We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palm Grove
Nearby Hotels
$212
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$470
$393
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$397
$388
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
$235
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$280
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (577)
Filter reviews
577 results
Traveler rating
323
193
43
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
193
43
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyellow hibiscusbeachfront bungalowhappy hourcook islandsbedroom housefishacross the roadsunday bbqsuperior gardenbeautiful beachboiled eggson site restauranthibiscus restauranttropical breakfastlaid backnew zealandbeach side
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 577 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Such a beautiful and amazing place to stay! I highly recommend it. My husband and I held our wedding at the gorgeous beach at Palm Grove and was followed by our reception at the onsite restaurant, The Yellow Hibiscus. The team at Palm Grove made planning a wedding effortless, with everything we wanted taken care of and giving us the wedding we had dreamed of. We can confidently say our wedding was perfect and there is nothing we would change or want done differently if done again. The team at the Yellow Hibiscus restaurant made our reception look wonderful and incorporated everything that had been discussed. The food was delicious, a lot of our guests had said it was one of the best meals they had while staying in Rarotonga. They also catered to guests who were Vegan and Gluten Free without any complaints. I could go on and on about how much of an amazing stay we had, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Traveled the Rarotonga Island from end to end, and have to admit that Palm Grove accommodation was exceptional, we found the Garden bungalows to be the quietest and coziest accommodation on the island. Even Muri Beach Club Hotel beachfront rooms weren't as good in our opinion.

We also liked the convenient location close to wonderful Vaima restaurant (best on the island) and the Wigmore's Superstore (largest on the island), as well as beautiful resort The Rarotongan (great smoothies), as well as the mini-golf course Coco Putt.

But we did not like some of the amenities such as swimming pool, it was tiny and loud kids were in it almost all the time, with very windy beach that disallowed us from enjoying swimming altogether.

We also thought the restaurant was by far the worst on the island. We tried the lunch once, ordered 3 things, only to have the waitress come back after half an hour saying 2 of those 3 things are unavailable. So we both opted for the burger, only to receive it inedible, the meat was burnt black on the outside and bloody raw on the inside.

Breakfasts were indeed very limited. There were no scones, no muffins that were advertised, no pastry whatsoever, and no fresh fruit during the breakfasts we had there. Fresh juice yes, canned fruit yes, but no fresh fruit. I'm not asking for freshly baked bread rolls, ham, cheese, crepes, or various hot options they have for free in Muri Beach Club Hotel, but fresh fruit, pastry, and even a few hard boiled eggs (plenty of local produce available there) should be mandatory in a resort-style Raro breakfast. Apart from fresh juice and yogurt, the breakfast only had prepackaged cereal, toast from the bag, and jam (not even any honey), it felt like we could have had the same breakfast for $5 by going to the store 300m away. Just to clarify, we appeared at the breakfast pretty much first thing at 8am, so no one can speculate that we were too late and all the good stuff was gone. The breakfast was simply that limited.

I think the staff service could have been better too, because there was no staff monitoring the breakfast. When something ran out, that was it, no one ever bothered to check, refill, restock, or even clean the tables. One morning we didn't even have cutlery to eat with.

Palm Grove was also the only place that had cats on the property, which is a big minus. Tame dogs are lovely, but the cats here were intrusive and a big turn off.

I wish we could combine Palm Grove's garden villa, Muri Beach Club Hotel's buffet breakfast, and The Rarotongan bar. That would be a perfect hotel on Rarotonga. Too bad the beach all-around the island is kind of useless for swimming (shallow, windy, littered).

Room Tip: Garden villas are spacious and tranquil (if you don't count kids in the pool), while Beach bungalows feel like being in the hurricane when it's windy
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed in September Clearest water better than Tahiti Most friendly people from Betsy to the restaurant to the room cleaners Sunday BBQ and Happy Hour not to be missed Local local live music was excellent Not crowded Bus service enough to get you around anywhere Christian church service with singing was uplifting Wigmore market just a short walk up the road Saturday market a busy place shops food dancing Best snorkeling was on Capt Tamas tour See pic
We liked The Grove so much we are returning in April Can't wait to see the redo of the Beach Studios For more pictures see Seababe's earlier review

Room Tip: Loved the Beach Studios
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seabouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

With quite a bit of a delay, we would like to post a comment about this speacil place, where we happened to spend a week of our life in March 2013. We just would like to say THANK YOU to all the people behind this beatifull place. Great accomodation by the sea, kayaks available all day long so every morning before breakfast we could just jump in and go for a quick ride and observe the sun going up and abundant fish as the water is so calm in the morning. Stunning quiet place, with the beach for yourself, what else could we wish for on our holidays of dreams. Thank you once again. All the best Lada Pokorova&Jakub Mazgaj

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ladas_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was one of the three hotels we stayed at during our Rarotonga holiday. Disregarding the restaurant, this accommodation was my most favourite among the three.

The garden bungalow we stayed in was very spacious, the bed was comfortable, bathroom was clean. The room had A/C and a fan, a flat screen Sony TV, a stereo and an old-style key safe.

Couldn't hear any noise from the road and was really glad we had a garden bungalow as it was very windy during our 2-night stay and bungalows at the beach must have been very exposed.

The beach was nothing special, but it was tranquil (as opposed to Muri Beach!), and I never had the opportunity to try the hotel swimming pool which looked nice (albeit tiny) as it was always occupied. The hotel is also a short walk from Wigmore's supermarket (the only place outside Avarua with reasonable grocery prices) and Waima restaurant (the best restaurant on the island).

In regards to breakfast - it was basic but I found it reasonably satisfactory. Would imagine fresh local fruits to be available though.

There are no dogs at the beach, however there is a cat at the property.

If you're after a quiet time off, away from 'mass tourism' (although it does not exist at Rarotonga as such), this is the perfect place, especially for families.

Room Tip: Garden bungalow (particularly on windy days!).
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews