We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent scenery, friendly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We came to the Cook Islands for our wedding and honeymoon, and stayed for 8 days. From the moment we arrived our wedding planners Laisa and Adele could not have been more helpful, friendly and supportive. All parts of the wedding and reception were well planned. We would highly recommend CICC for a beautiful church wedding too.
The resort location is planned for more seclusion and privacy - with amazing snorkelling at your front door. The waiter/waitresses were always pleased to offer help and were friendly.
We would also highly recommend honeymooners staying in the Honeymoon bungalow.
Small complaints would be the relatively poor breakfast supplied. However the meals and drinks on offer at the restaurant were very good.
Overall it was an excellent experience.
Gillian and Andrew Talbot, Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewTal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Kia Orana AndrewTal,

Thank you for your wonderful review in regards to your recent wedding day celebration with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

Congratulations once again from the team here at The Rarotongan!

Laisa, Adele and the team at the resort are thrilled that your wedding day was everything that you wished it to be :-)

Rarotonga, the heart of the South Pacific and one of the most romantic places on Earth, is the pick of the bouquet for many couples from all four corners of the globe looking for a special place to exchange their vows. A magnificent island of high mountains clothed in lush green rainforest and encircled by white sandy beaches and a beautiful blue lagoon, Rarotonga is truly one of the last remaining paradises on Earth. There are a number of different spots on the island where a couple could choose to tie the knot, but it would be hard to go past the long white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (Lagoon of Love), on Rarotonga's sunshine southwest coast. Swaying palm trees, turquoise sea lapping the pale sandy shore, the setting sun turning the whole scene golden as another day at the edge of time draws to a close. This is the idyllic South Seas wedding location of your dreams. And it's not just the romance which draws couples, but also the practical advantages of having a very affordable no-fuss wedding combined all-in-one with a South Pacific honeymoon!

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your next tropical island escape – perhaps your first wedding anniversary ;-)

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
There are newer reviews for The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our room was not cleaned all week. Our linen was changed 5 of 7 days. NO replacement of coffee, toiletries etc. On 2 occasions our room was still to be serviced at 5pm. Grounds maintenance was non-existent. The same litter was visible Saturday to Thursday. General cleanliness & care of facilities did not match price. Management was indifferent to complaints & the hotel was grossly understaffed with some staff working 16 hour days. Bar & food service was shocking.... 15 - 20 minute wait for a drink not rare & 45 minutes for toasted sandwich for lunch. The menu was also misleading with dishes arriving not as described.
This was once a lovely facility but has shown huge decline in just 3 years. My advice... visit the beach (public access right next door... but stay away from The Rarotongan. Also be aware, The Sanctuary shares the same menu, kitchen & staff. Certainly not worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayandVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Kia Orana “RayandVic”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We apologise that you experienced aspects during your stay in regards to housekeeping and the presentation of the grounds.

We also apologize that you experienced delays with service while dining in the restaurants – our Restaurant & Bar Manager is actively working with his team of staff to address the concerns you have addressed.

I have reviewed your concerns above for the month of June however our reports to do not indicate any concerns matching yours having been reported to our Duty Manager.

I would like to again take the opportunity remind guests that we have Duty Manager’s rostered 7 days a week between the hours of 7am and midnight to assist guests with resolving any concerns they may have. It is beneficial to bring any issues to our attention immediately as more often than not, these issues can be quickly be resolved to allow you continue with your tropical island holiday as intended.

Thank you once again for choosing The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your holiday destination.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staff are nice,but the rooms are a bit dated and could do with an update, the place is a bit tired all in all. But on a positive note the beach is good and does not get to much wind, for a mid range property it's ok, meals were ok, pizza's for lunch were pretty good

Room Tip: We had a room on the beach which was nice
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendonford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Kia Orana “Brendonford”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are disappointed that you did not feel The Rarotongan met your expectations – you can see that many of our recent reviews have reflected quite the opposite.

However, we do realize that each guest has very different expectations and we appreciate the opportunity to respond to your comments.

Firstly, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the location of The Rarotongan which is set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love). It is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort. It’s also pleasing to read that you were happy with the competitively priced products and services available at the Resorts during your stay.

In regards to your accommodation, The Rarotongan offers a wide range of accommodation options to suit most guests from business guests traveling alone, to couples or even large family groups. It appears that you stayed in a Garden Room which is our lead in room category. I am confident that given the chance to view the numerous accommodation options available at either The Rarotongan or Sanctuary Rarotonga, you would have found something that suited your needs better.

Guests are welcome to attend a daily 2pm Site Inspection with a member of our Front Office staff. As part of this Site Inspection, guests are able to view alternative accommodation options available at our Resorts during their stay and can opt to upgrade from their existing room categories at fantastic special upgrade prices.

Additionally, our Resorts have a comprehensive and regular maintenance and refurbishment program in place that focuses in particular on building upgrades and renovations.

In summary, I would like to again take the opportunity remind guests that we have Duty Manager’s rostered 7 days a week between the hours of 7am and midnight to assist guests with resolving any concerns they may have. It is beneficial to bring any issues to our attention immediately as more often than not, these issues can be quickly be resolved to allow you continue with your tropical island holiday as intended.

Thank you once again for choosing The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your holiday destination.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed at this Resort for 12days in a 2 bedroom Villa, as our son and his wife were with us.
The Villa served our needs, but was old fashioned and tired. A tiny cane couch and a couple
of chairs.. equally as uncomfortable ... did not make for relaxing with a book on them.!
The "bathroom" or "cupboard as it almost was, ... abysmal for 4 people. The worst we have
struck at a Resort. Cooking facilites and kitchen were adequate, once we got a decent frying
pan. We were given a free "continental style breakfast" in the dining area each morning,
which was ok.
Restaurant meals were average, so we either cooked or went out to other Restaurants.
Sevice was a bit slack, although some Staff tried their best.
The Activities Hut and Games area... oh dear.! Pool table worn out, as was the table tennis
tables. The Staff at the Activites Hut though were "GREAT" and the Activities they offered
were fun and informative... really enjoyed some of those.
This Resort has the the Best Beach and snorkling... canoes, paddle boards etc...
COME ON ... whoever owns it and put some work into the Resort.
We have stayed here before in 1999 and it was great !
This is our 4th trip to Rarotonga, and having stayed at other places, I think this Resort can do
better for the COST iinvolved for what we got !

We did enjoy having access to "the Sanctuary side" of this resort.. when you need a bit
of quiet time.

Room Tip: We were in Block 100.. a bit close to Activities if you dont like noise. but we found it ok.. Set...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TAUPOKIWIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Kia Orana “TAUPOKIWIS”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are disappointed that our Two Bedroom Beachside Suite did not meet your expectations.

In regards to your accommodation, The Rarotongan offers a wide range of accommodation options to suit most guests from business guests traveling alone, to couples or even large family groups. I am confident that given the chance to view the numerous accommodation options available at either The Rarotongan or Sanctuary Rarotonga, you would have found something that suited your needs better.

Guests are welcome to attend a daily 2pm Site Inspection with a member of our Front Office staff. As part of this Site Inspection, guests are able to view alternative accommodation options available at our Resorts during their stay and can opt to upgrade from their existing room categories at fantastic special upgrade prices.

Additionally, our Resorts have a comprehensive and regular maintenance and refurbishment program in place that focuses in particular on building upgrades and renovations. This also has recently included the repair of our pool table and our new table tennis tables are expected to arrive shortly.

However, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the location of The Rarotongan which is set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love). It is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort. It’s also pleasing to read that you were happy with the competitively priced products and services available at the Resorts during your stay.

In terms of our daily tropical breakfasts, these include of a variety of seasonal island fruits, homemade yoghurt, fresh-baked muffins, Danish pastries, croissants, toast, spreads, tropical juices, tea & coffee from 7am to 10am daily. Guests can also select from a variety of cooked and light breakfast options from the Breakfast Menu.

In summary, I would like to again take the opportunity remind guests that we have Duty Manager’s rostered 7 days a week between the hours of 7am and midnight to assist guests with resolving any concerns they may have. It is beneficial to bring any issues to our attention immediately as more often than not, these issues can be quickly be resolved to allow you continue with your tropical island holiday as intended.

Thank you once again for choosing The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your holiday destination.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We did not stay here but had a couple of meals which were hit an miss. Lunches were very average and the staff very bored. Took a long time to be served. Yes, cook island time is great but when you are greeted with a very sullen looking waitress and bar staff it seems a lot longer. Wouldn't stay there and would only eat there if it was conveniently located.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank delphi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Kia Orana “delphi1”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are disappointed that your dining experience did not meet your expectations.

Your comments have been reviewed by our Food & Beverage Manager and his team of staff who are actively working on addressing the areas for improvement you have identified.

In summary, I would like to again take the opportunity remind guests that we have Duty Manager’s rostered 7 days a week between the hours of 7am and midnight to assist guests with resolving any concerns they may have. It is beneficial to bring any issues to our attention immediately as more often than not, these issues can be quickly be resolved to allow you continue with your tropical island holiday as intended.

Thank you once again for choosing The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your holiday destination.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

It's a big resort, and reasonably busy, but we found it pretty good. The staff were friendly, lots of things on offer to do, and all in all worthwhile. You can step next door to the Sanctuary where we had dinner, which was superb. Sadly we needed to come back home early, but I'd go back. We had a garden room which was okay, obviously beachfront is better, but you do pay more. I thought it was good value, and the snorkeling, while not as exciting as Vanuatu, was a delight as the fish get so close. They eat bread out of your hand, but watch for snapper whose super sharp jaws won't mind if your fingertips go with the bread! Nah, it was fine, but do be a bit careful.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Monique Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Kia Orana “Monique Z”

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

Firstly, we are thrilled that you enjoyed the location of The Rarotongan which is set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love). It is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort. It’s also pleasing to read that you were happy with the competitively priced products and services available at the Resorts during your stay.

In regards to your accommodation, The Rarotongan offers a wide range of accommodation options to suit most guests from business guests traveling alone, to couples or even large family groups. It appears that you stayed in a Garden Room which is our lead in room category. I am confident that given the chance to view the numerous accommodation options available at either The Rarotongan or Sanctuary Rarotonga, you would have found something that suited your needs better.

Guests are welcome to attend a daily 2pm Site Inspection with a member of our Front Office staff. As part of this Site Inspection, guests are able to view alternative accommodation options available at our Resorts during their stay and can opt to upgrade from their existing room categories at fantastic special upgrade prices.

Additionally, our Resorts have a comprehensive and regular maintenance and refurbishment program in place that focuses in particular on building upgrades and renovations.

Thank you once again for choosing The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your holiday destination.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We went to the Rarotongan for our wedding in June and had an amazing time there. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and our wedding was perfect. Our room was lovely and serviced daily to a very high standard. The wedding food was beautiful, especially the white chocolate mousse, and the waiting staff were outstanding, attentive and friendly. The spa treatments were good too and my bridal party and I were very happy with our hair and make up. A massive thank you to Laisa and Sane and Adele for all their help before and during the trip. I would highly recommend this resort for a relaxing family holiday and definitely for weddings. Beautiful beach and great snorkeling.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SiouxsieLocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Kia Orana SiouxsieLocke,

Thank you for your wonderful review in regards to your recent wedding day celebration with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

Congratulations once again from the team here at The Rarotongan!

Laisa, Adele, Sane and the team at the resort are thrilled that your wedding day was everything that you wished it to be :-)

Rarotonga, the heart of the South Pacific and one of the most romantic places on Earth, is the pick of the bouquet for many couples from all four corners of the globe looking for a special place to exchange their vows. A magnificent island of high mountains clothed in lush green rainforest and encircled by white sandy beaches and a beautiful blue lagoon, Rarotonga is truly one of the last remaining paradises on Earth. There are a number of different spots on the island where a couple could choose to tie the knot, but it would be hard to go past the long white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (Lagoon of Love), on Rarotonga's sunshine southwest coast. Swaying palm trees, turquoise sea lapping the pale sandy shore, the setting sun turning the whole scene golden as another day at the edge of time draws to a close. This is the idyllic South Seas wedding location of your dreams. And it's not just the romance which draws couples, but also the practical advantages of having a very affordable no-fuss wedding combined all-in-one with a South Pacific honeymoon!

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa for your next tropical island escape – perhaps your first wedding anniversary.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.6 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.7 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
557 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range: $144 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve and enjoy Rarotonga’s best snorkeling (the resort’s guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). The all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking, included as part of The Rarotongan’s extensive FREE Daily Activities Programme. The Rarotongan is located directly on Rarotonga’s best white sandy beach, Aroa Beach, on the island’s sunshine southwest coast. The Rarotongan is also Rarotonga’s most family-friendly resort and offers FREE Moko’s Kids Club, Little Dolphin’s Mini Waterpark and Teen Zone. Kids & Teens Stay & Play FREE (aged to 16 years)! Kids aged 4-11 years Play Free @ Moko’s Kids Club, and teens aged 12-16 years Play Free in Teen Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing