We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 nights in Pasific”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Reviewed August 24, 2010

A good place to stay and snorkel, but you must be found og children. The hotel is very friendly for families with kids. The snorkeling area is one of the best on Rarotonga. The food is good but you have to rent a car or scooter to see the island. A rental place for scooter is only minutes before the hotel, but you have to get there early to get one. The staf is friendly and the sunset is marvelos.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagnarMolde_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

Our room was very small, tired and in definite need of a major upgrade. Shower water ran all over the floor with only a flimsy shower curtain. No clothes line in the bathroom, had been broken. Bed very comfortable although not impressed with plastic sheet underneath. Food at resort very average - much better at restaurants - Tamarind House, Ki Kau Hut, Flame Tree, Trader Jacks, Salsa and Game fishing Club to name a few.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hutch93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

For the school holidays we wanted a place where the kids would have lots to do and where we would also get a bit of couple time. we picked the right spot!! We stayed for 8 nights in 2 interconnecting beachfront rooms which were perfect for our family of 4 children aged 7-10 years. The staff managed to fit 4 single beds for the kids in one room and we had the other room. Right on the stunning lagoon and dazzling white sand, we could roll out of bed for a swim before going to breakfast - felt relaxed from day 1. We arrived at 1am which I was a bit worried about with the kids but the quick transfers and checkin with the resort made it very easy.
Our first morning the kids spent watching and feeding the fish off the restaurant deck in amazement - this became a regular highlight of the mornings. After breakfast the kids got towels and paddles from the fabulous guy at the activities centre and we spent the rest of the day snorkelling and kayaking on the lagoon outside our rooms. Recommend taking your own snorkelling gear. Ask for some bread from the kitchen and you can feed the fish out of your hands.
The whole place was really relaxed and the kids club was great - walking back to our rooms after dinner we called in and they were watching Shrek, the kids promptly lay down on the cushions and got their fix of TV for the week. Another afternoon there was island dancing and sarong tying which they really wanted to go to - perfect chance for Dave and I to indulge over at the spa with massages and facials. We went to the Spa in the Villa over the road, fantastic setting and the Fijian ladies did a magic job on us.
There are a couple cool things to do outside the resort but within walking distance. The horseriding about 10 minutes walk inland was interesting - we paid $25 for a special 30 minute child friendly walk along the back roads and down onto the beach, then into the lagoon infront on The Rarotonga and back up the road. Coco Putt is a 10 minute walk along the beach and has a lovely cafe and bar - best coffee if you're having withdrawals - they brew their own and I talked the tribe into going back the next day too (If I'd discovered Coco Putt on the first day we would have played mini golf every morning)
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa had everything we needed and more and we would go back for a family holiday. We could easily have stayed another week!!
Special big thank you to Amelia our waitress for her patience and great service at dinnertimes!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Us3girlsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Basically, the reason you go to The Rarotongan is to just relax. The lagoon is just lovely; people staying at other hotels on the island come to this lagoon to play.

We stayed in one of the more expensive rooms with a kitchen. And we brought groceries in our luggage because friends had told us that food was expensive. I would not have liked to eat at the restaurant every day, so that was cool. Breakfast is included, the buffet is nice, with lots of fruit.

While I would recommend this hotel, next time I think I'd prefer to rent a little beachhouse and then come visit this lagoon, as that would be much cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thejollytravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We too were a bit weary after reading some bad reviews but we never needed to worry!!! We stayed at the Rarotongan for 8 nights with my two teenege children and totally enjoyed the entire time. The kids absolutely loved the staff in the teen club and spent most of their time wither playing beach sports of doing activities. Our only complaint was the first night the bunks squeaked, but they were dismantled and replaced with single beds within an hour of us alerting the front desk. The staff were great and after checking the other resorts we were totally thrilled with our choice. Thanks Rarotongan we will be back!!! We had a delux beachside suite which was perfect, we loved our room.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank JOANNETauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

We had been concerned about this hotel having read some negative reviews on this website, especially concerning the rooms and poor service. We are happy to say that we found the service to be good and our Garden room was good although the bathroom was a little dated. I wouldn't say that the Garden Rooms are 4 star but then again we didn't pay a 4 star price either. The resort is on a great beach, has a great activities programme and (at least for now) adult guests at the Rarotongan are able to use the adults only pool in the sister resort, The Sanctuary, which is excellent.
Contrary to other reviews we found the service and food in the restaurant to be good just don't expect fine dining.
Two disappointments were the cocktails and that the resort only had one computer with internet access and this access was very slow.
However, overall we had a good experience and we would recommend the resort.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morgz83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We travelled to the Rarotongan for Christmas, in part to show the kids the international dateline as we had our first Christmas day in New Zealand and the second one in the Cook Islands. The resort is dated and in dire need of an upgrade, but in a lovely spot. The lagoon is great for the kids, the two eldest learnt to snorkel in the waste deep water with heaps of fish. The rooms are pokey and the two bedroom option was difficult for a family of 5.
The thing that annoyed us greatly was the hotel places a surcharge on all its meals on public holidays. You can’t eat out of the resort because everything else is closed. Everything also closes on a Sunday. You need to be aware of this because the island really does just stop n a Sunday!
They were building a new pool while we were there, it looked nice however will become an adults only space I understand.
The staff were not as friendly as other Pacific Islands we have been to.
We transferred up to the Rarotongan’s sister property in Aitutaki just before New Year. We booked everything including internal flights through the Rarotongan. They checked us out early morning and flew us to Aitutaki on an early flight only to arrive and find our rooms weren’t ready for 4 hours! We expected they would coordinate a midday flight to best manage our holiday flow, it seemed their operational requirements were put ahead of our experience.
Lovely place, but not up to other Pacific Island standards in terms of customer focus. We would return, but only as a couple not as a family.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PacificTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.6 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.7 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
565 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve | Aroa, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range: $151 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve and enjoy Rarotonga’s best snorkeling (the resort’s guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). The all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking, included as part of The Rarotongan’s extensive FREE Daily Activities Programme. The Rarotongan is located directly on Rarotonga’s best white sandy beach, Aroa Beach, on the island’s sunshine southwest coast. The Rarotongan is also Rarotonga’s most family-friendly resort and offers FREE Moko’s Kids Club, Little Dolphin’s Mini Waterpark and Teen Zone. Kids & Teens Stay & Play FREE (aged to 16 years)! Kids aged 4-11 years Play Free @ Moko’s Kids Club, and teens aged 12-16 years Play Free in Teen Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing