We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I recently stayed here for a wedding and travelled with a group. We all loved the hotel and stayed in a variety of room types. From the honeymoon bure (absolutely beautiful) to beachfront rooms and at The Sanctuary. Although I don't take too much notice of hotel reviews, I was a bit hesitant after hearing so many negative comments. I was very pleased that most were unfounded. If you're travelling to the Cook Islands you should do some research first. See a good travel agent for a start! If you want a Hyatt or Sheraton, go to Fiji. If you want a great hotel on the best beach with the best snorkelling and a great local experience, then stay here. The staff were fabulous. Stu was great and looked after us in the restaurant and bar. Yes, service can be slow, but you're on holiday. And we loved the way the cocktails were measured - heaps more than standard. Food was great and if we wanted a cheaper eat, we ate at the great little take away across the road. Laisa was fabulous as a wedding co-ordinator and made the whole wedding preparation stress free. Vika was great at organising all our rooms and looking after us. I loved the laid back lifestyle of the Cook Islands and the unique characteristics only found here. They don't chase the tourist dollar, you take them as they are. People also need to understand how hotel ratings are done. It's not on how recently it was refurbished or how nice the rooms are, it's on the facilities of the hotel. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Get a beachfront or sea facing room if it fits your budget. It's a beautiful beach to look out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Kia Orana “Mel454”

Seasons Greetings from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review with regards to your recent stay.

We are delighted that you were pleased with the rooms and facilities offered at the resort and that negative comments did not deter you travel and accommodation plans.

The Resort offers a wide range of exciting recreational, sporting and cultural activities, many focused on the lagoon itself which is a marine sanctuary (ra’ui), declared by traditional leaders on 1 March 2000 for the conservation of marine life within the zone. Consequently the all tide snorkelling in Aroa Lagoon, a fish breeding area, is exceptional with an amazing variety of fish and the very best available on Rarotonga.

The activities staff are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Beachfront Room. BEACHFRONT ROOMS are standard guest rooms located on absolute beachfront, enjoying views across the white sandy beach and blue lagoon, as well as excellent views of the island’s stunning tropical sunsets. The Beachfront Rooms offer the full range of our standard features and services, and are located in our 300 village at the western end of Aroa Beach. Half of these standard guest rooms are on ground level, the other half are on a second storey. Which one is better depends on whether you prefer direct access to the beach from your verandah, or a vaulted ceiling and views across the beach and lagoon from your upper‐storey deck. Whatever the case, if a room with a view is important to you – and what a view! – then one of our Beachfront Rooms would be ideal. We are also able to offer two pairs of Beachfront Suites as interconnecting, subject to availability.

We are very happy that you had such a lovely holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and service from the staff especially Stu, Laisa and Vika!

We hope to welcome you back to our Resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

547 - 553 of 1,126 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I found The Rarotongan a great place to stay. We were friendly, patient and polite and this ment we got great friendly service in return. Of all the beaches on the island we found it to be the best location for swimming, snorkeling and just laying around. Would highly recommend it to families it's a great atmosphere and very safe.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lpeneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Kia Orana “Lpeneg”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent November 2013 stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

Firstly, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the location of The Rarotongan which is set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love). It is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort. It’s also pleasing to read that you were happy with the service you received from our staff at The Rarotongan during your stay.

The activities staff are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

Thank you once again for choosing The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your holiday destination and we look forward to welcoming you to our resorts again in the near future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The resort pool, facilities and beach was lovely. But if you go in the off season (Nov), you can't get half the stuff advertised on their site - Hibiscus hut usually closed due to low demand. The over the counter, quick healthy snacks, salads and fruit salads promised on the net was not available even when it was open. The restaurant staff were slow and not that helpful or friendly. But the activities staff were much better, and very friendly. Many events and entertainment also cancelled due to low demand though. Kids (6y and 8y) not impressed with kids club. The video on their site was not what was there - no bouncy castle or games console, balls flat and "only toys for babies" the kids told me. They wouldn't go again. The food was ok although often orders were incorrect and took a long time to arrive. We will go to a different resort next time.

Room Tip: Garden rooms get noisy traffic from road I noticed. We stayed in Deluxe beachfront which was fine f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Kia Orana “Amanda V”

Thank you for taking the time to upload your review on your November 2013 stay at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the resort pool, facilities and beachfront location offered at The Rarotongan. Our Activities staff are also delighted to receive your feedback with regards to the standard of service you received from them during your stay.

We apologize that our Hibiscus Hut closed earlier than usual due to low demand and that the full menu was not available during your stay. Unfortunately with regards to some of our activities and entertainment, we do require minimum numbers in order for these to proceed.

We also apologise that you found the Food & Beverage service and Kids Club facilities did not meet your expectations during your visit.

Our Duty Managers are available between the hours of 7am and 12midnight to assist guests with addressing any concerns they may have. Our Resort Manager would have also been happy to discuss your concerns but this would have been more productive if raised immediately with the Duty Managers rather than after you have departed. This would have allowed us the opportunity to not only address your concerns but for you to continue with enjoying your holiday.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

My husband and I arrived early hours in the morning and received a wonderful welcome by hotel staff. A kind porter carted our lugguage to our room and answered all the questions we had on the way. We stayed in a garden room. It was clean and comfortable. The staff were fantastic. They were friendly and only too willing to accommodate our needs. The lagoon was beautiful. We ate breakfast on the deck overlooking the lagoon. The food and entertainment was excellent. The cultural performance group Orama was first class. We enjoyed meeting and talking to the staff who were only too happy to share their lived experiences on the Island. I think that was the best part about our time here - being with and amongst the local people who work in this resort. We had a great time and we're going back in 3 months!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stacey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Kia Orana “Stacey F”

Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review with regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa is magnificently located beachfront to the stunning Aroa Marine Reserve, a traditional marine reserve known in the Cook Islands as a “raui” which has been in place for 12 years. The Aroa Marine Reserve offers swimmers and those snorkelling a wide variety of marine life. We are excited that very recently we had visitors to the resort who were honored to see a juvenile turtle swimming in the marine reserve!

We appreciate your kind comments regarding the service our staff provided during your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resorts and would love to offer you a special package as a returnee guest.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've been to this resort and was once again impressed with the staff and facilities.

We had our wedding here and from the moment I emailed laisa she kept in touch and delt with my issues prompt and professionally. The wedding went without a hitch. And was stress free. Esekila at the spa did an amazing job on my wife for both make up and hair.

Again Wanny welcomed us like family as did Sekoula on the front counter. there are too many other staff to thank but they all did a commendable job.

Wanny I want to thank you for being an amazing member of the team. You treated all of my family with respect and love.

The facilities for the kids were first class. They spent a lot of time in the water and the resort has free snorkel and kayak use.

The only gripes was the cleanliness of our room. When Mii cleaned it was spotless. When someone else did it, it was a bit half pie. and maybe the price of the food and drinks were a little steep. We often ate out to save money, given our large group.

I want to thank you all for creating a warm and welcoming experience for me and my family and for making my wedding day the most memorable day of my life.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Waa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Kia Orana “Waa W”

Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review with regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

Congratulations once again from the team here at The Rarotongan!

Laisa, Isikeli, Sekoula, Wani and the team at the resort are thrilled that your wedding day was everything that you wished it to be.

Rarotonga, the heart of the South Pacific and one of the most romantic places on Earth, is the pick of the bouquet for many couples from all four corners of the globe looking for a special place to exchange their vows. A magnificent island of high mountains clothed in lush green rainforest and encircled by white sandy beaches and a beautiful blue lagoon, Rarotonga is truly one of the last remaining paradises on Earth. There are a number of different spots on the island where a couple could choose to tie the knot, but it would be hard to go past the long white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (Lagoon of Love), on Rarotonga's sunshine southwest coast. Swaying palm trees, turquoise sea lapping the pale sandy shore, the setting sun turning the whole scene golden as another day at the edge of time draws to a close. This is the idyllic South Seas wedding location of your dreams. And it's not just the romance which draws couples, but also the practical advantages of having a very affordable no-fuss wedding combined all-in-one with a South Pacific honeymoon!

We appreciate the feedback you have raised in regards to the standard of housekeeping and apologise for the inconvenience you have raised in this regard. Our Executive Housekeeper is actively working with her team to address the issues you have raised and avoid issues such as these in future.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your next tropical island escape – perhaps your first wedding anniversary.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights while on a family holiday. Found the staff to be friendly and easy to talk to. We stayed in a beachfront room which we were advised was a good idea to upgrade from a garden view room. Our other family stayed in the garden room and to be honest it wasn't really worth the extra $50 a night to stay where we did. The restaurant and bar was ok. Everything was certainly done on Island time with the drinks you ordered with your meal arriving after you had actually got and eaten your meal. Selection of food was ok but if you had a way to get around the island it's definitely a good idea to try other places (and a lot cheaper) . We ate the first few nights at the resort and then went to Trader Jacks every other night. Also there is way cheaper cocktail or happy hours at other places on the island. Breakfast was continental and was average at best. Just toast and cereals which were not really replenished. If you want a cook bkfst expect to pay up to $20NZD. The facilities were excellent with everything there and free. Kayaks, paddle boats, snorkelling and lots more. We were a bit annoyed that both our island nights we booked were cancelled due to not enough numbers. Overall a good place to stay as everything is there. I would probably try somewhere else if I went back as I'm not sure it was really worth the price we paid.

Room Tip: We were told by travel agent to upgrade from a garden view room as they are a bit dark and dingy. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi-Couple001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Kia Orana “Kiwi-Couple001”

Greetings from The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa and thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us!

We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and easy to talk to. Our staff has a reputation of being some of the friendliest you will ever meet! All of our staff is carefully selected through rigorous screening. We pride ourselves on the development of our team, and all staff participates in ongoing staff development and training programs.

BEACHFRONT ROOMS are standard guest rooms located on absolute beachfront, enjoying views across the white sandy beach and blue lagoon, as well as excellent views of the island’s stunning tropical sunsets. The Beachfront Rooms offer the full range of our standard features and services, and are located in our 300 village at the western end of Aroa Beach. Half of these standard guest rooms are on ground level, the other half are on a second storey. Which one is better depends on whether you prefer direct access to the beach from your verandah, or a vaulted ceiling and views across the beach and lagoon from your upper‐storey deck. Whatever the case, if a room with a view is important to you – and what a view! – then one of our Beachfront Rooms would be ideal. We are also able to offer two pairs of Beachfront Suites as interconnecting, subject to availability.

We apologise for the experience you received when dining at our restaurants. Our Food and Beverage Manager would have been more than happy to address issues that you encountered whilst dining at any of our establishments.

We are glad that you took time to discover the island and found places to get cheaper meals and cocktails. We can assure you that our Food and beverage prices are on par with many other establishments around the island and some would say more cheaper than other places.
It is unfortunate that you found your complimentary daily tropical breakfast buffet ‘inadequate.’ Our free daily Tropical Breakfast Buffet (Continental Breakfast) consists of a variety of seasonal island fruits, homemade yoghurt, fresh-baked muffins, Danish pastries, croissants, toast, spreads, tropical juices, tea & coffee. Guests can also select from a variety of cooked and light breakfast options from the Breakfast Menu.

The quality of each guests’ stay is important to us and as such, we have Duty Managers on duty from 7am until 12midnight daily. They can be reached by dialing 0 from one’s room phone or asking for them at Front Desk (their names are posted on the wall at Front Desk), and we would have welcomed the opportunity to address any matters of concern which you experienced during your stay.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Clean, friendly, adult and family pool, snorkeling and canoes to use, easy access to scooter/ bike hire breakfast included, good dinning room bar area. Need to buy wireless time. Had upstairs room ,with excellent view of the sea and beach Enjoy the eating experience in the sand covered adult restaurant part. A bit disappointed with the fish on the BBQ evening but loved the daily paw paw.

Room Tip: Beach front, and The Spa section as water front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daryl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Kia Orana “Daryl V”

Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review with regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

We are pleased that you found the pool surrounding at The Rarotongan to your liking. Our feature swimming pool has now been transformed from a traditional‐style plaster‐and‐paint finish pool to a brilliant eye‐catching azure pool with cascading rock waterfall. Surrounding landscape, gardens and timber decking also underwent detailed restoration to complete the transformation of our popular guest gathering spot.

Minutes after the final touches to the Waterfall Pool were completed the pool itself and poolside dining areas were quickly filled by guests looking to spend time relaxing, swimming and dining around the pool.

Guests are now able to take advantage of our stunning new‐look Waterfall Pool with al fresco dining available pool side, snorkelling and scuba lessons in the pool or simply relaxing on the poolside sundecks under the tropical island sun with a refreshing cocktail in hand.

Set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love), The Rarotongan is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort.

The Resort offers a wide range of exciting recreational, sporting and cultural activities, many focused on the lagoon itself which is a marine sanctuary (ra’ui), declared by traditional leaders on 1 March 2000 for the conservation of marine life within the zone. Consequently the all tide snorkelling in Aroa Lagoon, a fish breeding area, is exceptional with an amazing variety of fish and the very best available on Rarotonga.

The activities staff are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Beachfront Room. BEACHFRONT ROOMS are standard guest rooms located on absolute beachfront, enjoying views across the white sandy beach and blue lagoon, as well as excellent views of the island’s stunning tropical sunsets. The Beachfront Rooms offer the full range of our standard features and services, and are located in our 300 village at the western end of Aroa Beach. Half of these standard guest rooms are on ground level, the other half are on a second storey. Which one is better depends on whether you prefer direct access to the beach from your verandah, or a vaulted ceiling and views across the beach and lagoon from your upper‐storey deck. Whatever the case, if a room with a view is important to you – and what a view! – then one of our Beachfront Rooms would be ideal. We are also able to offer two pairs of Beachfront Suites as interconnecting, subject to availability.

We are delighted that you took the opportunity to dine at the Adults Only – Blue Water Grill and enjoyed the ambience and the meal.

We apologise for the fish not being cooked to your expectation and would have been happy to cook it to your preference.

We are very happy that you had such a lovely holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and services we have to offer at The Rarotongan.

We hope to welcome you back to our Resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.6 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.7 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
565 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve | Aroa, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range: $151 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve and enjoy Rarotonga’s best snorkeling (the resort’s guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). The all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking, included as part of The Rarotongan’s extensive FREE Daily Activities Programme. The Rarotongan is located directly on Rarotonga’s best white sandy beach, Aroa Beach, on the island’s sunshine southwest coast. The Rarotongan is also Rarotonga’s most family-friendly resort and offers FREE Moko’s Kids Club, Little Dolphin’s Mini Waterpark and Teen Zone. Kids & Teens Stay & Play FREE (aged to 16 years)! Kids aged 4-11 years Play Free @ Moko’s Kids Club, and teens aged 12-16 years Play Free in Teen Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing