We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$150
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$279
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
$240
$204
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$438
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Raro(Avarua)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$111
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$277
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $298/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,208)
Filter reviews
1,208 results
Traveler rating
276
361
242
157
172
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
276
361
242
157
172
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishactivities hutbeachfront suitecook islandsmarine reservecaptain andyscrabmarine lifetable tennisa bit tiredpaddle boardsspa bathfamily holidaydaily activitiesoutdoor showerbeach sidebeautiful beach
Filter
Updating list...
644 - 649 of 1,208 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We travelled to the Rarotongan to renew our vows with a group of family and we just loved it. The staff were friendly and attentive and the resort is quite large, it didn't take too long before were got into the swing of "island time" and were relaxing in ernest. We travelled with our two young children and they had a blast, snorkelling, swimming and kids club activites.
The resort organised our Vow Renewal and we couldn't have asked for a better day. Laisa and the team did a great job, we had a lovely service on the beach followed a delicious four course dinner in our own private gazebo on the beach. They created a very romantic setting and our whole family will fondly remember it forever.
Yes, the rooms are a little dated but it had everything we needed and we didn't actually spend much time in them except for sleeping as there was so much else to do.
We found the staff to be very friendly, we sang Karaoke with them and laughed at the bar. They greeted us daily, remembered our names, our favourite cocktails and stopped for a chat around the pool.
Definitely recommend and we hope to get back there again some day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Kia Orana Amanda W

Thank you for your wonderful feedback in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We appreciate your kind comments regarding the service our staff provided during your stay.

We are pleased to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Rarotonga – it is indeed an absolutely delighted family holiday destination. We have a great team of fun loving staff who do love to help our guests get the best of their stays with us at The Rarotongan.

Set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love), The Rarotongan is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort.

The Resort offers a wide range of exciting recreational, sporting and cultural activities, many focused on the lagoon itself which is a marine sanctuary (ra’ui), declared by traditional leaders on 1 March 2000 for the conservation of marine life within the zone. Consequently the all tide snorkelling in Aroa Lagoon, a fish breeding area, is exceptional with an amazing variety of fish and the very best available on Rarotonga.

The activities staff are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

The Rarotongan also offers “Kids Stay & Play FREE!” in conjunction with our Moko’s Kids Club, open year-round Monday-Saturday, 9am to 12noon, 2pm to 5pm, and 7pm to 9pm. Children PLAY FREE! At Moko’s, which caters for children, aged four to eleven years inclusive. Children aged fewer than four are also welcome to join the fun when supervised by a parent or babysitter. A large, colourful and superbly-equipped family facility for Resort guests, the Moko’s Kids Club provides kids with a fantastic range of toys, books, board games, Lego, paints & crafts, trampoline, play shop, ride-ons, play & sports equipment, PlayStation, videos and a tailored Kids Nature & Culture Activities Programme including island dance (hula) lessons, ei (flower garland) making, coconut painting, moko (gecko) hunting, learn to speak some words of Cook Islands Maori, and much much more, all under the supervision of the friendly Kids Club Team. Kids receive complimentary snacks and drinks at morning and afternoon Moko’s sessions, and Moko’s also has its own kids’ toilets and shower.

Kids also STAY FREE! when sharing with their parents (maximum two adults & two children, eleven years and under per room; self-contained Two Bedroom Beachside Suite takes maximum of four adults, or two adults and four children, and self-contained Grand Beachfront Suite takes three adults, or two adults and four children).

Our Moko’s Kids Club current incorporates a complimentary session to in house children at our Little Dolphin’s Waterpark from 11am – 12midday daily.

We were very honored to have hosted your renewal of vows ceremony and reception with us. Laisa and the team are indeed pleased that they were able to make your very special occasion a memorable one. The Aroa Beach Gazebo is a beautiful traditionally-thatched gazebo, on the western end of Aroa Beach. It is located in a very photogenic location, with cool shade from the tropical sun and protection from any passing tropical showers, and ideal for any romantic celebration.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our resorts and would love to offer you a special package as a returnee guest.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We found the rooms to be quite small and housekeeping was an absolute shambles. Most days even at 5pm we hadn't been serviced or had fresh towels to clean the kids after a day swimming. The resort is quite dated and the food was not that good. A very poor selection of gluten free food. The staff gave my daughter food that she wasn't supposed to have and she was violently ill for 2 days. The snorkeling area is nice. The staff don't seem very interested in providing good service. I wouldn't come back, would choose a smaller resort with better facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwi_suit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Kia Orana kiwi_suit

Thank you for your recent review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

In terms of the standard of housekeeping, we have addressed with our Executive Housekeeper, the issues you have raised regarding the standard of your room. To avoid future incidents of this nature, we have instituted and extensive refresher training program with all our Room Attendants.

As a result of your feedback, our management team is actively working with their respective department staff to address the comments you have provided and raise the standards of service we deliver.

We offer a comprehensive menu and our chefs would have loved to cater for your gluten free meal requirements. Our Food and Beverage Manager is working with his team to ensure we provide the best dining experience possible and would have been happy to cater for any specific requirements that you have.

However your comments regarding the service are concerning as we have an extremely hard working team of staff who receive many glowing comments from our guests during their stays with us.

It is important to us that our guests enjoy themselves while staying with us however we realize that sometimes things just do not go to plan. In these instances, we ask that guests do raise these concerns during their stay as more often than not, many issues can be addressed immediately by our Duty Managers or Management.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have recently returned from this resort and we have to say the beach/lagoon is amazing with excellent snorkeling! The rooms were standard but the service was terrible, they are extremely under staffed, we waited between 1 - 3 hours each time we ordered a meal, whether it was lunch or dinner and up to 15 mins for a drink and the resort was quiet! It is a good spot for children. We attended a wedding at the resort and the day, food, service was excellent, so they do, do somethings well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Kia Orana “Holly M”

Thank you for your recent review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

Set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love), The Rarotongan is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort.

In terms of the standard of housekeeping, we have addressed with our Executive Housekeeper, the issues you have raised regarding the standard of your room. To avoid future incidents of this nature, we have instituted and extensive refresher training program with all our Room Attendants.

Our Food and Beverage Manager is working with his team to ensure we provide the best dining experience possible. We apologise for your experiences in delayed service and can assure you that as a result of your feedback, our management team is actively working with their respective department staff to address the comments you have provided and raise the standards of service we deliver.

The Resort offers a wide range of exciting recreational, sporting and cultural activities, many focused on the lagoon itself which is a marine sanctuary (ra’ui), declared by traditional leaders on 1 March 2000 for the conservation of marine life within the zone. Consequently the all tide snorkelling in Aroa Lagoon, a fish breeding area, is exceptional with an amazing variety of fish and the very best available on Rarotonga.

The activities staff are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

The Rarotongan also offers “Kids Stay & Play FREE!” in conjunction with our Moko’s Kids Club, open year-round Monday-Saturday, 9am to 12noon, 2pm to 5pm, and 7pm to 9pm. Children PLAY FREE! At Moko’s, which caters for children, aged four to eleven years inclusive. Children aged fewer than four are also welcome to join the fun when supervised by a parent or babysitter. A large, colourful and superbly-equipped family facility for Resort guests, the Moko’s Kids Club provides kids with a fantastic range of toys, books, board games, Lego, paints & crafts, trampoline, play shop, ride-ons, play & sports equipment, PlayStation, videos and a tailored Kids Nature & Culture Activities Programme including island dance (hula) lessons, ei (flower garland) making, coconut painting, moko (gecko) hunting, learn to speak some words of Cook Islands Maori, and much much more, all under the supervision of the friendly Kids Club Team. Kids receive complimentary snacks and drinks at morning and afternoon Moko’s sessions, and Moko’s also has its own kids’ toilets and shower.

We are also pleased that you found meals, beverages and service at the wedding to your satisfaction.

Again we thank you for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you and your family back to our resorts.

Kia Manuia & Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed in a beach bungalow for three nights before flying to Aitutaki. On returning we paid extra for the Sanctuary. I was disappointed because the breakfast was ordinary and you had sand floors which got into your shoes. No cooked breakfast it was extra cost. I would not rate it 5 star but they charge 5 star prices. I preferred the buffet breakfast and if I returned I would definitely stay in the beach bungalow. The staff were very friendly and I enjoyed the activities. We enjoyed the food especially seafood and the curries . Island chips were yummy.

Room Tip: Definitely bungalow
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 915Margaret1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Kia Orana 915Margaret1955

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach.

The Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa is located on its own stunning private island Motu Akitua, on the Aitutaki lagoon. Indeed, our resort is situated perfectly surrounded not only by beautiful blue lagoons, but also a traditional Marine Reserve offering an amazing snorkeling experience for our guests.

We appreciate the comments and feedback that you have offered and would like to respond as follows.

Our Restaurant & Bar Manager and Head Chef have also been made aware of your comments regarding the meals being unsatisfactory during your stay. I am pleased to advise that we are currently overhauling our menus and services offered in the various outlets at the resorts which we hope will achieve a better dining experience for our guests.

A Tropical Breakfast Buffet (Continental Breakfast) of a variety of seasonal island fruits, homemade yoghurt, fresh-baked muffins, Danish pastries, croissants, toast, spreads, tropical juices, tea & coffee, is served for your enjoyment in the Bluewater Grill from 7am to 10am daily. You can also select from a variety of cooked and light breakfast options from the Breakfast Menu.

We appreciate your feedback that has highlighted areas that we need to improve on and as a result, we have implemented thorough training and system reviews throughout the company to resolve the concerns you have raised.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The location is great but the whole complex is very tired and the staff serve you because they have to not because they want to help. Having just been spoilt at Etu Moana in Aitutaki this was a real come down before heading home

Room Tip: We had beachfront which was probably the pick of the rooms but still very dated.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Kia Orana Crock2

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa .

We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations – you can see that many of our recent reviews have reflected quite the opposite.

However, we do realize that each guest has very different expectations and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to your comments.

We are disappointed that you weren’t able to join several former guests who have thoroughly enjoyed their dining experiences with us.

In summary, we are concerned that you were not satisfied with your holiday and I would like to again take the opportunity remind guests that we have Duty Manager’s rostered 7 days a week between the hours of 7am and midnight to assist guests with resolving any concerns they may have.

It is beneficial to bring any issues to our attention immediately as more often than not, these issues can be quickly be resolved to allow you continue with your tropical island holiday as intended.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews