We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at this lovely beach front resort during our recent honeymoon.
The room was a garden view- big soft king bed, very quiet. We had an outlook over palm trees.
The shower was big enough for two, and although the bathroom was basic, it was very nice.
The resort had a large beach front restaurant with a deck that you can feed the fishes from..
The resort breakfast, continental, was great. Fresh fruit, croissant, muffins, rolls, toast, cereal,
jams, etc, and this was a buffet- help yourself...
There is a central pool- great for the kids, and about twenty feet away is a lovely lagoon. The water is quite shallow, and the visibility is stunning. The island is surrounded by a coral reef, making a protected marine environment- and the fish varieties are some of the best I have ever seen, including octopus, and moray eel.
The staff are wonderful, very friendly, very helpful- nothing was too much trouble. The layout of the resort was very easy to get around- the main bar- the Tangaroa, was next to the pool, and Captain Andy's Bar and Grill served beautiful, plentiful meals. The hibiscus hut- where the lovely Leelany works, makes the best coffee's, and easy take away sandwiches for lunch. Come sundown the Happy hour at the bar is great- cheap delicious cocktails- the island girl is big enough for 4 people. The passionfruit mojito was my fav, ask for Akbar at the bar- he makes the best cocktails, and has a wonderful sense of humour.
Get to the activities hut for all your fun- the orientation tour will give you a good sense of where everything is- check the board there daily for all you fun things to do. From ukalaly lessons to table tennis, hat weaving and night snorkling- they have the lot. It is truly a complete holiday- you don't have to leave the resort- it is all there for you..
But take the clockwise bus, go for a trip around the island- and don't miss the saturday morning market downtown- great for those take home gifts..
It was very luscious and green, a true tropical paradise.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are mor quiet and private, beach suites are open to the beach- but don't have the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 25Tracey25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Kia Orana 25Tracey25,

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

Congratulations on your recent wedding celebration!

We are delighted that you found your Garden Room comfortable for your romantic honeymoon escape in Rarotonga.

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa is indeed perfectly located overlooking the beautiful Aroa Lagoon Traditional Marine Reserve “raui”. And as you have experienced yourselves, guests take great pleasure in being able to feed and abundant variety of fish straight from the TE VAKA Restaurant Deck throughout the day.

We are also very happy to hear that you found our staff a pleasure to deal with during your stay. Leilani and Akbar are both thrilled that they were able to be of assistance to you both.

It’s also great to see that you were able to take advantage of the services offered by our Activities staff. Our Activities team are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in the near future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    304
    202
    132
    143
See reviews for
474
351
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Hotel is well laid out on nice private beach, but thats about it. The staff look like there just waiting to knock off. Stood at the bar one night and the guy next to me commented "you couldn't get drunk at this place! ". one barmen who wouldn't even talk never mind serve you ! At the restaurant - got our own menus, cleared our own table, got our own drinks - eventually!, had to ask to place an order. Food wasnt to bad, but avoid the buffet - rip off as they ran out of food very quickly which is about all they did do quickly! Rooms were ok though very dark and serviced when they got round to it and then it was rough. Many of the daily activities advertised rarely happened. Kids club only for under 11's - nothing for any one older. Everyone we talked to shared the same comments.
hey, we had a great time and would definately go back to raro - but would go self catering!
Oh - also the bar was well over priced - $10 for a corona! only $5 in other restaurants, which there are plenty of and have far better service - mostly.

Room Tip: Choose one at another hotel or better still - get a beach side unit somewhere else. the Rarotongan i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Kia Orana “andy d”

Thank you for your review in regards to your stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa in July 2012.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the location of The Rarotongan which is set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love). It is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort.

It is disappointing however to read that you were unhappy with your dining aspect of your stay and appreciate the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

We are concerned that you found the Food & Beverage service unsatisfactory during your stay. Your comments and feedback have been investigated and reviewed comprehensively with our Food & Beverage Manager who as a result has implemented several changes and improvements to our Food & Beverage operational procedures.

In terms of dining options available, our sister resorts The Rarotonga and Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach have several options available to our guests including TE VAKA Restaurant, right on Aroa Lagoon, plays host to our tropical breakfast buffet and buffet dinner shows as;

• The electrifying ‘Legends of Polynesia’ Island Nights and underground oven Umu Feast with succulent chicken, pork, lamb and other island favourites
• The amazing Tamariki Rarotonga Fire Dancers and Island BBQ

Captain Andy’s Beach Bar & Grill is just right for a café latte, flat white or drink anytime, for a casual lunch, snack or light meal, and for a relaxed a la carte dinner overlooking the pool. At least once during your stay, try our famous Seafood Platter for two. Captain Andy’s is open daily from 11am till late, with our daily Cocktail Happy Hour from 5pm to 6pm.

An extensive Kids Menu is available at Captain Andy’s Beach Bar & Grill offering kids favourites as well as healthy options too! Family Dine Time - Bring the kids down for dinner between 5pm and 6pm and get a free ice cream for the kids!

For the truly romantic a Private Candlelit Dinner with personal waiter in our beach or garden gazebos is a “must do bucket list” experience.

The Hibiscus Hut, open from 10am to 4pm, offers a selection of snacks, ice cream, refreshing beverages, coffees, freshly made sandwiches, salads, fruits etc. in a casual café setting by the pool.

Our sister Resort, Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, is an adult’s only boutique resort with two restaurants available to adult guests of The Rarotongan;

• Bluewater Grill featuring a wide range of fresh game fish and seafood as well as traditional favourites; and
• Ginger Garden featuring the international favourites from the cuisines of Asia including Teppanyaki, Wok, Steamboat and Mongolian BBQ

We also have an ongoing, comprehensive maintenance schedule as well as a program of upgrades to our guest rooms and public areas. We do encourage guests to report their concerns to our Duty Manager’s who are rostered daily between the hours of 7am and 12midnight.

In regards to activities and entertainment for those older than 11 years – we have a comprehensive daily changing activities program to suit a wide variety of ages.

Our Activities Hut is located poolside and is open daily from 8.30am to 5.30pm. Our activities staff are delighted to assist you with any equipment and information relating to the extensive resort activities programme. The Resort offers a wide range of exciting recreational, sporting and cultural activities, many focused on the lagoon itself which is a marine sanctuary (ra’ui), declared by traditional leaders on 1 March 2000 for the conservation of marine life within the zone. Consequently the all tide snorkelling in Aroa Lagoon, a fish breeding area, is exceptional with an amazing variety of fish and the very best available on Rarotonga.

The activities staff are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

Additionally The Rarotongan Resort & Spa also has a fantastic games lounge which provides great facilities for entertaining all age groups. Features include a big screen TV, pool table, guest library, table tennis and giant chess playing area.

We do appreciate the time you have taken to upload your review however these concerns could have been quickly resolved by contacting our Duty Manager on shift at the time. Alternatively our Resort Manager would have been happy to assist you with resolving any concerns during your stay.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aroa Beach hotels

Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Unfortunately I can only agree with other visitors of resort. Very dated, rooms for money they charge too basic. Our room was never cleaned before 4pm and most days we didn't get a full set of towels. Glasses in room did get a quick rinse out in bathroom and had my lipstick on all week, nice!!They are so focussed on people arriving and departing and getting their rooms ready that other rooms and guests have to suffer. Overall there was a lack of cleanliness in whole resort. I noticed stains in some areas during whole week of our stay. Toilets in common areas looked shocking during day and very smelly. Didn't see once that pool was cleaned, build up of sand was getting worse day by day. Treadmill broke down on day 2 of our visit and never fixed again. Teen area was gaming room with 18 machines but 9 not working!!Staff doesn't seem very organized and I didn't see too many cheerful faces there!! Island pace is ok but if you get the feeling you are a burden for staff, it is not how it should be.
It will fire back eventually and guests will stay away, that's for sure!!
Rarotonga is a great island but will not stay in this resort again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Kia Orana Anette G,

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa offers a wide variety of room types to suit the needs of guests. Starting with our lead-in Garden Rooms to our Villa Onemaru ~ Soothing Sands Villa, guests can find a style of accommodation to suit their needs perfectly.

We apologise for the delay you experienced during your stay in having your room serviced. We are also concerned with your comments regarding the standard of cleaning during your stay and have brought this to the attention of our Executive Housekeeper. Guests are welcome to contact our Front Desk and schedule a regular daily housekeeping service time.

In terms of the cleanliness of the public bathrooms, it is important to note that these areas are cleaned several times daily and this increases when we experience higher guest occupancies.

To avoid guest inconvenience, our staff service and clean pools outside of peak guest use times. The pools are serviced at 6am daily and in addition to this we employ an independent pool specialist to conduct regular checks on the pools and their hygiene standards.

In terms of the gym equipment – we have just received a replacement treadmill. We have ordered parts for our gaming machines in the Teen Zone and these are expected to arrive in the next few days.

We are perplexed with your comments regarding the staff. Many of our guests have complimented the staff as being the highlight of their stays and keep in touch for many years after they have visited.

We do apologise if you felt that you were a burden on the staff as this is certainly not our intent. Had you contacted our Front Desk and asked to speak with the Manager on Duty or the Resort Manager, we would have been more than happy to do all possible to resolve any issues of concern for you at the time of your stay, and are confident this could have been achieved to their satisfaction with a minimum of inconvenience to you.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Garden rooms very dated clean and well maintained but 70's decor.
Island time used to justify poor and slow service. Just builds stress!
Kids club standards have also dropped from our visit a few years ago.
Overall Raro a great place but wont stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazza980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Kia Orana Gazza980,

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

Our Garden Rooms are our lead-in room category and are clean and comfortable for couples or a small family. However, we do have several other room categories to suit a wide variety of accommodation needs including:

• Beachfront Rooms are set directly on the white sand beach. Half of these standard guest rooms are on ground level, the other half are on a second level. All Garden and Beachfront Rooms are available as Interconnecting making them perfect accommodation options for groups and families travelling together :)
• Located beachside on the sands of Aroa Beach, close to the water’s edge (but without a direct sea view), these Deluxe Beachside Suites are light, spacious, modern accommodations with a delightful tropical ambience. All Deluxe Suites are at ground level and feature a whirlpool spa bath and private open-air outdoor shower. The Deluxe Beachside Suites differ from the Deluxe Beachfront Suites in their aspect to the lagoon, with the Beachside Suites being close to the beach but at an angle not affording a direct sea view.
• Deluxe Beachfront Suites enjoy all the same features as the Deluxe Beachside Suites with the added bonus of being located directly on the white sand beach with expansive lagoon views.
• Grand Beachfront Suites – the extra-spacious open-plan interior features terracotta tiles throughout, a super king bed, bathroom with spa bath/shower, private open air shower, full kitchen (with breakfast bar, microwave, stovetop, refrigerator and coffee making facilities), dining and sitting areas (with sound system and LCD TV). The expansive verandah offers excellent indoor-outdoor flow and leads directly onto Aroa Beach. A private upper sundeck features fabulous views.
• The Honeymoon Bungalow features a unique design with a broad wraparound verandah and a high-pitched thatched roof providing a fabulous sense of space and island romance. Nestled in a completely secluded, lush tropical garden, this is your own private paradise, complete with your own private pool and sauna (for this reason the Honeymoon Bungalow is not recommended for children and infants who are not competent swimmers). Featuring elegant polished tropical wooden floors, rattan-lined walls, chocolate-coloured water-hyacinth furniture, LCD TV, privately-commissioned lighting laced with black pearl shell, luminous open-air shower, outdoor ‘starlet’ spa bath on the verandah, and spacious bathroom with rain tree vanity top and over-sized double basins, the Honeymoon Bungalow offers an incredible sense of freedom with spectacular indoor-outdoor flow through four wide openings onto the verandah, and the broad encircling deck means that sun-lovers can follow the sun all day in complete privacy. This wonderfully secluded, romantic bungalow provides easy access to the lagoon via a private gateway tracing a sandy path to the white sand beach and blue lagoon. This is the ultimate honeymoon hide-away.
• Two Bedroom Beachside Suites feature a master bedroom with king bed which opens out onto the verandah, a second bedroom with two single beds, a full kitchen (including microwave, stove top, refrigerator, tea/coffee making facilities), a tiled bathroom with spa bath/shower, separate toilet, and a sitting and dining room which opens out onto a spacious verandah. The sitting room is equipped with satellite TV and DVD, sofa, armchairs, dining table and chairs that can be used for dining inside or al fresco. The Two-Bedroom Beachside Suites also feature two separate individually controlled air conditioning units in the sitting room and hallway.

The Cook Islands are renowned for our wonderfully friendly people and the relaxed pace of life. This is often known colloquially as “Island Time” and tuning into island time is certainly the best way to completely relax and enjoy your holiday on Rarotonga. In saying this slow and poor service is not acceptable within the Resort and we respectfully ask guests to contact one of our Duty Managers on shift between 7am and 12midnight daily to address concerns in this regard.

We are also concerned that you did not feel the service standards satisfactory in our Moko’s Kids Club (for which we receive many positive and glowing compliments from both parents and children for). By contacting our Duty Manager or even the Resort Manager, we would have been happy to resolve and address the service shortfalls you feel you experienced.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We read terrible reviews after we booked our holiday at The Rarotongan - so were anticipating the worst! We stayed in a beachfront room which was dated but clean and well located to the sea.

The staff are not particularly hospitable, if I had a query I felt I inconvenienced them. This feeling was echoed throughout all our customer service we received in Rarotonga, but was really noticeable at the resort. Nobody explained how the kids meal vouchers worked or how to even find our room. I am well aware of 'island time' but there is a point where it does become bad customer service.

The highlight of our stay was certainly the resorts location on the marine reserve, the snorkelling is amazing. The variety of activities offered by the resort are also numerous and can keep you easily occupied throughout the day.

The food itself wasn't as bad as I expected from previous reviews - it all came out hot and within good timeframes (after an initial long wait time to see a waiter). I think the best bet is to go to the restaurant or bar half an hour prior to when you want to dine.The breakfast did become boring for my husband who only ate the croissants, but I loved the fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals.

I think this resort would be great for groups of families/friends with young kids without high expectations of accommodation - there's lots of space and activities to keep everybody busy. Certainly more a 3 than 4 star accommodation.

Room Tip: Choose a beachfront room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishcake27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Kia Orana fishcake27,

Thank you for your review in regards to your recent stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

Your feedback is appreciated and your comments regarding the service you received during your holiday in Rarotonga have been passed on to the staff. Many of guests feel that our staff are the best part of their stay and in fact keep in regular touch with our staff many years after they have visited :)

We are pleased to read that you appreciated that stunning beachfront location of our sister resorts, The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa and our adults’ only boutique resort, Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach set right on the traditional Aroa marine reserve “raui”. As a result, guests of our resorts have access to abundant marine life varieties only a few steps from the shore.

Also Activities Hut is located poolside and is open daily from 8.30am to 5.30pm. The Resort offers a wide range of exciting recreational, sporting and cultural activities, many focused on the lagoon itself which is a marine sanctuary (ra’ui), declared by traditional leaders on 1 March 2000 for the conservation of marine life within the zone. Consequently the all tide snorkelling in Aroa Lagoon, a fish breeding area, is exceptional with an amazing variety of fish and the very best available on Rarotonga.

The activities staff are happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

In terms of dining options available, our sister resorts The Rarotonga and Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach have several options available to our guests including TE VAKA Restaurant, right on Aroa Lagoon, plays host to our tropical breakfast buffet and buffet dinner shows as;

• The electrifying ‘Legends of Polynesia’ Island Nights and underground oven Umu Feast with succulent chicken, pork, lamb and other island favourites
• The amazing Tamariki Rarotonga Fire Dancers and Island BBQ

Captain Andy’s Beach Bar & Grill is just right for a café latte, flat white or drink anytime, for a casual lunch, snack or light meal, and for a relaxed a la carte dinner overlooking the pool. At least once during your stay, try our famous Seafood Platter for two. Captain Andy’s is open daily from 11am till late, with our daily Cocktail Happy Hour from 5pm to 6pm.

An extensive Kids Menu is available at Captain Andy’s Beach Bar & Grill offering kids favourites as well as healthy options too! Family Dine Time - Bring the kids down for dinner between 5pm and 6pm and get a free ice cream for the kids!

For the truly romantic a Private Candlelit Dinner with personal waiter in our beach or garden gazebos is a “must do bucket list” experience.

The Hibiscus Hut, open from 10am to 4pm, offers a selection of snacks, ice cream, refreshing beverages, coffees, freshly made sandwiches, salads, fruits etc. in a casual café setting by the pool.

Our sister Resort, Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, is an adult’s only boutique resort with two restaurants available to adult guests of The Rarotongan;

• Bluewater Grill featuring a wide range of fresh game fish and seafood as well as traditional favourites; and
• Ginger Garden featuring the international favourites from the cuisines of Asia including Teppanyaki, Wok, Steamboat and Mongolian BBQ

Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back to The Rarotongan in future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkworth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed here a few years ago, and have visited since each year for drinks, and lunch, preferring to rent baches with our children. This time the service was absolutely shocking. We encountered surly bar staff who ignored their guests, and watched as guests became increasingly annoyed then angry. They were obviously understaffed at an evening happy hour we went to, and I had to follow their one waitress around to try to get an order out of her for our lunch. - it was quiet by the way about 2pm. I finally spoke to her at a till, and asked what was the best way to place an order and she informed me that I should stay at our table - well we had tried that. She then said she would be there as soon as she had keyed in the order she had, then we witnessed her wandering around other tables for ages before coming to ours. Not good at all considering this isn't a budget resort. Finally she wandered up and got our order completely wrong then denied everything. The food was shocking. We didnt stay here only visited so I can't comment on the rooms. Last time our waterfront room was fine though. I don't usually write bad reviews but this was shocking service, and we tried to complain direct, but the girl didn't want to know so I told her I would be submitting this. Luckily there are many other options for eating out in Rarotonga so guests wouldnt necessarily have to tolerate the bad service here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigid06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Kia Orana Brigid06,

Thank you for your review in regards to recent visit to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are happy to hear that your previous visits to our resort have encouraged to your return regularly during your visits to Rarotonga. However, we are concerned that you did not find the restaurant and bar service to your satisfaction during your most recent visit.

Did you raise your concerns with our Duty Manager on shift in regards to your dining experience with us? We have Duty Managers who are rostered on shift 7 days a week, between the hours of 7am and midnight. These staff are on duty to assist our guests with getting the best out of their stays and visits at our Resorts. Our Duty Manager or even the Restaurant & Bar would have been happy to address your concerns.

In saying this, your feedback is appreciated and our Restaurant & Bar Manager has reviewed staffing for our Happy Hour service in the bar as well as review staff scheduling for all service periods.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I stayed at the Rarotongan in April with my 2 yr old son. We were in a garden room, while it's very basic (not what I'd call 4 star), the beach is awesome and because it's on the marine reserve the snorkelling and beach are amazing! I found the staff to be great! You need to be chilled out and relaxed, a few times I saw a few impatient guests awaiting food or drinks, all the resorts are on 'island time', no one gets ignored, its just that things take a little more time! :-) As I said, the staff were great with my son and I, the resort equipment was great, kayaking out in the lagoon was amazing! If you want to a nice place to stay at, with out having to leave the resort, this is a good choice! Would I go back to the Rarotongan? Yes!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philly32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Kia Orana Philly32,

Thank you for your review in regards to your April 2012 stay with us at The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa.

We are absolutely delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed our Resort’s absolute beachfront location – only a few steps to an amazing snorkelling experience in the traditional Aroa Marine Reserve “raui”.

We also appreciate your comments regarding your positive experience with our staff service delivery and they will most definitely be pleased to read you review in this regard.

Our activities staff are certainly happy to assist with providing beach towels and equipment for Resort activities such as snorkelling masks and flippers, reef shoes (essential if you’re exploring the magnificent marine reserve), kayak paddles, tennis balls & racquets, tennis court bookings, volleyballs, petanque and a wide variety of board games, plus extensive local knowledge. Other beach and lagoon activities include beach volleyball, kayaking, outrigger canoeing, fish feeding, crab hunting & racing and night snorkelling.

We are delighted that you are considering a return visit to The Rarotongan in future and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
0.1 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
5.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
1.9 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.9 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an iconic South Pacific resort, the Cook Islands' signature resort. Slip off your watch, your shoes, your cares and immerse yourself in paradise at the renowned Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa. Hand feed the friendly reef fish or snorkel straight off the white sands of Aroa Beach in the crystal clear blue waters of Aro'a Lagoon Marine Reserve (the resort's guided Night Snorkeling Tours are a special treat!). This all-tide lagoon is also perfect for stand-up paddleboarding and kayaking (both free!). For couples in love, there's a Personal Wedding Planner to create your dream tropical sunset beach wedding, right beside Aro'a Lagoon, the Lagoon of Love, set on the island's stunning southwest which enjoys both all-day sun and sizzling tropical sunsets. Experience all that's authentic about Rarotonga right in your absolute beachfront, full-service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rarotongan Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
The Rarotongan Beach Resort And Spa
Rarotongan Beach Resort Spa
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa Rarotonga/Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing