We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure holiday bliss!”
Review of Palm Grove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palm Grove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vaimaanga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2008

The Palm Grove restaurant, property, staff and the beach were just awesome. During our seven night stay we did eat elsewhere on a number of occasions but couldn't go past the service and quality of the Palm Grove Restaurant.
The staff were especially attentive to our two teenagers who had a lot of fun with them.
The snorkelling IS the best from their beach - we took a lagoon cruise thinking we would see more closer to the reef but the tropical fish population in waist deep water off Palm Grove beach was better!
Location is great halfway round the Island and with their hire scooters we found it very easy to see and do everything we wanted to.
Palm Grove can be whatever you want it to be - great for families but just as secluded for couples.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (557)
There are newer reviews for Palm Grove
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 557 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2008

My Daughter and I are just back from our wonderful trip to Rarotonga. We stayed 5 nights at The Palm Grove and couldn't have asked for a more relaxing and hospitable place to stay. We had a Beach Front Unit and it was fabulous. The view from our balcony was breath taking. The food was wonderful and the staff were lovely, Nothing was a bother. I will be going back to Palm Grove and have already recommended it to family and friends. Do yourself a favour and stay there, you won't be disappointed. Thank you to everyone at Palm Grove. Exceptional service.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BrownFamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

My girfriend and i just finished a week holiday at Palm Grove where we stayed in a one bedroom superior room ( about 200m from the beach across the road)
We found the resort to be excelent with a great little restaurant, one of the better priced ones on the island. We visted most of the other resorts and beaches on our scooter durring the week and think Palm Groves beach was one of the best. It was a lovely spot to swim and good snorkelling .The staff were very friendly and had no problems durring the week.
The only issue we had was that the air conditioning unit was right above the bed and was noisy durring the night and yes the toilet paper was cheap!
Be prepared for the supermarket prices on Rarotonga! ( food is very expensive) and its nearly cheaper to dine out every night.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank shaunNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Palm Grove for one week and loved our beachfront bungalow. Ok the interior was not of latest design but island style, which I think most of the hotels in Rarotonga has, since Cooks Island is not a place to go if you want to live jetset life. We loved the location and the facilities in the bungalow, it felt very Rarotongan and nice but maybe not in a lavish way. Need to comment the earliers comments about the staff. We agree that the girl working in the reception might not be the most friendly one and sometimes a bit lazy, but she was never rude and it never botherd me. The restaurant belonging to Palm Grove was not very good but you don't have to go there during your stay. The breakfeast were as expected for a 3 star hotel, nothing more nothing less.

I would defenetliy recomend the beachfront villas and Palm Grove.
Cooks Island was my dream trip and I think that our Bungalow lived up to all our expectations, I didn't see any villa who had a better beach front location than those on palm grove and I had lunch at almost all the nicer hotels when we were there so we had the chance to inspect them all.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Krabban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2008

Apologies for writing this review so late, but just wanted to let you know what we thought of this hotel. We stayed here in November 2006 and it was lovely. The owner picked us up for free from the airport.

We had a beachfront room which was beautiful. The interior was a little dated but the size and facilities were good. The sound of the waves at night was very romantic and you were quite secluded on your balconies. Unfortunately the night before we got there a few of the beach bungalows had been burgled but they were now patrolling the beach to keep them secure. We had no problems at all and felt quite safe.

The breakfast was very good, we lovely tropical fruits and the dinner in the evening was also very nice. The waitresses were very happy and attentive but you have to remember that it is raro time, which is alot slower than most of us are used too.

The beach was empty and pure white sounds, I was a little dissappointed at the number of sea cucumbers but you can always wear reef shoes!

There is a bus stop outside the hotel which travels around the island, we got this to go to an Island night in the town at the 'staircase' restaurant. The food here was alright but it was the entertainment was great. Be sure to know what time the last bus leaves though so you can get back to the hotel!

I would definately recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2007

If you need a place to totally unwind then this is it, peacful, except for the roosters,but they roam the island, and you do get used to them. We stayed in the Beachfront Garden Bungalow, very private from the other little cabins, which is all they really are . The bathroom was huge but very small shower, no room to share!!! The linen could do with an upgrade, more cotton less polyester, nothing nicer than slipping into cool cotton sheets after a warm day on the beach.
However the facility is very good, welcoming, and helpful. Breakfast is basic, fresh fruit and cereals, toast etc. You can get more if you want for not a huge extra charge.
Evening meals are good and reasonable, and very plentiful.The restaurant and bar staff are great, very good to deal with and happy to make any kind of cocktail you want, and they are very generous with these and very reasonably priced too.
The pool whilst it might be small is very nice, and has a good shade area next to it so you can lounge without burning.
My husband and i needed a total rest and thats what we got, the happy hour on Friday nights is great, as is the BBQ on Sunday, i would recommned the Swordfish, its divine. I would go back again, to Palm Grove, it was much better than the Major resorts which cater to children.... not wanted on my holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank grandmajuliaof6kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2007

We stayed at Palm Grove for three nights during October.

Palm Grove has a perfect spot on the Island. The view is just breathtaking when staying in a beachfront studio as we did (B5).
Every morning you would wake up seeing beautiful blue water and nice golden sand! The breakfast was great too, a good selection of foods!

I do agree with the previous review that the bungalows do back on to the main road of the island so can be a tad noisy. I also agree with the previous review regarding the toilet paper. You don't expect cheap toilet paper when paying over $300 a night!


Overall I loved this resort for the view and how quiet it was so making it a perfect relaxing spot!!

We also stayed at the Rarotongan for 4 nights before hand to experience the two different types of resorts. I have posted a review.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank toopyloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaimaanga
0.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
3.3 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
3.8 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
1.9 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Grove

Address: P.O. Box 23, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Vaimaanga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vaimaanga
Price Range: $150 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Grove 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the enchanting area of Vaimaanga on the stunning southern coast, Palm Grove enjoys the tranquility of one of the best locations on Rarotonga. 26 individual bungalows are scattered over 5 acres of landscaped beachfront and garden property. Bungalows are available in studio to 3-bedroom layout and feature kingsize beds, kitchen facilities, aircon, flatscreen TV, and private patio/balcony. Property amenities include our onsite restaurant and bar, swimming pool, guest BBQ, laundry facility, tour desk, and motorbike rentals. All guests receive complimentary daily tropical breakfast buffet and use of kayaks, snorkel equipment, beach chairs and beach towels. Welcome to Palm Grove, your private piece of paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Palm Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Hotel Vaimaanga
Palm Grove Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing