We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Family Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Family Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at the Rarotongan at the end of October 2013, in one of the two bedroom beach side suites and had a great time. The staff were friendly and patient with our two year old and went out of their way to learn his name and say hello to him. We chose this resort as we had previously stayed here (pre child days) and remembered it as very family friendly. There were plenty of activities to keep us all occupied as well at the stunning snorkelling and the pool. The restaurant had a good menu with lots of variety for both adults and kids.
I would recommend this to anyone looking for a family friendly place with plenty to keep every entertained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAO2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Kia Orana “MAO2012”

Thank you for taking the time to post a lovely review with regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

We are delighted you enjoyed the 2 Bedroom Beachside Suites. TWO BEDROOM BEACHSIDE SUITES are located at ground‐level in our 100 and 200 villages, and are in close proximity to the beach and lagoon, but without direct sea views. They feature a sitting and dining room which opens out onto a spacious verandah. a master bedroom (with king bed) which also opens out onto the verandah, a second bedroom with two single beds, a full kitchen (including microwave, stove top, and refrigerator / freezer), a tiled bathroom with spa bath/shower, and a separate toilet. The sitting room is equipped with LCD TV and DVD, sofa, armchairs, and dining table and chairs that can be used for dining inside or al fresco. The Two‐Bedroom Beachside Suites also feature two separate, individually controlled air conditioning units in the sitting room and hallway. These Suites accept up to 4 adults (at no extra room charge), or 2 adults and up to 4 (four) children. The second bedroom can be configured to best suit your requirements, whether that be as two single beds, as two bunk beds (ie 4 beds), or as a double bed for a couple. And the master bedroom can be converted from one king bed to two single beds, in the case of 4 adults who need to be accommodated as 2 x twin share. The Two Bedroom Beachside Suites are ideal for two couples traveling together, or for families seeking the convenience and comfort of separate bedrooms along with a sitting room and full kitchen.

We are pleased to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Rarotonga – it is indeed an absolutely delightful family holiday destination. We have a great team of fun loving staff who do love to help our guests get the best of their stays with us at The Rarotongan.

Set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love), The Rarotongan is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort.

The Resort offers a wide range of exciting recreational, sporting and cultural activities, many focused on the lagoon itself which is a marine sanctuary (ra’ui), declared by traditional leaders on 1 March 2000 for the conservation of marine life within the zone. Consequently the all tide snorkelling in Aroa Lagoon, a fish breeding area, is exceptional with an amazing variety of fish and the very best available on Rarotonga.

The activities staff are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

The Rarotongan also offers “Kids Stay & Play FREE!” in conjunction with our Moko’s Kids Club, open year-round Monday-Saturday, 9am to 12noon, 2pm to 5pm, and 7pm to 9pm. Children PLAY FREE! At Moko’s, which caters for children, aged four to eleven years inclusive. Children aged fewer than four are also welcome to join the fun when supervised by a parent or babysitter. A large, colourful and superbly-equipped family facility for Resort guests, the Moko’s Kids Club provides kids with a fantastic range of toys, books, board games, Lego, paints & crafts, trampoline, play shop, ride-ons, play & sports equipment, PlayStation, videos and a tailored Kids Nature & Culture Activities Programme including island dance (hula) lessons, ei (flower garland) making, coconut painting, moko (gecko) hunting, learn to speak some words of Cook Islands Maori, and much much more, all under the supervision of the friendly Kids Club Team. Kids receive complimentary snacks and drinks at morning and afternoon Moko’s sessions, and Moko’s also has its own kids’ toilets and shower.

Kids also STAY FREE! when sharing with their parents (maximum two adults & two children, eleven years and under per room; self-contained Two Bedroom Beachside Suite takes maximum of four adults, or two adults and four children, and self-contained Grand Beachfront Suite takes three adults, or two adults and four children). Our Moko’s Kids Club current incorporates a complimentary session to in house children at our Little Dolphin’s Waterpark from 11am – 12midday daily.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resorts and would love to offer you a special package as a returnee guest.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    304
    202
    132
    143
See reviews for
474
351
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a really relaxing time at this resort, we were in one of the top rooms right on the beach which suited us fine as we are beach goers who love the sound if the waves :) overall the service, friendliness and activities were excellent. on offer free snorkel gear paddle boards and kayak all in good condition and working order.

Room Tip: Beach front is a must!! so beautiful to wake up and go for a dip in the water to wake yourself up
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nibsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Kia Orana “Nibsie”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. It was indeed our pleasure to be part of your very special wedding anniversary.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your Beachfront Room. BEACHFRONT ROOMS are standard guest rooms located on absolute beachfront, enjoying views across the white sandy beach and blue lagoon, as well as excellent views of the island’s stunning tropical sunsets. The Beachfront Rooms offer the full range of our standard features and services, and are located in our 300 village at the western end of Aroa Beach. Half of these standard guest rooms are on ground level, the other half are on a second storey. Which one is better depends on whether you prefer direct access to the beach from your verandah, or a vaulted ceiling and views across the beach and lagoon from your upper‐storey deck. Whatever the case, if a room with a view is important to you – and what a view! – then one of our Beachfront Rooms would be ideal. We are also able to offer two pairs of Beachfront Suites as interconnecting, subject to availability.

Set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love), The Rarotongan is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort.

The Resort offers a wide range of exciting recreational, sporting and cultural activities, many focused on the lagoon itself which is a marine sanctuary (ra’ui), declared by traditional leaders on 1 March 2000 for the conservation of marine life within the zone. Consequently the all tide snorkelling in Aroa Lagoon, a fish breeding area, is exceptional with an amazing variety of fish and the very best available on Rarotonga.

The activities staff are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

The Rarotongan also offers “Kids Stay & Play FREE!” in conjunction with our Moko’s Kids Club, open year-round Monday-Saturday, 9am to 12noon, 2pm to 5pm, and 7pm to 9pm. Children PLAY FREE! At Moko’s, which caters for children, aged four to eleven years inclusive. Children aged fewer than four are also welcome to join the fun when supervised by a parent or babysitter. A large, colourful and superbly-equipped family facility for Resort guests, the Moko’s Kids Club provides kids with a fantastic range of toys, books, board games, Lego, paints & crafts, trampoline, play shop, ride-ons, play & sports equipment, PlayStation, videos and a tailored Kids Nature & Culture Activities Programme including island dance (hula) lessons, ei (flower garland) making, coconut painting, moko (gecko) hunting, learn to speak some words of Cook Islands Maori, and much much more, all under the supervision of the friendly Kids Club Team. Kids receive complimentary snacks and drinks at morning and afternoon Moko’s sessions, and Moko’s also has its own kids’ toilets and shower.

Thank you once again for your feedback, we hope to be able to welcome you back to our resorts in the near future. Please do contact us for your special return guest package.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had a great stay which was made even better by the excellent and friendly staff. Especially Stu the manager of the restaurant who went out of his way for us. Room 207 opened out to beautiful views of the sea. Kids enjoyed all the water-sports. Weather was great. Will be wanting to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Kia Orana “Mark T”

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to hear that you found our staff excellent and friendly to deal with during your stay. That is SUPER!! Your comments have been passed on to them, especially Stu, and they are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay :-)

It is also satisfying to read that you enjoyed the stunning beachfront location of your Grand Beachfront Suite during your stay, in particular the amazing snorkelling with the fish available straight off the beach front of your room and the great selection of complimentary activities for our guests. GRAND BEACHFRONT SUITES all offer absolute beachfront locations directly on Aroa Beach (it would be hard to get any closer without being in the water!), and are located at ground level in our 100 and 200 villages. They feature very large, spacious open‐plan interiors with cool terracotta tiles throughout, a Californian super king bed, bathroom with spa bath / shower, private open air shower, dining and sitting areas (with sound system and LCD TV). All 4 Grand Beachfront Suites are fully self‐contained, with a kitchen featuring breakfast bar, microwave, stovetop, refrigerator with freezer, and coffee maker. The expansive verandah offers excellent indoor‐outdoor flow and leads directly onto Aroa Beach. Each Suite also features a private upper sundeck with bird’s eye views of the beach and lagoon, and these upper decks have played host to a number of weddings and private cocktail parties! The Grand Beachfront Suites are ideal for those seeking the convenience of a fully self‐contained suite, along with the benefits of an absolute beachfront location. These Suites accept up to 3 adults (with the third person charge), or up to 2 adults and 4 (four) children, making them ideal for larger families.

We are very happy that you had such a lovely holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and services we have to offer at The Rarotongan.

We hope to welcome you back to our Resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The 4 of us (2x Couples) stayed here for 7 nights. My partners has previously stayed here 5 years ago and raved about how amazing it was WELL......
He soon realised it was not so great anymore.

The food was great, but we only ate here a couple of times and our food never came out at the same times as both our main and dessert orders got stuffed up.

It was defiantly Island time!
We understand Island time but the resort lost out on alot of money as we did not once get asked if we would like another drink from the staff. We ended up going out every night because the service was so bad.

When we asked what was taking so long with one meal a staff member looked at us, walked away and never came back. pretty appalling really.

Stu was fantastic. He was great to joke with but I do feel he is a one man band at the resort. He does everything himself and doesn't look like he gets alot of support.

The rooms were okay. We didn't spend alot of time in them. With a bit of a tidy this place would be amazing!

Other than the things mentioned above I loved Rarotonga. The snorkeling outside The Rarotongan is the most amazing experience I have had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Kia Orana “Abbey “

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.
We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the quality of food; however we do apologize for the inconsistent service you received from our staff. Stu is thrilled that you were happy with his service and will work closely with his team to ensure that they perform to the same standards.

Our sister resorts, The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa and our adults’ only boutique resort, Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach both enjoy stunning beachfront locations on the traditional Aroa marine reserve “raui”. As a result, guests of our resorts have access to abundant marine life varieties only a few steps from the shore. Some guests have even capture footage of baby turtle in our lagoon which is extremely exciting!

We do appreciate the feedback you have provided us and it is important to us in order to improve the standard of service we deliver.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aroa Beach hotels

Tauranga
Level Contributor
69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed for eleven days with family recently........two grandchildren included. Rooms 208 and 209 were perfect for us....right on the beach. Room staff were most helpful and chatty......especially Andre. (He needs an increase in wages maybe?) The staff all work hard to please everyone but there appears to be a shortage of trained staff. Stu the bar and restaurant Manager covers all duties from waiting and clearing tables to taking orders as well as managing.
All meals were enjoyable both in main restaurant and also in Sanctuary restaurant area. Refrigeration unit in the bar area was out of action and there was no draught beer as the pumps had been broken down for a few months.
We have stayed here a few times over the past ten years and this time we felt maintenance is needed. The standard has slipped.
We all enjoyed our relaxing stay even though most days were very windy. Children had a super time at kids club, in the pool and the sea.

Room Tip: Beachfront rooms were open to the wind. Garden rooms were back from beach but very sheltered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lita-Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Kia Orana “Lita-Tauranga”

Thank you for your review in regards to your stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are pleased to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Rarotonga – it is indeed an absolutely delightful family holiday destination. We have a great team of fun loving staff who do love to help our guests get the best of their stays with us at The Rarotongan, especially Andre! 

The Resort offers a wide range of exciting recreational, sporting and cultural activities, many focused on the lagoon itself which is a marine sanctuary (ra’ui), declared by traditional leaders on 1 March 2000 for the conservation of marine life within the zone. Consequently the all tide snorkelling in Aroa Lagoon, a fish breeding area, is exceptional with an amazing variety of fish and the very best available on Rarotonga.

The activities staff are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

The Rarotongan also offers “Kids Stay & Play FREE!” in conjunction with our Moko’s Kids Club, open year-round Monday-Saturday, 9am to 12noon, 2pm to 5pm, and 7pm to 9pm. Children PLAY FREE! At Moko’s, which caters for children, aged four to eleven years inclusive. Children aged fewer than four are also welcome to join the fun when supervised by a parent or babysitter. A large, colourful and superbly-equipped family facility for Resort guests, the Moko’s Kids Club provides kids with a fantastic range of toys, books, board games, Lego, paints & crafts, trampoline, play shop, ride-ons, play & sports equipment, PlayStation, videos and a tailored Kids Nature & Culture Activities Programme including island dance (hula) lessons, ei (flower garland) making, coconut painting, moko (gecko) hunting, learn to speak some words of Cook Islands Maori, and much much more, all under the supervision of the friendly Kids Club Team. Kids receive complimentary snacks and drinks at morning and afternoon Moko’s sessions, and Moko’s also has its own kids’ toilets and shower.

We apologise for not being able to serve draft beer and can assure you that Stu, our Food and Beverage Manager is working to have this rectified.

Thank you once again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Rarotongan in the near future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This place has so much potential but it is not four star by any shake of the rattle.

Housekeeping - well I had to ring after 2 days as they hadn't been, and when they did come, they didn't clean or replace glasses etc, they just left them sitting dirty where ever they'd been left.

Many of the menu items were sold out, including the local beers which the beer drinkers in the family were disappointed with after having a bit of a tradition of only drinking local beers in countries we go to.

The room was small, dirty & had things like mouldy lampshades, cigarette butts in the gardens.

The food was not bad, but although several restaurants, only one menu to chose from. Service was slow - but we've been to many islands & you do get used to that

Tables were not cleaned between sittings, ie: you'd go for dinner & there'd be muck all over the tables cloths from lunch.

Family room had bunks plonked in which made it hard to get in and out of the door on to the porch.

The marine reserve is great, but no real instruction of exactly the areas to snorkel in. Thankfully my husband is a diver so was a bit more clued up than some of the other snorkelers who tended to look a bit lost. Some sort of events manager would be a good idea, with the exception of a couple of staff who never seemed to sleep, most staff just seemed to wander aimlessly around and not acknowledge the guests particularly much at all. They'd make a lot more money if they bothered to ask people poolside if they'd like a drink or a snack while they were relaxing.

So, to sum up - not 4 star, unless you get it for a really cheap rate, I wouldn't bother choosing this place if you're expecting 4 star because it's disappointing to spend all that hard earned money on something that's not all it's cracked up to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jolee416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Kia Orana “Jolee416”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We appreciate the feedback you have raised in regards to the standard of housekeeping and apologise for the inconvenience you have raised in this regard. Our Executive Housekeeper is actively working with her team to address the issues you have raised and avoid issues such as these in future.

We are pleased that you found the meals satisfactory and we apologise that you were not happy with your food and beverage dining experience while staying with us – our Restaurant & Bar Manager would have been happy to address your concerns with service.

It is unfortunate that you found the room cramped with the bunk included. We do offer guests Garden and Beachfront Rooms. These are a great-value option for you, perfect for your stay in paradise and are also available as INTERCONNECTING!! Similar in layout and size, Garden Rooms are set within the Resort's lush gardens, while Beachfront Rooms are set directly on the white sand beach. Half of these standard guest rooms are on ground level, the other half are on a second level.

As a result of your feedback, our management team is actively working with their respective department staff to address the comments you have provided and raise the standards of service we deliver.

It is important to us that our guests enjoy themselves while staying with us however we realize that sometimes things just do not go to plan. In these instances, we ask that guests do raise these concerns during their stay as more often than not, many issues can be addressed immediately by our Duty Managers or Management.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

The good: Convenient location and amenities are suitable.

The bad: The waitstaff are apathetic at best. Just take your order and move on. Then you wait 30 minutes for a bland, average, yet expensive salad. The reception is unorganized and also rather expression-less.

The ugly: Housekeeping. Or lack thereof. It looked like they came in, made the bed, changed the towels and left. Nothing was actually sterilized or wiped down. They didn't even replace the coffee, milk, and sugar each day. The bathtub had some kind of drainage issue so by the end of my shower i was standing ankle deep in murky water. I just felt dirty the whole time. Not acceptable for the rates they charge.

Overall, I think this place is simply suffering from a lack of leadership. It's like nobody is held accountable or has any direction which results in a sloppy result. The potential is there. They just need to hire people happy to have a job and that understand what the service industry is all about. Then manage them.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Kia Orana “Jim D”

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your feedback in regards to your recent stay at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are delighted that you found the location and amenities suitable.

A few steps from your room or suite at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa you can snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the underwater wonderland of the Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve, protected by the encircling, natural coral reef. Swim with rainbow-coloured angel, parrot, butterfly, squirrel, goat, rabbit, unicorn, box and Picasso fish and a variety of beautiful wrasses such as sunset and bird, all in chest-deep, clear warm waters. The snorkelling is so good here many of our guests have compared it to that of the Maldives or Australia’s Great Barrier Reef. If you’ve never done it before, you’ll be amazed at how incredibly easy and rewarding it is, especially so because Aroa Lagoon is both an important fish breeding area and a traditional marine reserve (ra’ui). And you can swim or snorkel at any tide in Aroa Lagoon (not so in most parts of the island).

We are concerned however with your feedback in regards to your experience in our Restaurant and after reviewing your concerns with our Restaurant & Bar Manager, refresher training has been implemented to address the issues you have raised as well as system reviews.

We do appreciate guest feedback however, we have found it especially important to receive this feedback while guests are still staying with us this allows us an opportunity to address these concerns directly with you and immediately – issues are much more difficult to address or resolve once guests have departed.

We appreciate the feedback you have raised in regards to the standard of housekeeping and apologise for the inconvenience you have raised in this regard. Our Executive Housekeeper is actively working with her team to address the issues you have raised and avoid issues such as these in future.

Our guest feedback is important to us and these concerns would have been quickly resolved by requesting to speak with any of our Duty Managers on shift daily between the hours of 7am and 12midnight for the purpose of providing support and assistance with addressing guest concerns to achieve the experience each expects.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an iconic South Pacific resort, the Cook Islands' signature resort. Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aro'a Lagoon Marine Reserve (the resort's guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). This all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking (both free!). For couples in love, there's a Personal Wedding Planner to create your dream tropical sunset beach wedding, right beside Aro'a Lagoon, the Lagoon of Love, set on the island's stunning southwest which enjoys both all-day sun and sizzling tropical sunsets. Experience all that's authentic about Rarotonga right in your absolute beachfront, full-service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing