We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon adventure!”
Review of Nonsuch House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingswear
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nonsuch House
Ranked #2 of 6 Kingswear B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Our stay at Nonsuch was a honeymoon gift from my wife's parents and uncle & auntie. This was back at the start of April so sorry Penny and Kit for being so late with our review!

We stayed for 3 nights and had the most FANTASTIC time!! Our suite was beautiful, so nicely decorated with a great bathroom and a view to die for. Everything was perfectly clean and had a really fresh and homely feel. We both slept so well after a hectic time planning our wedding beforehand.

When we arrived we were treated like family, served tea and cake and Kit lit the fire for us in the lounge (it was a cold few days). We spend the days exploring Kingswear and Dartmouth, eating in local cafe's and shopping. We did the 'round robin' steam train/boat trip on one of the days, which Penny helped us to organise. One evening Penny suggested the local pub down the road for evening meal and even rang to book the best table next to the fire for us! What service!
The breakfasts were amazing, with different fresh fruits, cereals and yogurts each morning. We could have as much tea and coffee as we liked and the cooked breakfasts were delicious!

They made us feel so welcome and helped to make it the best honeymoon we could have hoped for! We will definitely be going back to celebrate our wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kernow_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2013

And we so enjoyed having you here and soooooo glad you loved it. We do look forward to welcoming you back here again next March to celebrate your first anniversary and every anniversary after that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 211 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

My visit to Nonsuch house was booked as a surprise by my husband for our wedding anniversary and what a treat. A beautiful B&B that rivals any 5 star hotel. Stunning views, wonderful owners and such attenton to detail. I would recommend it to anyone withou hesitation. Thank you .

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ouziebelcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We loved having you here and so glad you enjoyed it - hope to see you here again before too long - your promised you would come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Spent six nights at Nonsuch in mid May and we couldn't fault a thing. Kit and Penny run a fantastic place where everything is spot on, food, rooms, views, nothing is too much trouble. Being on the sunny side of the river Dart with lovely views is the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different but all have fab views and are beautifully appointed, check the website...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XKcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

So lovely to see you both again and to welcome you back to Nonsuch. We both so enjoy having you down here and your lovely company. See you in October!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We were being welcomed with tea And cake the evening we arrived. The room looked newly refurbished and the one we got had a view to the river And Dortmouth on the other side of it. We had two big chairs by the window so we could relax with the beautiful view. It was luxurious And cleen And the beds were really good. Fantastic breakfast too. To get to Dortmouth (where most of the restaurants are) from kingswear (where this place is) you have to walk down the hill for three minutes and take a boat. It leaves every 15 minutes and only cost 1,50£ so its no stress but its worth knowing. We ate in Dortmouth but had a nightcap in Kingswear in a pub called the ship in just down the hill behind the church. Nice local pub.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tittentheis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Lovely to welcome you here and so glad you enjoyed it. Do hope you will come and visit us next time you are planning to visit Devon. We did enjoy meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Brought friends with us for our 2nd stay with Kit and Penny. All four of us did Kit's "Taste of Devon" cooking experience. We settled (in advance by phone) on lamb and he had called ahead for some lovely racks. Everything else we selected from various stalls, shops and his organic produce delivery. After shopping in Dartmouth, Kit treated us to lunch (part of the price of the "Taste") Again, made all our own courses, including stock, soup, appetizers, mains, vegetables, bread, garlic mayonnaise, chocolate truffles, rhubarb/orange compote. Kit is infinitely patient (one can see the previous primary school teacher training) and open to all suggestions in the kitchen. We cooked for an additional 6 guests and got hearty praise.
This trip we stayed in the attic room (a completely renovated space)-- it felt like we were ensconced in an aerie, with great views, our own little kitchenette, and lots of space-- but watch your head in the corners. There is so much to do both on the way to/from Devon and in the area (especially if you have a National Trust card, which we highly recommend) that we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: We've seen 3 and all were lovely. The attic is unique and fun, but be aware of low ceilings in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeattleSojourner_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2013

Great to welcome the two of you back to Nonsuch and to meet your two delightful friends. We had such fun with you all. So glad the four of you enjoyed the Taste of Devon day again - we both felt that you were the best of chefs each one of you and the other guests thought you were marvellous and have written to praise the meal! Maybe you could come and take over if we go on holiday! Hope to see you before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I was recently taken to Nonsuch to celebrate my birthday, this is not our first visit,but as always i could not wait to get there, catch up with Penny, Kit and the dogs and then pull an armchair up too the window and gaze out at my favorite view on this planet (add a large gin and tonic and we could be talking this galaxy). When you feel able to drag yourself away, there are many walks starting from the front door ,all with views of Dartmouth and the sea, or take a short boat ride to Dartmouth itself. There are loads of restaurants, our favorite being "Rock Fish", simple and great chips , or The Seahorse if you want to impress the Lady.!. There are also many Arty shops worth a visit, Dart Gallery being one, but for me Studio Dix Neuf on Foss Street ( her indoors does`t get it, but i think it`s great).
Now for "the condemned man". On the final morning, when leaving and facing up to months of 9-5 drudgery before i can return, i always order the Noble signiture dish, the full cooked breakfast. This is not a dish for wimps or those that think a Ryvita and a couple of lettuce leaves constitutes a banquet,this is an historic plate of food. Eggs,back and streaky bacon,black pudding(v.good) chipolatas,mushroom, baked beans,fried potatoe and bread,and tomato for those thinking of their waist lines.Forget your Michelin stars, this is the food that made Britain great!
My Doctor assures me that my cholesteral levels while accute will recover and i am planning my next visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the magnificent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2013

A pleasure as always to welcome the two of you back and hope that you will both return before the next birthday! Glad the breakfast did the business and hope that there will be many more before you approach any sort of last meal - condemned or not!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I travel extensively for work and were looking forward to an oasis of calm. We stayed at Nonsuch House last week and our experience couldn't have been better.

Penny and Kit are wonderful hosts and the views from our room across the Dart River and Dartmouth Castle were breathtaking. We were lucky with the weather and had tea on the balcony a few hundred feet about the sparkling river, which was a rare experience indeed.

The room was clean, bright, spacious and thoughtfully decorated and supplied with bottled water, flowers, toiletries, etc. Kit's cooking is sublime and every day we were offered afternoon tea with delicious freshly baked goodies.

I've paid twice as much for accommodation and food that was half this good - we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MauiAgainPleaseUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NonsuchHouse, Owner at Nonsuch House, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Just lovely to welcome the two of you here and so glad you felt so positively about Nonsuch and the environs. We love it here and so pleased you feel the same. We so enjoyed meeting you and do look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingswear
0.4 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
313 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
4.2 mi away
Best Western The Dartmouth Hotel Golf & Spa
0.7 mi away
Kaywana Hall
Kaywana Hall
#1 of 6 in Kingswear
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nonsuch House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nonsuch House

Address: Church Hill, Kingswear, Dartmouth TQ6 0BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Kingswear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kingswear
Price Range: $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nonsuch House is situated in a sunny and warm spot perched on the side of a hill with magnificent views over the River to Dartmouth and out to sea. Award winning accommodation, Nonsuch offers a warm welcome on arrival and a fond farewell at the end of your stay. Beautifully situated for the amazing restaurants and shopping in Dartmouth, for long walks straight from the front door or for sitting comfortably in the conservatory or on the terrace watching the world go by on the river, Nonsuch has to be the place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nonsuch House Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch Hotel Dartmouth
Nonsuch House Kingswear, Dartmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing