We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sea view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great sea view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed for just the one night and were impressed with the beach front room and friendly service. Next time we are in Rarotonga, we will definitely look to stay here for the duration of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Kia Orana “KC01“

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach.

We are very happy that you had such a lovely (albeit brief!) holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and services we have to offer at Sanctuary Rarotonga.

Sanctuary Rarotonga offers its guests an intimate boutique style accommodation located on a stunning Aroa Beach and Marine Reserve.
We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    127
    101
    42
    29
See reviews for
21
303
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Cook Islands is great for a quiet peaceful holiday by the beach. Only 15 mins from the airport, located right on the beach, one gets into holiday mode very quickly. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, the food was great, the rooms excellent. Big plus for us was the "adults only" section of the resort, so no children under 16 in that area. Nice and quiet. The resort does cater for kids, with a kids club and lots of water activities. The beach is child friendly and the snorkelling is right out the front of the resort. All the usual poynesian night time activities.
Roratonga is a reasonably small island and apart from beach activities, the only other thing to do is eat, sleep and read. There are a couple of hikes up into the hills for the more actively inclined. For a really great chill out type holiday, it does not get much better than this. The only downside was the flight with Virgin. Best to be avoided.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CampervanmanSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Kia Orana “CampervanmanSydney“

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach.

We are very happy that you had such a lovely, relaxing and peaceful holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and services we have to offer at Sanctuary Rarotonga.

There are a large number of complimentary activities offered in house for our guests and paid tours and adventures off site but as you have mentioned above, if you are looking for a tranquil holiday, Sanctuary Rarotonga certainly can meet your needs.

We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed at the Sanctuary to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and we loved every thing about it.
We renewed our vows and Laisa was fantastic with all the help she gave us.
Food was fantastic, service wasn't super fast but we were on holiday so who cared!
Our room cleaner was excellent, and very friendly, most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the "quiet" of the sanctuary, no kids so VERY relaxing.
Looking forward to our next visit to Rarotonga and would definately stay at the Sanctuary.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jans023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RarotonganSales, Director of Sales at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach, responded to this review, August 28, 2011
Kia Orana “Jans023“

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach.

We are pleased to hear that you found our Wedding Planner, Laisa a pleasure to deal with during your stay. Your comments have been passed on to her and she is very happy to hear you enjoyed your special day Renewing your Vows :)

We are very happy that you had such a lovely holiday and enjoyed the fantastic location and services we have to offer at Sanctuary Rarotonga.

We hope to welcome you back to our resorts again in the very near future as a valued return guest.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

The Sanctuary had 5 ticks in the travel brochure from the travel agents which was supposed to indicate superior quality. This is definitely not the case- it is an average place to stay. The staff were friendly and helpful when we first arrived-shown where our room was,bags taken to rooms, drink offered-but when we came back for a night after 2 nights in Aitutaki it was a different story. We were given the keys, had to look at them to see where we were staying, had to find the room ourself and take our own bags. No real problem but not indicating a place of "superior quality".
The staff however were very friendly people on the whole, which was a plus.
The sand on the floor in the eating part and round the pool was a pain-tiles would have been more suitable.
Thought the rooms were average too-good size but quite dark and definitely could have been kept cleaner.
On the whole a good enough place to stay but definitely not high standard

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecarrans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Mountain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Rooms way to small, poor service and almost no facilities. Just out of date.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Only1go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aroa Beach hotels

NSW
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Our travel agent booked us two nights here at the end of our Cook Islands holiday. If this is all we knew of the Cook Islands we probably would have loved it, but after staying at the Pacific Resort Muri Beach and the Aitutaki Lagoon Resort we found the Sanctuary quite noisy and commercialised.

The Sanctuary is really just the adults only wing of the Rarotongan Resort. Reception is at the bar (I think to reduce the number of staff required) and it feels like things have been crowded in to maximise the dollars per square meter.

The beach and lagoon are nice, but there is a large rock wall along the front of most of the hotel, so access to the water is only from a small beach. Snorkels, fins etc need to be picked up from the beach hut of the Rarotongan so you will need to compete with the masses from there. We were only able to get beach towels ONCE in three days... they would run out very early in the day. We were also told by staff to get to breakfast early or we wouldn't be able to get a table.

We also found the the surrounds of the Sanctuary/ Rarotongan were grubby. Tables not cleared quickly (I'm talking hours here), rubbish in the sandy floor of the restaurant, room service plates left outside of rooms all day and general litter just left around.

To us the attraction of the Cook Islands is the relaxed and simple way of life without the crowds. There are plenty of other options in Rarotonga were you can find modern, comfortable and luxurious hotel rooms without feeling like you are in any large beach hotel anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the bar/restaurant/reception as otherwise you will have a noisy room 24hours a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teash21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Stayed for a week. Was pleasant but not amazing nice beach out front great for snorkling with lots of fish. Staff were helpful. Thought pricing couldve been slightly better

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aroa Beach
5.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
5.1 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.8 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
3.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach

Property: Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Address: Aroa Beach, Aroa Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Aroa Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aroa Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A true taste of the exotic Cook Islands in the heart of the South Pacific, Sanctuary Rarotonga is an adults-only resort located on the pristine white sand shores of Aroa Lagoon. All suites are absolute beachfront. Tropical buffet breakfast, many resort activities, and daily activities program are included in the nightly rate. The perfect location for a romantic honeymoon or a relaxed beach holiday. Three effortless Weddings in Paradise packages. A true South Pacific paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanctuary Rarotonga-On The Beach Hotel Aroa Beach
Sanctuary Rarotonga-On The Beach Aroa Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing