We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Expensive and horrible. Looks great, but the shows are terrible compared to other resorts, and the "worlds best" fire people, lost their fire wands into the crowd, was shocking! Equally horrible is all the fish living in plant pots in the baking sun, and the massive eel that is living in a pond thats not much bigger that eel itself! HORRIBLE!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AllinBluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Kia Orana “Bry H”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations – however, we do realize that each guest has very different expectations and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to your comments.

In regards to the quality of the Island BBQ & Fire Dancing Show, we have hosted this particular night of entertainment for many, many years. We are puzzled with your feedback as this show receives glowing compliments from our guests and diners. However, we have brought your concerns to the attention of the dance troupe’s leader who appreciates the opportunity to address these with the performers.

Our Resort Resident Eel “George” has lived for many, many years in the pond leading to TE VAKA restaurant and is hugely popular with children and adults alike. He is well cared for by our Resort staff but will soon be transferred to our activities pond while we re-design and renovate the entrance to TE VAKA.

In summary, we are concerned that you were not satisfied with your holiday and I would like to again take the opportunity remind guests that we have Duty Manager’s rostered 7 days a week between the hours of 7am and midnight to assist guests with resolving any concerns they may have. It is beneficial to bring any issues to our attention immediately as more often than not, these issues can be quickly be resolved to allow you continue with your tropical island holiday as intended.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    310
    205
    132
    145
See reviews for
482
353
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taupo. New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We have just spent 8 wonderful days in your delightful resort. Having never been to the Cooks before we holidayed with our son, his wife and two children . It was the second trip for them and they are already talking about the third. From the moment we arrived until we left we could not fault the resort. The staff was a delight and nothing was to much trouble. Ok perhaps some parts looked a bit tired and you had to wait a little longer for meals than usual but when your on holiday you should just wind down and go with the flow. Life is too short to sweat the small stuff. Thanks to everyone at your resort for making our holiday really special. We will see you next year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the middle of the row are quieter than the corner ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Kia Orana “Isabel T”

Thank you for your review in regards to your stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in July 2013.

We are pleased to read that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your return visit to Rarotonga – it is indeed an absolutely delightful family holiday destination. We have a great team of fun loving staff who do love to help our guests get the best of their stays with us at The Rarotongan.

Set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love), The Rarotongan is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort.

The Resort offers a wide range of exciting recreational, sporting and cultural activities, many focused on the lagoon itself which is a marine sanctuary (ra’ui), declared by traditional leaders on 1 March 2000 for the conservation of marine life within the zone. Consequently the all tide snorkelling in Aroa Lagoon, a fish breeding area, is exceptional with an amazing variety of fish and the very best available on Rarotonga.

The activities staff are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

The Rarotongan also offers “Kids Stay & Play FREE!” in conjunction with our Moko’s Kids Club, open year-round Monday-Saturday, 9am to 12noon, 2pm to 5pm, and 7pm to 9pm. Children PLAY FREE! At Moko’s, which caters for children, aged four to eleven years inclusive. Children aged fewer than four are also welcome to join the fun when supervised by a parent or babysitter. A large, colourful and superbly-equipped family facility for Resort guests, the Moko’s Kids Club provides kids with a fantastic range of toys, books, board games, Lego, paints & crafts, trampoline, play shop, ride-ons, play & sports equipment, PlayStation, videos and a tailored Kids Nature & Culture Activities Programme including island dance (hula) lessons, ei (flower garland) making, coconut painting, moko (gecko) hunting, learn to speak some words of Cook Islands Maori, and much much more, all under the supervision of the friendly Kids Club Team. Kids receive complimentary snacks and drinks at morning and afternoon Moko’s sessions, and Moko’s also has its own kids’ toilets and shower.

Kids also STAY FREE! when sharing with their parents (maximum two adults & two children, eleven years and under per room; self-contained Two Bedroom Beachside Suite takes maximum of four adults, or two adults and four children, and self-contained Grand Beachfront Suite takes three adults, or two adults and four children).

Our Moko’s Kids Club current incorporates a complimentary session to in house children at our Little Dolphin’s Waterpark from 11am – 12midday daily.

Thank you once again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Rarotongan in the near future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in 2010 and had the best holiday ever! Staff were amazing, helpful, efficient and generally fantastic at their jobs. We returned in June this year after getting married along at Muri Beach expecting the same once again but we were disappointed. Bar staff were very slow and not very friendly at all, was very hard to try and spend money or have a few drinks as the service was too slow so we would just head back to our rooms and drink our duty free.
We started out in a garden room with myself my husband and our 2 small girls, it was so small we could hardly walk around the room, we were upgraded to a beachside suite which was amazing and the staff who helped us relocate and set up the portacot again were fantastic. There was no tv in the room and was soon sorted by the maintenance man. Also our phone didn't work and a technician had to come twice to try and sort the problem which was a bit more than just replacing the phone itself.
Food was always great, kitchen staff were faultless. Also some of the waiters/waitresses were fantastic, Saula and Leilani just to name a few were especially great.
Sane on reception is an absolute pleasure aswell.
The kids club was not that great, the staff weren't the friendliest and it always seemed a problem to book the kids in??? Don't know why this was the case as it was one of the only reasons we booked here was for the kids club.

We will return though and give it another go because I'm sure we maybe just struck a bad week on the staff front.
We travelled as a large group and we are all looking at returning in the next year or so.
I just hope the staff in the bar are trained or replaced in time for our next visit so I can get stuck into those delicious passion fruit mojitos.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Smithiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Kia Orana “Smithiej”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in June 2013

We are thrilled to hear that our staff were able to quickly assist you with settling into your Deluxe Beachside Suite and address the issues that you raised with them.

We are also very happy to read that you found our team of staff a pleasure to deal with during your stay and we have passed your feedback on to Saula and Leilani as well as our Kitchen and Reception staff who are delighted to hear that they were able to make a difference to your stay.

We are concerned and apologise that you found the Food & Beverage service unsatisfactory during your stay. Your comments and feedback have been investigated and reviewed comprehensively with our Food & Beverage Manager and Head Chef who as a result have implemented several changes and improvements to our Food & Beverage operational procedures.

We do appreciate the time you have taken to upload your review. These concerns would have been quickly resolved by requesting to speak with our Food & Beverage Manager. Alternatively, we have Duty Managers on shift daily between the hours of 7am and 12midnight for the purpose of providing support and assistance with addressing guest concerns to achieve the experience each expects.

We also apologise that you found our Moko’s Kids Club unsatisfactory during your stay with us. We have also brought your feedback to the attention of our Guest Services Manager who is actively working with the team of Kids Club staff to ensure that this does not happen again.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in the near future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at the Rarotongan resort for 6 nights early July. The setting is awesome with the beach at the front door. The resort itself is very tired, our air conditioner wasn't working properly and the fridge froze everything. The service is mediocre and the food was above average. The location to town is good, being only 10 min on our rented scooter. I would look at other resorts before choosing this one again. The stay wasn't entirely unpleasant although the place needs much work done on it.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ned2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Kia Orana “Ned2011”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in July 2013.

We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations – you can see that many of our recent reviews have reflected quite the opposite.

However, we do realize that each guest has very different expectations and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to your comments.

We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed the beachfront location the Resort offers – on the stunning Aroa Beach with the traditional Aroa marine reserve almost on your doorstep.

We apologise that you experienced issues with your air conditioning system and the mini bar fridge. In order for our air conditioning units to operate effectively, guests are asked to keep all doors and windows closed. This will avoid the units from icing up and not cooling. Our mini bar fridges are also limited in terms of storage capacity. They are able to chill a small number of items and if overfilled can result in poor performance.

We are concerned that your dining experiences with us did not meet your expectations. We appreciate that there are several beautiful dining options available on the island of Rarotonga and we have had several guests thoroughly enjoy their experiences at The Rarotongan and our adults only boutique sister resort, Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach.

The Rarotongan offers a variety of dining experiences with an extensive selection of a la carte dining and buffet dinner shows. The Resort restaurants are open daily 7am to 9pm.

Sampling the delights of the tropics is a must during any holiday in the South Pacific. Whether it is fresh seafood, tropical fruits or deliciously prepared traditional dishes, guests of The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa can try a wide array of exciting cuisine. You can select to eat or drink in a variety of locations to match your mood.

The expansive veranda overlooking Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love) is perfect for a sunset cocktail or dinner under the stars.

The TE VAKA Restaurant, right on Aroa Lagoon, plays host to our tropical breakfast buffet and buffet dinner shows as;

• The electrifying ‘Legends of Polynesia’ Island Nights and underground oven Umu Feast with succulent chicken, pork, lamb and other island favourites
• The amazing Tamariki Rarotonga Fire Dancers and Island BBQ

Captain Andy’s Beach Bar & Grill is just right for a café latte, flat white or drink anytime, for a casual lunch, snack or light meal, and for a relaxed a la carte dinner overlooking the pool. At least once during your stay, try our famous Seafood Platter for two. Captain Andy’s is open daily from 11am till late, with our daily Cocktail Happy Hour from 5pm to 6pm.

Our sister Resort, Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, is an adult’s only boutique resort with two restaurants available to adult guests of The Rarotongan;

• Bluewater Grill featuring a wide range of fresh game fish and seafood as well as traditional favourites; and
• Ginger Garden featuring the international favourites from the cuisines of Asia including Teppanyaki, Wok, Steamboat and Mongolian BBQ

We are disappointed that you weren’t able to join several former guests who have thoroughly enjoyed their dining experiences with us.

In summary, we are concerned that you were not satisfied with your holiday and I would like to again take the opportunity remind guests that we have Duty Manager’s rostered 7 days a week between the hours of 7am and midnight to assist guests with resolving any concerns they may have. It is beneficial to bring any issues to our attention immediately as more often than not, these issues can be quickly be resolved to allow you continue with your tropical island holiday as intended.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My Wife and I selected this resort on recommendation of our Travel Agent, when we arrived our travel agent had not booked any transfers, our room was really nice, but we found several things not so good, in general the resort is run down and in need of repairs, We got the chefs special that cost us $28 each it was very small and dried out over cooked and yuck. the food is very expensive, $18 for a burger that is a pre purchased paddy that tastes disgusting, considering the roadhouse down the road could make one for $5 that tasted amazing its a joke, I also paid for internet that dropped out and no refunds, when you tell management about problems they say they are sorry but really it seems like they don't care, Cook Islands is lovely just the resort was average, worst of all when we had do not disturb up they went in out room and made it up anyway.

Room Tip: book at the pacific resort give this one a big miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Kia Orana “Graeme G”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations

We are delighted that you enjoyed your accommodation at The Rarotongan. In regards to your accommodation, The Rarotongan offers a wide range of accommodation options to suit most guests from business guests traveling alone, to couples or even large family groups.

Did you know that guests are welcome to attend our daily 2pm Site Inspection with a member of our Front Office staff? As part of this Site Inspection, guests are able to view alternative accommodation options available at our Resorts during their stay and can opt to upgrade from their existing room categories at fantastic special upgrade prices.

We are disappointed that you weren’t able to join several former guests who have thoroughly enjoyed their dining experiences with us. Your feedback has been relayed to our Food & Beverage Manager and Head Chef who are respectively addressing the points you have raised.

We do appreciate the feedback you have provided us and it is important to us in order to improve the standard of service we deliver.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aroa Beach hotels

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We recently visited and found it extremely disappointing. The staff were pleasant but the service was poor. The manager was rude and unhelpful. When we discussed an issue we had she became confrontational and offered no solution. In the past web had stayed at the Edgewater but thought that maybe because we were paying a considerable amount more the service would have been better but definitely not. Never again and I would not recommend it to anyone. What a shame!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Kia Orana “bobbie d”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations, however we do realize that each guest has very different expectations and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to your comments.

We do apologise for the issues you have raised and I would like to remind guests that we have Duty Manager’s rostered 7 days a week between the hours of 7am and midnight to assist guests with resolving any concerns they may have.

It is beneficial to bring any issues to our attention immediately as more often than not, these issues can be quickly be resolved to allow you continue with your tropical island holiday as intended.

Thank you once again for choosing The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your holiday destination.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I just stayed here for 11 nights and I am by far that guy to complain. I have two issues unresolved and after attending the managers cocktails here they say they want no one going home unhappy. Well my Internet I bought on the first night worked to two minutes then could not log back on I reported it and was given another one which has same issues. i called reception they were going to get IT to look at it. I went and seen them another 3 times still no answer. I went and seen maryanne duty manager still no answers why do they ask you to go a d talk to them and still don't fix it. Also my second last night we booked a prigressuve dinner and was told 530 pick up. We waited till 630 when asked at reception it was oh yeah they called and cancelled but forgot to tell us. I asked the duty manager about this as well still waiting on my answer. The place is run down and under staffed wait at the bar 20 minutes for drinks not good. Staff have a day off and get called to come to work then they have the Attitude I am going back to raro in the future but this place needs to lift its game. No customer service skills with duty managers.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Kia Orana “Adrian F”

We appreciate the opportunity to respond to your feedback in regards to your stay at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in June 2013.

We apologise that your experience with us did not meet your expectations and that you were disappointed with the lack of response from our staff to the concerns you brought to our attention.

We have identified the cause for the issue with your internet use and this has been resolved with our internet service provider.

We also apologise that the message regarding the cancellation of the Progressive Dinner service was not passed on to you at the time we were notified and have addressed this issue with our Front Office staff.

We appreciate the feedback you have raised in regards to the service you experienced in our Restaurants and Bars and apologise for the inconvenience you have raised in this regard. Our Food & Beverage Manager is actively working with his team to address the issues you have raised and avoid issues such as these in future.

Thank you for your feedback.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Aroa, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an iconic South Pacific resort, the Cook Islands' signature resort. Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aro'a Lagoon Marine Reserve (the resort's guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). This all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking (both free!). For couples in love, there's a Personal Wedding Planner to create your dream tropical sunset beach wedding, right beside Aro'a Lagoon, the Lagoon of Love, set on the island's stunning southwest which enjoys both all-day sun and sizzling tropical sunsets. Experience all that's authentic about Rarotonga right in your absolute beachfront, full-service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing