We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dissapointing, not up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very dissapointing, not up to expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

It's not often that I feel that a resort is bad enough for a terrible all-over review but regrettably this one is pretty bad. Easily the worst place we have ever stayed in, in this price range.
I was a bit worried about the management here when my emails were taking 5-7 days to receive a reply to before we arrived, and it turns out rightly so.
This resort is sadly let down by a few uncaring, inattentive, staff, mainly the restaurant & bar staff, which must be a reflection of management, and also let down by over inflated claims as to it's standards.
You cannot avoid these staff members either as there is no "front desk" here - you virtually check in & make all enquiries at the bar.
Nothing here met our expectations I am sad to say. And therin lies the problem.
The resort claims to be a lot flasher / better / luxurious / than it actually is.
This is a resort that rates itself at 4 stars, but in reality, it's probably 2.5
The rooms are only just tolerable - small, cramped, and totally lacking in comfort.
You cannot watch TV in bed or on the couch comfortably, as it is situated so badly to one side, You can't get past the bed to get to the door or bathroom if someone is using the desk or opening the fridge.
The bathroom is very nice but not very private as you can hear everything through the louvres.
Keeping in mind this resort is marketed as an up market luxury resort and we paid $400 a night for our room,
I think I have a right to be quite harsh here. It's not like it was fairly priced.
The rooms do open onto the beach which is lovely but if the southeasterly ( predominant I am told) blows in then you are in for a windy time if you want to sit out front.
All the rooms face South to South East - don't be fooled by the name "Rarotongan Sunset" next door. You will get no evening sun here and you won't see the sunset.
Still, they are well located and it's very nice to wake up and see the sea and sand from your door.
You can't get much more beachfront than this.
One other good thing I can say about them is that they are reasonably clean ( but don't look under the bed!) and well lit. And the wifi is excellent though expensive.
We met 3 other guests here who like us were equally unhappy, and we were all stuck too as the resort takes full payment well in advance, in our case nearly 8 months in advance, so you can't just leave.
No one we met wanted to eat here, and those that did, never ate here again.
The included breakfast is pretty bad, the table cloths had the same stains on them for our entire stay so they were never cleaned, though the cooked breakfast is good, you do have to be prepared to wait a long time for it.
Basically if it was $200 a night it might be a bit more appealing, but for $400 it's a rip off.
The bed was the worst we have ever slept in - we both only got about 3 hours sleep a night here.
The bed was never made properly each day either - when you got in it, the under sheet and mattress protector were still all scrunched up from the night before.
The pool area is sadly tragic - nothing like the photos.
The swim up bar that they rave about in their ads did not open once the whole time we were here
and the Japanese Restaurant also remained closed the whole time.
There is no "lounge area" , no nice comfy arm chairs or anywhere nice to enjoy a cocktail or coffee.
Speaking of coffee, here's an excerpt of a conversation heard at the restaurant:
"May I have an espresso please?" Response from staff: "No, we have no beans."
Good grief.
I think if this was your first trip overseas you might be naively happy here, perhaps if you had not had much experience of nicer resorts but for experienced luxury travellers this is a hotel to avoid.
We did complain to the front desk once, and were told we had to take out complaints to the relevant head of department. We asked it they could just be passed on and were told "no".
To add insult to injury, we were not even on the list for our airport transfers that we had paid for and confirmed the day before and again that morning, and it was only by chance that we made it to our flight.
There are some positives, the beach is just lovely and the snorkelling is amazing especially if you snorkel well out close to the surrounding reef. You can swim at all tides here and the fish are plentiful and friendly.
The sister resort next door has a nicer beach, but I certainly would not stay there or drink there, it's worse than this one!
There is some irony here that once we got home and told friends and family about this, two of them said they had also stayed here last year and also hated it! Both said they refused to eat here.
The whole management team here needs a shake up and the advertising for this place needs to be more honest.
And to the manager, when you are replying here as I am sure you will, nothing you say can here will make up for having nothing at all to say to us at the time when we were at your front desk trying to bring all this to your attention, and no one cared or wanted to hear it.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Rabbity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Kia Orana “Rabbity1”

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach in December 2013.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the bathroom facilities and direct beachfront access from our beautiful Beachfront Suites offered at Sanctuary Rarotonga however, are concerned that the standard of service from our staff did not meet your expectations. We have had the sincere pleasure of hosting many satisfied guests at Sanctuary Rarotonga since it has opened and we are disappointed that you were not able to experience the same during your stay with us.

We are puzzled to read that you were disappointed with the Sanctuary Reception desk being located so closely to the bar and this is surprising as many guests have enjoyed the convenience of being able to sit down and relax with a refreshing cocktail or beverage whilst enjoying a casual chat with other guests and staff who are always around the lobby.

Guest feedback is important to us and your comments have highlighted several areas for improvement.

We apologise that your attempts to bring your concerns to the attention of our Duty Manager or Management during your stay were not successful and I would be happy to provide further assistance if you would like to contact me directly via the contact email address provided on our website.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    130
    102
    43
    30
See reviews for
21
308
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Last year we stayed at the sanctuary where my fiancé proposed to me out the front on the hammocks. So this year when we went to Rarotonga we decided to return to the sanctuary for an evening to buy a bottle of wine to drink on the hammock and watch the sun go down, celebrating a year being engaged where my fiancé proposed, but this was all crushed. When we went to the bar we were told that the area was only for guests, which i know isn't true or isn't enforced usually as i have seen many of my friends photos visiting that area before! I understand that there is certain rules but this was a special occasion we were past guests willing to spend money! We were made to feel very very unwelcome, the lady was sooo rude we will never be returning to this resort again! which now means we never and will never be able to return to the spot we got engaged it is very heart breaking, it seems that the service hasn't improved at all since the time we had stayed, the mood of the place was still dark and gloomy not inviting at all! After staying at another location up the road and having amazing service i know its possible to get honest friendly welcoming service, just NOT at the sanctuary!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Linnell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Kia Orana “Linnell3”

Thank you for your review in regards to your November 2013 visit to Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach. Sanctuary Rarotonga is our newest sister resort and adult’s only boutique resort to The Rarotongan Beach Resort and Aitutaki Lagoon Resort & Spa.

In terms of the concerns you have raised, we appreciate the opportunity to respond as below.

We apologize that you were made to feel unwelcome and your intention to celebrate the anniversary of your wedding proposal did not eventuate as you hoped. Visitors are welcome to join us at Sanctuary Rarotonga for drinks or dining in any of our Restaurants or by the beach and we have hosted many visitors since Sanctuary Rarotonga opened. We are disappointed that you were not able to experience the same.

Even as a visitor and not staying in house with us, the quality of each guests’ stay is important to us and as such, we have Duty Managers on duty from 7am until 12midnight daily. You can ask for our Duty Manager at Front Desk (their names are posted on the wall at Front Desk), and we would have welcomed the opportunity to address any matters of concern which you experienced during your visit.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aroa Beach hotels

Whanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The staff at this resort were lovely the food, atmosphere, and views stunning!
Had one issue while I was there but that was quickly corrected by a lovely manager.
Would highly recommend for a couple needing some time out

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Kia Orana “Jodie D”

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review in regards to your recent stay at the Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach

We are very happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the location and service provided during your stay with us at Sanctuary Rarotonga.

The Sanctuary Rarotonga on the beach is the Cook Islands’ iconic adults only beach resort. Here, modern comforts blend with the charm of traditional Polynesia to add up to perfect relaxation on the sun-soaked beach. The Sanctuary Rarotonga is renowned for its warm and friendly staff with open hearts and smiles.

Set on Aroa Beach, Rarotonga's most beautiful white sandy beach on the shores of Aroa Lagoon (the Lagoon of Love), Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach is located on the island's sunshine southwest coast where guests can enjoy all-day sun, stunning sunsets, all-tide safe swimming and excellent off-beach snorkelling in the traditional marine sanctuary directly in front of the resort.

Set out amidst lush tropical gardens featuring hibiscus, banana and coconut palms. All of the Sanctuary’s forty eight rooms are no higher than two storeys and are set on absolute beachfront, and feature an authentic Pacific aesthetic combined with the charm of Polynesian-style architecture. It’s a perfect destination offering a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere for those seeking the ultimate escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life!

In addition to the swim up pool bar and two restaurants (Blue Water Grill and the Ginger Garden Asian Restaurant) at Sanctuary, adult guests of the Sanctuary Rarotonga also have access to FREE Daily Activities including snorkelling, snorkelling lessons, snorkelling safaris, introductory try scuba dive lessons, fish feeding, crab hunting, crab racing, kayaking safaris, Polynesian canoe ‘Vaka’ lessons, beach volleyball, beach cricket, beach soccer, beach touch rugby, beach petanque, tennis, basketball, lessons on island (hula) dancing, pareu (sarong) tying, palm-frond weaving, flower garland (lei) making, coconut climbing and husking show, giant chess, board games, guest library, air conditioned gym, fitness trail, guided walks to cultural, historical & natural attractions in the local area, wine tasting & black pearl lectures. They also have FREE use of snorkelling and tennis gear, hammocks, sun loungers, beach towels and kayaks!

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sanctuary Rarotonga.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

As I was only planning to stay a short time (4 days) I decided to book my accommodation somewhere a bit nicer so wasn’t over phased by paying a bit extra.

My original thought was that I was going to be staying by myself, so also wanted accommodation that could offer facilities (mostly for food) in case I got caught out and had nowhere to get any food. After a few weeks, and getting very much closer to the date of travel, I had 2 girlfriends share my room.

After a few months of research and planning, I decided to stay at the Sanctuary Rarotonga... WHAT A RIP! While the room was nice and tidy (it was also very small for 3 girls), and the staff very friendly (and patient with us) the facilities attached were not that great. Most times that we walked through the public areas (the restaurant and bar) it resembled more of a retirement village than a resort. While we did see another group of younger people, there was nothing for us to do there. At 27 years of age, hanging out next door at the Rarotongan with children is not very cool! The times we did venture next door, we found restaurant service to be poor and the cocktails to be dull (we had to constantly go inside to make orders).

The biggest attraction for me when booking was the pool bar, I was so excited for this. However, upon arrival did not even use it once! The pool was small and the swim up bar did not even look open! Plus, they were doing construction right next to the pool that completely took away from my expectations of a fun relaxing day drinking cocktails poolside.
The main bar was looking pretty drab as well and the cocktail menu was not exactly original or exciting (apart from the fish bowl- that looked fun). We were purchasing rounds of $9 coronas before we realized we could buy them or $4 a bottle at the shop on the Rarotongan side (score!).

For the $500 a night we paid, I would have also expected filtered water. There was none, except for the 1x small jug we got in the fridge on our arrival.

The Sunday night Roast was pleasant enough, although all of the meat was from New Zealand (as are we) except for the Pork, which was very dry.

The restaurant food had a lot left to be desired.

The settings around the pool on the Rarotongan side were really great, just such a shame nothing like this could be done on the adults only side. The Sanctuary did have a very nice beach, so perhaps the lack of fun facilities forced us to chill out.

We stayed in the 700 block which was great, could walk straight down to the water. I like the privacy of the upstairs rooms, however the downstairs room means your front door is on beach.

Perhaps this will be a better accommodation for when I am older.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the 600 block... there is no direct ocean access as it is all rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amberambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Kia Orana “Feebee3NZ”

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach.

We appreciate the opportunity respond to the concerns you have raised in regards to your holiday at Sanctuary Rarotonga.

We are pleased that you found our housekeeping satisfactory. We are disappointed that you did not find the room sufficient for three ladies travelling together, however we would have been more than happy to accommodate your request for a larger room.

The quality of each guests’ stay is important to us and as such, we have Duty Managers on duty from 7am until 12midnight daily. They can be reached by dialing 0 from one’s room phone or asking for them at Front Desk (their names are posted on the wall at Front Desk), and we would have welcomed the opportunity to address any matters of concern which you experienced during your stay.

We are pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and patient. It is unfortunate that you found the Sanctuary to be “like a retirement village”. Most often then most our guests are generally older in age as they find the Sanctuary is more suited to their travel needs to allow them to enjoy their holiday with peace and quiet and total relaxation. We welcome all ages at both our resorts and cater for their individual needs.

We apologise for the pool bar not seemed to be opened, however we can assure you that the pool bar is attended to by our Food and Beverage staff. We are saddened to hear that you did not find our Cocktail menu to your expectation as we are happy to offer the one of the most comprehensive food and beverage menu’s on the island. All our menus are chosen from the top sellers based on historical records. We are pleased that you found our signature cocktail “The Island Girl” served in a fish bowl glass satisfactory.

In terms of the rebuilding the beach and pool area, our Resorts maintain a regular and thorough schedule of renovations and refurbishment throughout the year. For obvious reasons, some work can only be completed during lower occupancies.

The Sanctuary Rarotonga has in place a water filtration and UV-sterilization system, which means your tap water, has been through a comprehensive purification process. If you do however have any concerns you may prefer to boil your drinking water, or to buy bottled water from the Bar or from your room Mini Bar. Please note that only bottled water is served in all our restaurants and bars.

Outside of the resort and around the island there is no local government water treatment system and therefore you can assume, unless specifically informed otherwise, that the tap water is untreated. While enjoying excursions away from the resort and around the island you may wish to purchase bottled drinking water.

We are pleased that you found the pool surrounding at The Rarotongan to you liking. Our feature swimming pool has now been transformed from a traditional‐style plaster‐and‐paint finish pool to a brilliant eye‐catching azure pool with cascading rock waterfall. Surrounding landscape, gardens and timber decking also underwent detailed restoration to complete the transformation of our popular guest gathering spot.

Minutes after the final touches to the Waterfall Pool were completed the pool itself and poolside dining areas were quickly filled by guests looking to spend time relaxing, swimming and dining around the pool.

Guests are now able to take advantage of our stunning new‐look Waterfall Pool with al fresco dining available pool side, snorkelling and scuba lessons in the pool or simply relaxing on the poolside sundecks under the tropical island sun with a refreshing cocktail in hand.

Again thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
186 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

The resort is right on the beach in a stunning location and the snorkelling and water frontage is fantastic.

We stayed for eight nights recently. The breakfasts were fairly basic but sufficient. Housekeeping fairly hit and miss and we had to ask for our room to be serviced as had only been done once in four days and the restaurants for evening meals had pretty poor service although food was of good quality. The service in The Rarotongan at lunchtime was appalling....didn't seem to be enough staff on or serving and poor Stu was run off his feet but did his very best for us.

The accommodation was dated, overpriced and disappointing and in need of refurbishment....certainly not 4 star by international standards. During our stay they spend two days rebuilding the beach and the pool area was being refurbished which we were not warned about.

We had a good time but overall felt it was a hefty price that we paid and think we may have been better off at another resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAFYDDHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Kia Orana “DAFYDDHD”,

Thank you for taking the time to upload your review to Trip Advisor in regards to your stay at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful Beachfront Suites offered at Sanctuary Rarotonga however, are concerned that the standard of service from our staff on the Front/Tour Desk or SpaPolynesia did not meet your expectations. As a result of your feedback we have comprehensively revised our customer service standards provided and implemented refresher training to prevent further experiences of this nature.

We apologise for the experience you encountered with your rooms not being serviced in a timely manner. We have also relayed your feedback in regards to Housekeeping services on to our Executive Housekeeper who is actively addressing these concerns with our Housekeeping department staff.

Our Resort Compendiums also provide information in regards to the housekeeping services available at the Resort. Guests are welcome to contact our Reception desk during their stay to request a standard daily housekeeping service time.

We have addressed your concerns regarding the standard of service you experienced while dining with us, with our Food & Beverage Manager. He is working with our restaurant and bar team to address the concerns you have raised. Stu is absolutely thrilled with the positive feedback about his service.

Thank you for the comments with regards to your breakfast and we are pleased that you found it sufficient. A complimentary Tropical Breakfast Buffet (Continental Breakfast) of a variety of seasonal island fruits, homemade yoghurt, fresh-baked muffins, Danish pastries, croissants, toast, spreads, tropical juices, tea & coffee, is served for your enjoyment in the Blue Water Grill Restaurant from 7am to 10am daily. You can also select from a variety of cooked and light breakfast options from the Breakfast Menu.

In terms of the rebuilding the beach and pool area, our Resorts maintain a regular and thorough schedule of renovations and refurbishment throughout the year. For obvious reasons, some work can only be completed during lower occupancies.

The quality of each guests’ stay is important to us and as such, we have Duty Managers on duty from 7am until 12midnight daily. They can be reached by dialing 0 from one’s room phone or asking for them at Front Desk (their names are posted on the wall at Front Desk), and we would have welcomed the opportunity to address any matters of concern which you experienced during your stay.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We had a wonderful honeymoon at the Sanctuary, with the added bonus of having the Rarotongan beach resort right next door where we could use their facilities while still having our quiet adult only resort to go back to. Staff we're very friendly and helpful. Would definitely return

Room Tip: We had the honeymoon spa suite which was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Kia Orana “Hayley A”

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach for your very special Honeymoon.

We are very happy that you had such a lovely, relaxing and peaceful holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and services we have to offer at Sanctuary Rarotonga.

We do have an extensive activity list that will keep you occupied for most of your stay. Here at the Sanctuary, you may do as much or as little as you like:-)

We thank you once again for your positive feedback and hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have just come back from the most amazing holiday ever! We stayed at The Sanctuary and would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a really relaxing time. So good for the soul. We had a ground floor unit which was awesome as we could walk straight onto the beach. We so enjoyed snorkeling in the clear blue waters and seeing all the amazing fish. The food was fantastic, we didn't eat one thing we didn't enjoy. The staff were amazing, always smiling and ready to help. This hotel definitely ticked all the boxes, we will be back! :-)

Room Tip: Ground floor unit, walk straight onto the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackieandGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Guest Relations Manager at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Kia Orana “JackieandGordon”

Greetings from the Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach! Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review with regards to your stay.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the fantastic location of the Resort and are delighted that you enjoyed the stunning location and amenities offered in your Beachfront Suite during your stay. Sanctuary Rarotonga takes great pride in its incredible location with a traditional marine reserve at its doorstep.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the stunning beachfront location of your Suite during your stay, in particular the amazing snorkelling available straight off the beach front of your room and the great selection of complimentary activities for our guests.

The Sanctuary Rarotonga takes great pride in its incredible location with a traditional marine reserve at its doorstep.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and from our team of hardworking and friendly staff at Sanctuary Rarotonga, we hope to be able to welcome you back again.

Kindly contact us for a very special “returnee guest” quote as we would love to be able to welcome you back for your next tropical escape.

Kia Manuia & Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
5.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.0 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach

Property: Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Address: Aroa Beach, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true taste of the exotic Cook Islands in the heart of the South Pacific, Sanctuary Rarotonga is an adults-only resort located on the pristine white sand shores of Aroa Lagoon. All suites are absolute beachfront. Tropical buffet breakfast, many resort activities, and daily activities program are included in the nightly rate. The perfect location for a romantic honeymoon or a relaxed beach holiday. Three effortless Weddings in Paradise packages. A true South Pacific paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Rarotonga-On The Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Sanctuary Rarotonga-On The Beach Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing