We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best beach bungalow we have ever stayed in and best beach”
Review of Palm Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Grove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vaimaanga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We couldn't believe our luck when we checked in here. The bungalow is right on the beach and recently been renovated. Very nicely done. The bungalow is very spacious, the bed extremely comfortable and has a deck that has a table and chairs and day bed. You step out from the deck and are on the beach. This is the best beach on the island, it is sandy and the snorkelling is excellent. It is really quiet. The service is excellent. We had 6 enjoyable nights here.

The only negative is, it is not really located beside any other restaurants apart from the one that it is connected to The Yellow Hibiscus. Which do a nice meal, like a pub meal. If you enjoy eating out which we do, you need to drive/scooter/or take the bus to other places. Which is fine, we were more than happy to do that as you just can't get any better than this location on the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in B4 and I think it was one of the best located bungalows, but they all are on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grace88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 569 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Another yearly holiday at palm grove since finding this place we wouldn't stay any where else,we stay in the garden units that are close to the pool,and a 2min walk across the road to the best beach" we think on the whole island" wonderful staff, great food,and value for money.thanks betsy and joanne for another 18days in paradise. see you next year.

Room Tip: garden units are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 255118Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My family and I stayed at the palm grove resort for 10 nights.
From the start to end of our holiday the manager Joanne was extremely helpful with anything that we needed. As we got married there also, she helped us in everything that was required. Palm grove was an absolutely amazing place to get married. Although we did not have a reception at that resort, Joanne organised our own area for drinks and snacks for after the wedding and also allowed us to get married in front of our beach front villa which gave us some privacy from the other guests around the beach.
The beach front villa was massive, we only had 4 people staying there but could have easily slept 7-8 people.
More of our family stayed in the beach front bungalows and 3 bedroom garden villa and were all as equally happy with the accommodation.
The only part that we were less than satisfied with would have to be The restaurant, the yellow hibiscus which is at the resort. Although the breakfast and dinner menu was good, the lunch menu lacked any thought. It mainly consisted of fried foods and easy options that in my opinion it is not worth having lunch there. The dinner choices and food were great but we had to wait 1-1.5 hours for your meal. (there was around 10 ppl dining at our table so this could be a factor as to why it took so long.)
All the staff there were friendly and would help you in anyway they could.
I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone and also families as it is also a reasonable price.
If we were to travel to Rarotonga again I would definitely stay at the palm grove resort.

Room Tip: definitely spend that little extra and stay in the beach front bungalows/villas. they are much nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula_Bo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

~~ Paradise revisited we were just here in Sept 13' couldn't
wait to get back! To see Betsy`~ Jo~ Matha~Kathy~& the rest of the wonderful staff was just like meeting old Friends ~There has been some remolding` great job `very comfortable especially the beds ~ we cooked in out Lagoon side unit a walk down to " Wiggies' Market you can purchase fresh Tuna Yum we had it times ~ we took some staples w/ us peanut butter ` mayo~ mustard dressing etc as we stayed two weeks~
Be sure to ask Ti to take you to his Church If your TV is Fuzzy ask Jr. he can fix anything~ Happy Hour & the BBQ are not to be missed
Snorkeling in the Lagoon is good ~ you can feed the fish knee deep
Sunsets were wonderful~ we found April weather to be better no as cold as Sept~~Oh we took swim tubes just floated along left them for the next guests Be sure & go to the Sat Market as I sit in my office I'm dreaming about B7 our little cabana ~ Yellow Hibiscus food outstanding Go you won;t be sorry~ Hop skip[ for New Zealand ~we Calif one shave to buckle down fpr the long haul but well worth it !!

Room Tip: Face the Lagoon B4~5~6~7 Garden units nice too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank seababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is the first time we have stayed at Vaimaanga and we'll be back again. Other parts like Muri are beautiful with the islands etc but the tides can made swimming difficult sometimes. Vaimaanga is great. The property is no frills but more than adequate and we needed nothing else. We had views of the beach but some greenery in front of us to make it a little more private. The staff were helpful.

Room Tip: The smaller huts don't have an uninterrupted view if that's what you need but they are on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David-Sydney_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

What a delight it was to stay here, our hut was right on the beach, very cosy. Restaurant food was excellent. Fishing was amazing. Look forward to coming back one day. Staff always had the most beautiful smiles.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We found Palm Grove to be one of the better hotels on the island, certainly with the best beach and snorkeling. Beach had maybe 8 people on it not including us, and we went during both Raro and NZ spring breaks/holiday. Normally I drive everywhere looking for the best snorkel but no need, it was in front of the hotel. Literally.
Corresponded with Joann (manager of the property) and she was exceptionally helpful in booking the stay , as well as planning dinners, cars, bike rental, day trip to Aitutaki (MUST DO!).
We had a garden room, Joanne helped get 3 beds so the family was comfortable (kids didnt have to share for a change). Each room is like a little villa, you do not share walls with anyone else. G12 was our room, and that side is quiet and restful. I think the units by the pool would be less so. The on teh beach units are wonderful, I would book those next time rather than staying at any other hotel. You can hear the roar of the waves on the reef right from your room.
Our Garden room was simplistic yet very functional. We are used to staying at 4 Seasons resorts but found no issues with Palm Grove rooms. Quiet, safe, relaxing, totally functional with kitchen, fridge, sink, microwave, full bathroom, separate adults vs kids sleeping area, patio off back with view of garden and mountain. Very nice. I think the hotel is listed as 3.5 stars out of 5 in terms of luxury, and that is fair. This isnt 4 Seasons, nor does it pretend to be or charge you for being something it isnt. I gave 5 stars knowing now this is the BEST 3-4 star value on the island.
Breakfast was fine, a bit too basic for our desires but it's free, or the store and a shop 5 min walk for more food.
Dinner on site was really good. Friday night happy hour is a must do.
Free use of snorkel gear (they have TONS of gear, no need to bring your own as I did), and kayaks . There are lounge chairs on the beach to use too.
Did I mention how incredible the beach is??
Thanks Joanne and Palm Grove, see you again in a few years if not sooner.

Room Tip: Book a beach villa/room. Best view on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dustman-Welch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaimaanga
0.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
3.3 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
2.7 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Address: P.O. Box 23, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Vaimaanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vaimaanga
Price Range: $156 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the enchanting area of Vaimaanga on the stunning southern coast, Palm Grove enjoys the tranquility of one of the best locations on Rarotonga. 26 individual bungalows are scattered over 5 acres of landscaped beachfront and garden property. Bungalows are available in studio to 3-bedroom layout and feature kingsize beds, kitchen facilities, aircon, flatscreen TV, and private patio/balcony. Property amenities include our onsite restaurant and bar, swimming pool, guest BBQ, laundry facility, tour desk, and motorbike rentals. All guests receive complimentary daily tropical breakfast buffet and use of kayaks, snorkel equipment, beach chairs and beach towels. Welcome to Palm Grove, your private piece of paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Hotel Vaimaanga
Palm Grove Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing