We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A special sunrise

We visited Nemrut Dagi at sunrise, from Malatya with a tour guide very helpful and recommendable... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
PitersTorino
,
Torino
Amazing sunrise :)

It’s one of best place,you could see the sunset and sunrise. My favourite was sunrise. It’s also... read more

Reviewed August 30, 2018
joe293974
,
Istanbul, Turkey
via mobile
Read all 125 reviews
  
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
40
4
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
4
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nemrut dagi turkey sunrise and sunset lonely planet car park tour guide east terrace unique place kervansaray hotel site statues kahta climb tourists rest cappadocia roads
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 46 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Nemrut Dagi at sunrise, from Malatya with a tour guide very helpful and recommendable. His name is Ramo, his mobile number +905368730534. He organizes the tour from Malatya to Nemrut Dagi at sunrise and sunset, I guess every day or so. He speaks very well English so you can get in touch with him and you won't get disappointed at all!
To us, he was helpful in many ways and we still thank him.
We left around 2AM and drove south, then we had some rest and a bit of breakfast, and finally we hit the sacred mountain.
Well, Nemrut Dagi at sunrise gets its most beautiful light, and one hour after the dawn people will disappear and you will get the site for you only.
Do it!

Thank PitersTorino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

It’s one of best place,you could see the sunset and sunrise. My favourite was sunrise.
It’s also quite easy to get there by driving roads are pretty good.

Thank joe293974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

Me and a friend travelled for 8 days Kars–Doğubeyazit-Van-Diyarbikir, we wanted to visit three sites: the ancient capital of the Armenians (Ani), a palace on a hill overlooking the valley (Ishak Paşa Palace in Doğubeyazit) and Nemrut Daği statues, 2 hours from Diyarbikir. As we were looking for a lot of info before we left, I thought I would share some things which would have helped us along the way:

Some things we observed: As a female traveller, I was relieved to be travelling with a guy, we found numerous times that men along the way would tell me one thing and my male friend something else, doğubeyazit in particular had a heavy male presence on the streets. Also, we were often the only foreigners in a city, which can be quite daunting when a lot of people stare. This is also of course what attracted us to the region (not the staring), as well as the cooler temperatures in August for Turkey. Speaking a bit of Turkish was slightly useful but in the Kurdish areas this is limited and you will be very lucky to find someone who speaks English, even in some bigger hotels. Lastly, it can’t be overstated that people we came across were extremely warm and generous, these moments made our trip very special.

Day 1: Arrived Kars, a shiny new airport in the middle of the steppe. 20 minute taxi to the Hotel Katarina SArayi (I have written a separate review), lovely location just outside the centre on a river with trees and a garden at the front. Followed the Lonely Planet’s restaurant recommendations and liked both. Tip: Read Snow by Orhan Pamuk, set here.

Day 2: Went on a private tour or Ani, Çildir Lake and Seytan Castle with tour guide Celil (+90 532 226 3966) who also took us to a great fish restaurant on the lake. Very knowledgeable and can easily talk for 10 hours about the area  Wasn’t the cheapest tour (this is also a set price so the more people there are, you just split the cost), but spending a whole day exploring these sites was definitely worth it and with just the two of us we could spend as much time as we wanted at Ani. Just incredible site, don’t miss it.

Day 3: Got a bus to Iğdir (a couple of police check points), as it was a holiday there was only one bus that day but usually more frequent. Then a dolmuş (smaller minivan) to Doğubeyazit, around 45 minutes (1 police check point) and drops you at the central bus station very small. Walked 8 mins to the Tehran Boutique Hotel, nicely surprised by the place with 7th floor terrace overlooking Mount Ararat and Işak Paşa Palace, if you want it they have beers, or you can buy alcohol in the bigger MMigros you will find on the main car street. Guy at reception told us all the restaurants and supermarkets were closed for the holiday (wrong) and also Işak Paşa palace (also wrong), also told me that the drinks at the bar were just for photos (totally wrong and frustrating that he lied to me so blatently). Basically, didn’t know much, better just to go and explore for yourself. Late lunch at Diyarbakir café on pedestrianised street, got what we were served, excellent fresh ayran and salads.

Day 4: There are no postcards in Doğubeyazit! Searched but nothing, got the dolmuş up to the palace for 5tl for 2 (about 15 mins from the Beledıyesi – town hall), we climbed above the car park (here you will find souvenir places with a few postcards left from the 90s, or earlier) to get a better view, about 20 families (big ones) grilling their meat from the day before’s sacrifice of the sheep holiday. One family invited us for a photo, then tea, then full on meal which left us stuffed and incredibly touched. One of the ladies gave me her headscarf when I commented on how I loved the colours. Climbed up to a wall of rock to get another view, you can only fit through this gap if you haven’t eaten too much baklava already on your trip. Then to the palace, very reasonable entrance fee, didn’t understand the written guide so much but a beautiful site, both inside and out.

Day 5: There are a couple of bus companies in each Turkish city, best to just go straight there and ask times for the place you want to go to. Generally women and men are seated separately so even though we got seats next to each other, we then had to split up for two women and sit next to our respective genders. 2.5 hour bus ride to Van where we saw the castle complete with 3 wedding couples posing for wedding photos, then a friend took us to an excellent restaurant above a petrol station (don’t judge Turkish restaurants by their look go for the fullest ones, Turkish food is excellent and Turkish people know all the best places to go). Didn’t get to see much of Van, but even my friend who is from there said you can spend a day or less there. Arrived too late for Akdamer Island. The BestVan night bus to Diyarbakir went through many many police checks. Not the best night’s sleep but entertaining to understand some of Turkish culture and society, one that spans a huge country and many many cultures, traditions, histories and peoples. Tea provided onboard.

Day 6: Woke up at 5am arrival in Diyarbakır, 31degrees celsius already in August. Cab to our hotel (Hilton Garden Inn with pool, excellent breakfast and pool and comfy beds), they let us check in early and it was very reasonable (around 30 euros), totally worth it. Spent the day enjoying the pool as it was so hot, ventured into the old city around 6pm to see the Grand Mosque and old markets which close around sunset and got to see a wedding that night.

Day 7: Got a transfer for 300tl from Nemrut Dagi Kervansaray Hotel from Diyarbikir as we couldn’t find any direct buses and had limited time. Went up to see the sunset at Nemrut Daği (leave at least 1.5 hours at least before sunset, the walk is around 30 from the Dolmus stop and it can take 30 mins to reach that point from Kahta). Chose this hotel as they had a pool…which turned out to be empty. Staff didn’t greet us as we arrived which felt strange compared to others’ warm welcomes. You will find it a challenge to avoid the crowds but totally worth it. A delicious dinner back at the hotel was included in the price of the room.

Day 8:Tonnes of tourists taking selfies at sunset so we went again at sunrise, while everyone huddled on the east terrace to watch the sunrise, we went to the west terrace and got a peaceful moment with these beautiful monuments to a past civilisation, the only ones there. Osman from the hotel drove us back to Diyarbikir for 300tl and for an additional fee, the valley tour where you see some pretty incredible sites. You will notice that Turkish people are constantly on the phone, Osman must have taken about 20 phone calls on his two phones (sometimes simultaneously, elbow steering) on the way. In Diyarbakir ventured out to the old town, intense side streets, felt like a souk and very different to other parts of Turkey, check out the Kultur Evi, live music 15:30-19:30 every day and Erdebil Köşkü Aile Café, nice views over the old bridge and city walls, accessible an old and very slow funicular.

Thank Palaceinwonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

I had planned to visit this site for 3 years. We stayed at Nemrut Kervansaray, about 8 km from the peak, and timed out visit in order to see the site in daylight, but more importantly to watch the sunset from the terraces near the top. You drive up to a car park and are taken up by a shuttle bus to the base of the hill. The walk up takes 15 minutes (at a slow pace), and is mainly climbed on wide stone steps, though the last portion is on gravel and rocks.
The site itself is spectacular, as are the views, but the sunset was absolutely breathtaking. We took a bottle of wine up and sat on one of a number of solid benches, strategically placed along the path, facing the sundown.
We could all feel the history and the magic of the place. Definitely a highlight to remember.

Thank toreiraq06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2018

Stayed at the Karadut Pansion and they took us by car up to the near top. They have blankets you can rent as well as coffee and tea you can purchase. I rented a blanket. Was not properly dressed. Just be prepared for freezing cold temperatures. I was there at the end of September. But once you get past the weather (If it is cold) it is beautiful. There were only about 10 of us up there, so it felt like our own special sunrise. Magical. Worth the 4 buses from Cappadocia to get to! FYI- It is easier to fly into Sanliurfa, but we had some good experiences on the buses!

Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018

not much to say about this gorgeus monument. It is unique place in all over the World. there are also more places to see around the mountain if you have time.

Thank batu m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017

The sights are scattered across a wider terrain, so prepare yourself for some hiking and bring comfortable clothes.

Thank Krish1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2016

It was a whole climb with the people i was with... But it was soo beautifull! worth every step! fascinating how they brought it all up the mountain! The shop was also great. not for the stuff you could buy, but for the amasing friendly people

1  Thank Wouter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2016

The King of Commagene with the awesome name of Antiochus I Theos Dikaios Epiphanes Philorhomaios Philhellen ruled the area from 70 BCE-38BCE. On his death, he had constructed a huge artifical tumulus and tomb on top of one of the highest peaks in the kingdom, visible for miles around. Seated around his tomb are the massive statues of the gods, a mixture of local, Persian, and Greek gods deities with the king seated among them. Today you can visited the site, stand among the tumbled heads towering 6-9 feet in height, and find yourself among the ancients.
A visit not to be missed. A World Heritage Site!

2  Thank GreekProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2016 via mobile

The site is very imposing and the view amazing. One of my favourite sites in all of Turkey. Depending on the route you take and the weather (we had thunderstorms) the road can be a bit tricky. On the way back to Adıyaman make sure to stop in at kahta kalesi and kara kuş.

2  Thank CasRijvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews