We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront Paradise!”
Review of Palm Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Grove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vaimaanga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2008

I planned my retirement vacation to Rarotonga for over a year. TripAdvisor and Epinions (and especially LordBalfor) helped me decide on Palm Grove as the place at which I most wanted to stay -- especially their beachfront units.
It was everything I could have hoped for -- and more, since the beachfront units now have air-conditioning too! We stayed in a garden unit for six days and then a beachfront unit for two days. Both were wonderful, but the beachfront unit was absolutely excellent. I loved watching the water from the deck with my morning coffee or evening Pina Colada. We used the air-conditioning constantly when we were in the garden unit, but the sea breeze kept us cool enough in the beachfront unit that we didn't need to use it at all there. Both types of units were clean and nicely furnished.
When we were there in mid-to-late-April, there were not very many other people. If we saw four or five others on the beach, we considered it a "crowd"! We did meet and spend time with several other guests while there.
The Palm Grove grounds are lush and well-kept. The beach is beautiful, and you can walk far along it in either direction, if so inclined. Chairs, kayaks and snorkeling equipment are provided. The office staff is helpful. The Yellow Hibiscus restaurant (on site) has delicious food and drink, and serves a fine continental breakfast. There is a pool and barbeque by the garden units. There are laundry facilities and a few shelves of books too.
We spent several days at one of the larger resorts as well. If I were to go back again, I'd stay at the Plam Grove, in a beachfront unit, the whole time!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank home_dog_bliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
There are newer reviews for Palm Grove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 558 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2008

Palm Grove is by far the best!!!! We have just returned home (got in an hour ago) and could not wait to write a review about Palm Grove. The staff were absolutely wonderful. We had so much fun and they kept us laughing every time we were around them. Those personal touches really made the difference. The room we had was better than some of the rooms in other places members of my family and friends had (according to them) and they were paying more for theirs! The beach was gorgeous. It was cleaner and quieter than many of the others.

We could not fault the service, quality and value for money. We want to go back and will certainly go back to Palm Grove if we do. Our recommendation is that you stay, dine and use Palm Grove as your base while you are in Rarotonga.

Great service, great staff, great facilities and great fun!!!!

Lydia and Wayne

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lyd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

The Palm Grove restaurant, property, staff and the beach were just awesome. During our seven night stay we did eat elsewhere on a number of occasions but couldn't go past the service and quality of the Palm Grove Restaurant.
The staff were especially attentive to our two teenagers who had a lot of fun with them.
The snorkelling IS the best from their beach - we took a lagoon cruise thinking we would see more closer to the reef but the tropical fish population in waist deep water off Palm Grove beach was better!
Location is great halfway round the Island and with their hire scooters we found it very easy to see and do everything we wanted to.
Palm Grove can be whatever you want it to be - great for families but just as secluded for couples.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2008

My Daughter and I are just back from our wonderful trip to Rarotonga. We stayed 5 nights at The Palm Grove and couldn't have asked for a more relaxing and hospitable place to stay. We had a Beach Front Unit and it was fabulous. The view from our balcony was breath taking. The food was wonderful and the staff were lovely, Nothing was a bother. I will be going back to Palm Grove and have already recommended it to family and friends. Do yourself a favour and stay there, you won't be disappointed. Thank you to everyone at Palm Grove. Exceptional service.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BrownFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

My girfriend and i just finished a week holiday at Palm Grove where we stayed in a one bedroom superior room ( about 200m from the beach across the road)
We found the resort to be excelent with a great little restaurant, one of the better priced ones on the island. We visted most of the other resorts and beaches on our scooter durring the week and think Palm Groves beach was one of the best. It was a lovely spot to swim and good snorkelling .The staff were very friendly and had no problems durring the week.
The only issue we had was that the air conditioning unit was right above the bed and was noisy durring the night and yes the toilet paper was cheap!
Be prepared for the supermarket prices on Rarotonga! ( food is very expensive) and its nearly cheaper to dine out every night.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank shaunNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Palm Grove for one week and loved our beachfront bungalow. Ok the interior was not of latest design but island style, which I think most of the hotels in Rarotonga has, since Cooks Island is not a place to go if you want to live jetset life. We loved the location and the facilities in the bungalow, it felt very Rarotongan and nice but maybe not in a lavish way. Need to comment the earliers comments about the staff. We agree that the girl working in the reception might not be the most friendly one and sometimes a bit lazy, but she was never rude and it never botherd me. The restaurant belonging to Palm Grove was not very good but you don't have to go there during your stay. The breakfeast were as expected for a 3 star hotel, nothing more nothing less.

I would defenetliy recomend the beachfront villas and Palm Grove.
Cooks Island was my dream trip and I think that our Bungalow lived up to all our expectations, I didn't see any villa who had a better beach front location than those on palm grove and I had lunch at almost all the nicer hotels when we were there so we had the chance to inspect them all.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Krabban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Apologies for writing this review so late, but just wanted to let you know what we thought of this hotel. We stayed here in November 2006 and it was lovely. The owner picked us up for free from the airport.

We had a beachfront room which was beautiful. The interior was a little dated but the size and facilities were good. The sound of the waves at night was very romantic and you were quite secluded on your balconies. Unfortunately the night before we got there a few of the beach bungalows had been burgled but they were now patrolling the beach to keep them secure. We had no problems at all and felt quite safe.

The breakfast was very good, we lovely tropical fruits and the dinner in the evening was also very nice. The waitresses were very happy and attentive but you have to remember that it is raro time, which is alot slower than most of us are used too.

The beach was empty and pure white sounds, I was a little dissappointed at the number of sea cucumbers but you can always wear reef shoes!

There is a bus stop outside the hotel which travels around the island, we got this to go to an Island night in the town at the 'staircase' restaurant. The food here was alright but it was the entertainment was great. Be sure to know what time the last bus leaves though so you can get back to the hotel!

I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaimaanga
0.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
3.3 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
1.9 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Address: P.O. Box 23, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Vaimaanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vaimaanga
Price Range: $149 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the enchanting area of Vaimaanga on the stunning southern coast, Palm Grove enjoys the tranquility of one of the best locations on Rarotonga. 26 individual bungalows are scattered over 5 acres of landscaped beachfront and garden property. Bungalows are available in studio to 3-bedroom layout and feature kingsize beds, kitchen facilities, aircon, flatscreen TV, and private patio/balcony. Property amenities include our onsite restaurant and bar, swimming pool, guest BBQ, laundry facility, tour desk, and motorbike rentals. All guests receive complimentary daily tropical breakfast buffet and use of kayaks, snorkel equipment, beach chairs and beach towels. Welcome to Palm Grove, your private piece of paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Hotel Vaimaanga
Palm Grove Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing