kingswear B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great B&B in Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The magical location of this b&b gives superb views from all the rooms, across the Dart estuary to Dartmouth and out to sea. The room was clean & fresh with a very comfortable bed. The owners, Penny & Kit, did everything to make our stay enjoyable & this is somewhere we definitely intend to visit again. If there is a downside, to get to the view, you have a steep climb up the hill from Kingswear quay - but nobody was complaining once inside.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments on Nonsuch - do hope your foot is recovering and let's hope that by the time you return we have persuaded Devon County Council to have opened the South West Coast footpath again which is a much gentler meander up the hill to the house! Of course being on top of the hill is what gives us the stunning views!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    2
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
153
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
torquay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

All the previous highly rated reviews are correct.Penny and Kit are superb hosts.The food is top notch and the accomodation is 5 star.Although we live nearby in Torquay we were able to rediscover the beauty of the River Dart and Dartmouth itself.The holiday was a birthday gift from our children, and turned out to be a great treat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baron8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you before too long - if you are passing by do drop in for a cup of something - it would be lovely to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had booked Nonsuch after reviews on Trip Advisor and weren't disappointed. The room (Lundy) was fantastic - immaculate cleanliness wise, bright and airy..the views were amazing. Kit and Penny are so welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfasts are fantastic - Kit is a great chef. We will be returning and have already recommended Nonsuch House to friends who are going to get in touch. We were sad to leave as our weekend was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Lovely to meet you both and so pleased that you finally managed to get down to see us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again. Don't leave it too long!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanivet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our stay at Nonsuch was a honeymoon gift from my wife's parents and uncle & auntie. This was back at the start of April so sorry Penny and Kit for being so late with our review!

We stayed for 3 nights and had the most FANTASTIC time!! Our suite was beautiful, so nicely decorated with a great bathroom and a view to die for. Everything was perfectly clean and had a really fresh and homely feel. We both slept so well after a hectic time planning our wedding beforehand.

When we arrived we were treated like family, served tea and cake and Kit lit the fire for us in the lounge (it was a cold few days). We spend the days exploring Kingswear and Dartmouth, eating in local cafe's and shopping. We did the 'round robin' steam train/boat trip on one of the days, which Penny helped us to organise. One evening Penny suggested the local pub down the road for evening meal and even rang to book the best table next to the fire for us! What service!
The breakfasts were amazing, with different fresh fruits, cereals and yogurts each morning. We could have as much tea and coffee as we liked and the cooked breakfasts were delicious!

They made us feel so welcome and helped to make it the best honeymoon we could have hoped for! We will definitely be going back to celebrate our wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kernow_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
And we so enjoyed having you here and soooooo glad you loved it. We do look forward to welcoming you back here again next March to celebrate your first anniversary and every anniversary after that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My visit to Nonsuch house was booked as a surprise by my husband for our wedding anniversary and what a treat. A beautiful B&B that rivals any 5 star hotel. Stunning views, wonderful owners and such attenton to detail. I would recommend it to anyone withou hesitation. Thank you .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ouziebelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We loved having you here and so glad you enjoyed it - hope to see you here again before too long - your promised you would come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Spent six nights at Nonsuch in mid May and we couldn't fault a thing. Kit and Penny run a fantastic place where everything is spot on, food, rooms, views, nothing is too much trouble. Being on the sunny side of the river Dart with lovely views is the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but all have fab views and are beautifully appointed, check the website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XKcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
So lovely to see you both again and to welcome you back to Nonsuch. We both so enjoy having you down here and your lovely company. See you in October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We were being welcomed with tea And cake the evening we arrived. The room looked newly refurbished and the one we got had a view to the river And Dortmouth on the other side of it. We had two big chairs by the window so we could relax with the beautiful view. It was luxurious And cleen And the beds were really good. Fantastic breakfast too. To get to Dortmouth (where most of the restaurants are) from kingswear (where this place is) you have to walk down the hill for three minutes and take a boat. It leaves every 15 minutes and only cost 1,50£ so its no stress but its worth knowing. We ate in Dortmouth but had a nightcap in Kingswear in a pub called the ship in just down the hill behind the church. Nice local pub.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tittentheis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Lovely to welcome you here and so glad you enjoyed it. Do hope you will come and visit us next time you are planning to visit Devon. We did enjoy meeting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingswear
0.4 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 52 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kaywana Hall
Kaywana Hall
#1 of 6 in Kingswear
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch House

Property: Nonsuch House
Address: Nonsuch House Church Hill, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Kingswear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingswear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch House is situated in a sunny and warm spot perched on the side of a hill with magnificent views over the River to Dartmouth and out to sea. Award winning accommodation, Nonsuch offers a warm welcome on arrival and a fond farewell at the end of your stay. Beautifully situated for the amazing restaurants and shopping in Dartmouth, for long walks straight from the front door or for sitting comfortably in the conservatory or on the terrace watching the world go by on the river, Nonsuch has to be the place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nonsuch House Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch House Kingswear, Dartmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing