We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Staff, Great Views and Amazing Snorkelling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Very lovely staff, made us feel so very welcome . The rooms were tidy and clean. We didnt spend alot of time in the room, so it was perfect for what we wanted

Great location and the Beach is amazing, very good snorkelling, Great pool and free Paddleboards and Snorkel hire

The only down fall i would say, is its quite expensive to stay in this hotel and as its rated as a 4 star, but i wouldnt rate it that high, i would probably give it a 3- 3.5 Star

Room Tip: We stayed in a Garden room and wasn't to far to walk to the beach, and there was a big differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antz247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haimona B, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Kia Orana “Antz247”

Thank you for taking the time to post your review with regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.
The staff are very grateful and appreciative of your lovely comments.

We are also thrilled that you found the beach and snorkelling as amazing.

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa is well renown for its stunning long white beach and the remarkable snorkelling as well, and we are happy that you were able to experience these two iconic features of our resort.

Thank you once again and we hope to one day welcome you back to the Cook Islands!

Kind Regards
Haimona Browne
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

Staff very helpful, great, but don't eat the food! We both had upset stomach's within hours of eating a meal there. Hotel is tired and could do with a revamp - mattresses very saggy and soft. Great location though and free paddleboards. Not worth the money in our opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank looley50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haimona B, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Kia Orana “looley50”

Thank you for taking the time to post your review with regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased that you enjoyed both the friendly service from our staff, as well the complimentary paddleboards we offer at the resort.

We are also thrilled that you found our beach location to be great.

Our beachfront location is one of many attractive features we offer at our resort.

We trust that you also had the opportunity to do some snorkelling as well. The vast marine life which have taken sanctuary in our marine reserve lagoon are just spectacular close up.

We are however disappointed that you consider that the food you had at the resort gave you upset stomachs.

We would be grateful if you can provide me with details of your meal and dates of stay therefore we can investigate this further.

You can email me on info@rarotongan.co.ck

I have not been made aware of other guests feeling sick after eating at our resort, and it is important that we pinpoint the source of your stomach bug.

Thank you once again and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards

Haimona Browne
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We had 7 nights at the Rarotongan Beach Resort last month. We stayed in the Beachfront room and the location to the water was fantastic. The beds were fine however the bathroom really needed a good clean! Beautiful views. Unfortunately we didn't have the best weather which was disappointing but the beach itself was beautiful and my husband snorkeled and said it was great. The breakfast left a lot to be desired.... 7 days of breads, croissants and 2 fruit choices really wasn't exciting. They did offer two cereals as well but you had to pay extra for eggs or bacon. The restaurant facilities are really run down.... the bread container lids fell off and banged on the floor for every 2nd person trying to reach for their croissants. No t-spoons for your coffee (coffee wasn't nice at all). The furniture was quite outdated & dusty. One morning we slept in and only made it to breaky at 9.30am so one of the last ones eating at 10am when breakfast finishes. As soon as it hit 10am the music went on full volume and staff were cleaning the place down, regardless of the fact customers were still dining. We didn't eat at the Rarotongan restaurants too much as the prices were very high - Happy Hour drinks were the same as a drink here in Oz.....

The activities program wasn't bad... some staff members were happy.... kids enjoyed the kidsclub and said their minder was lovely. They enjoyed crab hunting, rock painting, games on the beach and hat weaving. Other than this we found most other staff's service standards needing improvement. When asking for help most of them accommodated but not with enthusiasm. Not overly friendly and cheery for a tropical destination.

We were disappointed that the bicycles cost to hire. There was only 1 child bike. The resort was very empty as it was not peak season, All bikes were locked up and we didn't see to many people using them. For the cost of $10 per day it was cheaper to hire a motorbike and go around the island. $22 a day from the hire place across the road! We also found the Spa to be too expensive... so ended up using a Spa from a different resort.

The night before we checked out I asked if we could arrange late check out as we didn't need to be at the airport until 2.30pm. Our son wasn't feeling very well and we figures since the resort was nearly empty they shouldn't mind. However, they said they would only do it for a fee (think it was around $75) - couldn't believe it. The next morning my husband asked the Manager on Duty if she could please accommodate our request for late check out and her words to him were - 'Well sir, you haven't spent much money at our resort'... it is pretty clear that money is what it is all about there. In the end my she agreed to a 12 noon check out - but certainly let my husband know she wasn't impressed about it.

On the way to the airport on the bus, we received a phone call on the bus drivers phone asking us to leave $10 with the bus driver as they forgot to charge us for the petrol in a car hire they had arranged for us. As our bill had already been settled and we were on our way to the airport, we were gobsmacked that they went to this much effort to chase up $10. My husband had ran our NZ money down to $4 and we couldn't offer the $10 so we told them to take it from our Visa Card. They said they couldn't do this without our signature and therefore had to leave the bill unsettled. 10 minutes later they phoned the bus driver again and passed the phone onto us again... asking us to leave Australian $10 with the bus driver other wise the receptionist who forgot to charge us would have to pay out of his own pocket. Of course this is not right so we gave the $10 over however, thought that it was wrong of the resort to chase this up with us once we had departed the resort.

Overall, we made the most of our holiday. Wasn't the worst time but certainly didn't feel we got our moneys worth. Rarotonga was a very expensive place to visit once there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank QldKell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haimona B, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Kia Orana “QldKell”

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the beachfront location of your room and your husband got to enjoy some of the world class snorkelling right off the beach in the Aroa Marine Reserve while your kids enjoyed the Kids Club.

We apologize for the mistake made by our front desk staff in finalizing your bill.

Our Duty Managers are available to address guest's concerns from 7am to midnight.

We only offer fresh tropical fruits that are grown on the island and are in season and so we apologize if you found the selection limited.

The prices in our restaurants, bars and Spa Polynesia are more than competitive with those around the island or indeed as compared to other South Pacific destinations and are definitely competitive with what is typical in Australia.

In order to keep prices competitive for all guests while we offer an extensive array of free services e.g. Kids Club, Little Dolphins Water Park, Teen Zone, Activities Hut with sporting, cultural and other fun activities, tennis and beach volleyball court, live entertainment, air conditioned gym, outdoor Fit Trail etc. there are other services for which there is a minimal charges such as bicycle hire, cooked breakfasts and late check out. These charges are competitive with other similar resorts in the Cook Islands and throughout the South Pacific and are clearly set out for guests to decide if they would like to take advantage of these services or not.

If there are any other concerns you would like addressed please feel free to contact me directly by email on info@rarotongan.co.ck

Kind Regards,

Haimona Browne
Sales & Marketing Manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

After reading the reviews on this hotel i was a little nervous about what to expect. However we couldn't have been more pleased. We were upgraded from the deluxe beachside suite to the grand beachfront suite, wow how fantastic is this room. Doors open directly onto the fabulous beach & lagoon. The room was spotlessly clean and had everything you needed. The room was serviced daily and even when we asked not to be cleaned they still left us a set of clean towels. the extra outdoor shower was also a big bonus. A lot of reviews are negative about the cost and quality of the hotel food, we did not find this to be the case. We had a tropical breakfast daily which was more than sufficent and also attended the hotels Island night, the food from which was fantastic, me being a vegetarian i was concerned as to what i could actually eat from the buffet style BBQ however there was a huge array of vegetable and salad dishes, the evening was well worth the expense. We ate out a couple of evenings but felt the the quality and cost of the hotel food was hard to beat and spent most evenings eating at the hotel. The staff are all friendly & knowledgeable and nothing is too much trouble, a very hardworking group of people. We visited a few other resorts just to have a look whilst we were there and were definitely pleased with our choice. The Rarotongan has an authentic island style theme, intimate and friendly. The snorkelling in the lagoon was by far the best on the island and the free use of the paddle boards and kayaks a big hit with the kids. We will definitely be returning sometime soon!!

Room Tip: The grande beachfront suite was fantastic and definitley worth paying that bit extra for. the beachs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DYRIDEOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haimona B, Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Kia Orana “DYRIDEOUT”

Greetings from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to write your great review!!!

It was an absolute pleasure to be able to host you and your family in our small slice of paradise.

We are thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed the Grand Beachfront Suite, which is one of the premium accommodations available on the island.

We are also delighted that you also enjoyed your meals including our ever popular Legends of Polynesia Island Night Buffet, as well as the friendly service provided our staff.

Thank you once again for your fantastic feedback from the team at The Rarotongan and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Rarotongan in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Haimona Browne
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Well we have just had 7 nights here and it would have to have the best "location" on the island!!!.
When we arrived our rooms were not ready and the lady on the front desk was really nice and gave us a round of cocktails while we waited, but unfortunately that was the last of the friendliness at the front desk!!!. Unless we spoke first we were not spoken too by the front desk which i thought was exceptionally rude, as we visited several other resorts and could not believe the greetings we were given at each reception as we walked past. The guy on the desk that looks after guest requests and booking things never once looked up or acknowledged us, and never had anyone with him when we passed, maybe in the wrong job? The staff in the Captain Andys Restaurant and Bar were the best!! lovely friendly guys and girls who seem to be under staffed but still kept smiling and were so friendly. The staff in the Activities were also great, especially "Fraser" what a great guy and he related to all ages of children, well done to him.
The pool was great lovely and clean. Yes i agree with others, the rooms are a little dated BUT ours was serviced every day and left lovely and clean.
By day 7 we were all a little tired of the same old same breakfast selection.

My BIGGEST GRIPE at this resort is the SURCHARGE 4.5% they charge on every credit card transaction which we were told by a local businessman only a couple of resorts charge and is illegal!! Could not use eftpos so either use cash or pay the surcharge. When we said to the desk about the surcharge being illegal their response was " yes welcome to the cook islands".

All in all i will be going back to Rarotonga, but will i stay here again, Im not sure.

Room Tip: Get the beach front rooms great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 786Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was the second time I have stay here with my family and sadly I feel this resort has gone down-hill. Rooms need modernising. Most of the staff were good, some more than others as in most hotels and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sexybabe2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

On our recent trip to Rarotonga, we were booked to stay at The Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa. To start, all of the staff we dealt with were rude at best. The accommodations were dated and well, disgusting. We were so mortified we promptly rented scooters and went to look at other places to stay. Fortunately we found many alternatives. We rebooked at another hotel and moved that day, losing our entire bill at The Rarotongan. That being said it was well worth it! The funniest part of the story, the front desk clerk said she "didn't know if she could release us". LOL.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.6 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.7 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
5.2 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve | Aroa, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range: $144 - $322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve and enjoy Rarotonga’s best snorkeling (the resort’s guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). The all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking, included as part of The Rarotongan’s extensive FREE Daily Activities Programme. The Rarotongan is located directly on Rarotonga’s best white sandy beach, Aroa Beach, on the island’s sunshine southwest coast. The Rarotongan is also Rarotonga’s most family-friendly resort and offers FREE Moko’s Kids Club, Little Dolphin’s Mini Waterpark and Teen Zone. Kids & Teens Stay & Play FREE (aged to 16 years)! Kids aged 4-11 years Play Free @ Moko’s Kids Club, and teens aged 12-16 years Play Free in Teen Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing