We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our tropical island dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our tropical island dream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in October 2012 for 6 nights in a garden room and found it excellent . Great location, terrific facilities and friendly staff. The food was excellent and breakfast on the deck always a joy. Amazing beach and lagoon. We are looking forward to going back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuchaelO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    310
    205
    132
    145
See reviews for
482
353
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
waverley, new zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

just had the best holiday ever at the raro, staff very freindly and eager to please. Great service and the meals were excellent. Can't wait to get back there,made lots of new freinds, and really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just returned from 6 days in Rarotonga with our 2 kids for their first overseas trip. All i can say is, bad service, bad food, bad staff, bad accomodation, bad choice!
The first night we ordered 4 meals, only 2 came out, 30 minutes passes and no one comes to check on us, after i complained they said that the order had not been placed and was not on their system! The menu was boring deep fried crap that you can buy at home for half the price, no Island Flavours here, no imagination, no variety.
The staff need a good kick up the jacksy for having no people skills, no idea on service, and no communication skills. If it takes 40 minutes to make one toasted sandwich and then have it delivered to someone else so you have to wait even longer, is that good? To not have dishes removed from your room and front door for 3 days, even though room service comes in every day to change sheets and clean is really poor! The facilities are run down and shabby, and the staff would rather make you wait for an hour till a rental car rep turns up to hire you a car or scooter, than tell you another rental firm is one minutes walk down the road! We will never again go to this resort, it was very bad from start to finish. The owner needs a slap across the face to wake up and train his staff to smile, upsell, and serve their guests. The one saving grace was the Kids Club, as this gave me and my wife some sanity and the ability to go elsewhere to eat and explore the island. See ya later Rarotongan, we won't be back!

Room Tip: Rooms are run down, full of cockroaches, and need attention or an overhaul!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rowena O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aroa Beach hotels

Chester Springs, PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We were at the Rarotongan for I think our 8th or ninth trip in Feb of '11. We make it to the Cooks every other year from the US east coast. What can I say? We keep going back. We love the rooms, the location, the staff. It's a wonderful experience. I hope to head back again this January, If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton Oahu this is not it. If you are looking for a charming, friendly laid-back resort on a fabulous Island with the world's nicest people- book now!

Room Tip: The nicest people on Earth
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtcspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just returned from a 9 night stay and loved every minute. This resort is located on the most beautiful beach on the island. We were upgraded to a deluxe beachside suite in the 200 block which was excellent and very close to the water. If you can afford to, stay on the beach not in the garden rooms. I must say that the location of the garden rooms looked a bit depressing. The service was fine and staff always had a smile. A few people mention slow service, all I say is, When you go Rarotonga, chill out in Raro time and enjoy the pace. The tropical/continental breakfasts were better than average, always fresh with ample choice. I recommend this resort for families, Kids definately have a great time here. OK yes there are a few things to improve on such as garden maintenance and a more regular pool vacumn/clean. Apart from that, everything was great.

Room Tip: Deluxe Beachside suite in the 200 block. They are closer to the water and further from the restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

My sister and I have just returned from 8 lovely days at The Rarotongan Resort and Spa. We were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade from the Sancturary to a grand beachfront suite. This is the third time I have stayed at this resort and yes, it does need some updating but our room was kept clean and tidy. We hired a car from across the road and did eat out a few times although we ate most of our evening meals at the resort and had several fun nights with trivia, karaoke and crab racing. We ate breakfast around 7.30 a.m. most mornings and only once did they run out of my favourite coconut bread but this was replenished before we had finished. We found the staff very friendly and willing to help. Will be returning for fourth visit in near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SherylC333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We too have just returned from a holiday at this place. We are people who don't normally complain and just don't go back to places we find are bad. But!! this place was bad! The floor in one of the restaurants hadn't been cleaned for ages. The dirt under the mats - which were a trip hazard was incredible. The food was very expensive compared to other resorts or restaurants. The beach was dirty and was only cleaned once a month when church people get paid to come in and rake the beach. We noted that on the 3rd day that all of a sudden we had a large variety of jams etc appear at breakfast instead of just honey and raspberry jam. Then we discovered that a South Pacific Forum was due to start that day! No floors swept thn ugh! This place is run down and the owner needs to get his act together. I believe he lives in Auckland so maybe he should go over more often and check up on his investment and inject some money into the place so more staff can be employed to bring the place up to an acceptable standard. This place has so much potential and it is sad to see it being so run down.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pamela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Aroa, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an iconic South Pacific resort, the Cook Islands' signature resort. Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aro'a Lagoon Marine Reserve (the resort's guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). This all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking (both free!). For couples in love, there's a Personal Wedding Planner to create your dream tropical sunset beach wedding, right beside Aro'a Lagoon, the Lagoon of Love, set on the island's stunning southwest which enjoys both all-day sun and sizzling tropical sunsets. Experience all that's authentic about Rarotonga right in your absolute beachfront, full-service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing