We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Reviewed March 1, 2013

excellent place to stay. everyone was very helpful and friendly. we had a group of 24 for our wedding and everyone was very happy with it. didnt have to plan anything for the wedding. was all done for us. so much to do and see. will definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Kia Orana “Ashley M”

Thank you for your review in regards to you special wedding stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in February 2013.

Congratulations on your recent wedding!

We are thrilled that your dream tropical wedding with us met all your expectations including the location, services and facilities.

Our Wedding Planners, Adele and Laisa are both extremely pleased that they were able to assist you with delivering the perfect wedding day.

Rarotonga, the heart of the South Pacific and one of the most romantic places on Earth, is the pick of the bouquet for many couples from all four corners of the globe looking for a special place to exchange their vows. A magnificent island of high mountains clothed in lush green rainforest and encircled by white sandy beaches and a beautiful blue lagoon, Rarotonga is truly one of the last remaining paradises on Earth. There are a number of different spots on the island where a couple could choose to tie the knot, but it would be hard to go past the long white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (Lagoon of Love), on Rarotonga's sunshine southwest coast. Swaying palm trees, turquoise sea lapping the pale sandy shore, the setting sun turning the whole scene golden as another day at the edge of time draws to a close. This is the idyllic South Seas wedding location of your dreams. And it's not just the romance which draws couples, but also the practical advantages of having a very affordable no-fuss wedding combined all-in-one with a South Pacific honeymoon!

Thank you once again for your kind feedback – we would love to be able to welcome you back to The Rarotongan (maybe your first wedding anniversary) ;-)

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
There are newer reviews for The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

628 - 634 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the resort for a week in February and thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our time there. Our deluxe beachside suite was clean, spacious, quiet and ideally located to the beach and hotel amenities. The resort was well maintained projecting a South Pacific feel. The staff were welcoming and very friendly and gave us excellent service all week. There were plenty of lounge chairs on the beach which was never crowded. Snorkelling and kayaking equipment was provided at no extra charge. Maybe this was a good time to visit as it was not peak tourist season for families with children. The buffet breakfast was adequate and we particularly enjoyed outdoor dinners watching the beautiful sunsets. Food prices at the resort were no more than we experienced in New Zealand. In summary a great place to relax and chill out.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Well we don't even know where to start!!!! What a fab resort this is. After years of working as a travel professional I can't recommend this resort enough.

This was our wedding and honeymoon-our family and friends also stayed here.

The staff are so friendly and welcoming, and we were so sad to leave. They just made our experience that much better. Due to the funny flight times (thanks air NZ.....not) we were meant to move to a Garden Room for the day of departure-but they staff told us to stay put in our room (Grand Beach Front Suite) for no extra charge!!!

The wedding planners Laisa and Adelle-these ladies are just fab and really make your special day special-they are amazing! If you want to get married in the Cook Islands, The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa is the place to do it.

We stayed in the Grand Beach Front suite- and that is exactly what it is. Less than 10 steps to the water, a huge bed, outdoor shower, great bathroom, kitchen and a private roof top deck. Now I saw some reviews saying that the resort was "run down" and "tired" but I have to say we didn't see evidence of that anywhere-even in the other rooms out wedding guests were staying at.This is an Island resort-not a sterile/boring cbd hotel where once you check in the staff don't want to know you-if you are wanting that kind of "experience" then Rarotonga or any other South Pacific Island is not for you.

The food was incredible at ALL the restaurants (as were the cocktails) and the food we had at our wedding reception was some of the best we and our guests have ever tasted. Be aware that due to Rarotonga being an Island they rely on monthly supplies via ships to come in so yeah on occasion they may run of something-but you can't blame or post a bad review for that-and trust me there are so many meals and drinks to choose from.

Spa Polynesia-heaven, enough said.

We cannot wait to come back here. This is a 5 star resort, you will not be disapointed. The location is great, the rooms are cleaned properly each day (apart from Sunday-but they will clean if you ask), the free activities are great, the staff so much fun. When you go to Rarotonga next-you should stay here

Room Tip: beach front all the way
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Everton85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We were here in July 12 for 10 days. The Rarotongan is great for families and we had a lovely time. The place is abit tired, and the staff are often on 'island time' but that's what going to the islands is all about isn't it...a chilled out relaxed holiday. Staff were all lovely and helpful. Breakfast was yummy and plenty of it. Would love to see a little general maintenance undertaken i.e a lick of paint, the games room machines & tv working and the ice makers working but otherwise a great family vacay. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We just got back from Raro as we went there for our wedding along with 21 of our guests who were also staying in the Rarotongan. We were all extremely happy with everything to do with the resort. All of the staff were so friendly and helpful and not one of our guests had any complaints about the accommodation or the property. We found everything clean and in working order. Rooms were serviced each morning for us and they left a card so we knew which staff member had been in there. The only issue that any of us really had was the speed of service in the restaurants (including the Sanctuary Resort next door), it was very slow so that is really the only thing they could improve on. But at least you know it is being cooked fresh and you are on holiday so you dont really mind waiting too much. Beautiful quiet resort, friendly and helpful staff, the beach is amazing and you can always find a lounger to lie on, love all of the activities and the newsletter each day and the free hireage of towels and snorkels. Accommodation and meals were on the pricey side but I think we would stay here again for sure. There is so many things available there, even some gift shopping, that you dont even feel like you need to leave (but do hire a scooter as it is fun to get out and about too)

Room Tip: Beachside rooms - you cant see the beach but you can hear it. And walk out either door and the beach...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NATandSHANE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I just got married at the Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa and it was nothing less than magical!! The resort staff were EXTREMELY helpful and so nice. We cannot thank Adele and Laisa enough for being amazingly supportive and for helping things run smoothly on the day :)
I read some of the other reviews on trip advisor before we went over and it made me a little worried. However our room was clean and fabulous. The attendant who serviced our room everyday did a great job. They fixed our air con unit in our room which we didn't even have to inform reception - it was leaking a little bit - I assume the room attendant told maintenance and it was fixed on the day. Some people have mentioned the "tired" decor. I think they are confusing island styled decor which to some people may look a little 70's I suppose. I loved it, the shells on the roof, gorgeous island print tablecloths. The tropical breakfasts were awesome - just what you need before heading out snorkelling or just lying around the pool.

This is a resort that is not supposed to be a sterile type hotel but a warm, friendly, comfortable place that you can laze about and feel like you truly belong and could stay there forever! We left Rarotonga just over 2 weeks ago and I miss it already. We will definitely be back to check on our Coconut tree and see the warm, friendly faces again. Thank you to everyone at the Rarotongan who made our special day especially fabulous XOX

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayJennyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My partner and I have just spent 7 nights at the Rarotongan. First time in Raro and definately not the last. The resort is in need of a some TLC, but it was still comfortable. You don't go on holiday in Raro to stay in your room. The resort offers so much to do, snorkeling, kayaking, fish feeding. The beach is awesome.
The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helliewellie-66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.6 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.7 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
557 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
0.9 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Aroa, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range: $145 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aroa Lagoon Marine Reserve and enjoy Rarotonga’s best snorkeling (the resort’s guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). The all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking, included as part of The Rarotongan’s extensive FREE Daily Activities Programme. The Rarotongan is located directly on Rarotonga’s best white sandy beach, Aroa Beach, on the island’s sunshine southwest coast. The Rarotongan is also Rarotonga’s most family-friendly resort and offers FREE Moko’s Kids Club, Little Dolphin’s Mini Waterpark and Teen Zone. Kids & Teens Stay & Play FREE (aged to 16 years)! Kids aged 4-11 years Play Free @ Moko’s Kids Club, and teens aged 12-16 years Play Free in Teen Zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing