We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise from a hammock”
Review of Cooks Bay Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vaimaanga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooks Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradise from a hammock”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed at the Cooks Bay Villas as part of a large family group in three Villas. The Villas were perfect as they gave each of us enough privacy (ensuite bathrooms and each Villa with it own kitchen/lounge) while being close enough to move easily between the three Villas. Cooks Bay Villas is more like a private resort/ boutique accommodation. The Villas are on the beach - literally. The stretch of beach that runs along the front of the Villas become our pseudo hallway and was a stark contrast to a 'big resort' which would have been our other accommodation choice for this trip. It was easy to fall in love with Cooks Bay Villas - the little details were taken care of - free snorkeling equipment and kayaks that you could take anytime you wanted, a tap to wash off the sand before you entered your villa, candles on the table, fruit platters each day. Our hosts were engaging without being overbearing and went out of their way for us on numerous occasions. The neighboring properties are houses, so it felt very private and like we had our own private beach - away from the madding crowd. I had no problem leaving personal belongings on the beach while we were swimming or kayaking - it felt very safe and private. I highly recommend Cooks Bay Villas for both large groups/families and couples.

Room Tip: All the Villas are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheAmandas2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
67
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darfield, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Wow, wow and wow! What a fantastic holiday in the best ever surroundings alongside wonderful people. Shine, Tara and the whole team you are all fantastic, helpful and friendly. You have the most amazing vacation premises we have ever been to. Wonderfully clean, modern and so very well equipped both inside and out.
We had been looking forward to this our first family holiday with our 5 and 15 year old sons together and we were not disappointed in the slightest. Even on a wet day, lazing in front of the large tv with heaps of movies at hand provided a great relaxing blob out day.
Renewing our wedding vows was made extra special with the beautiful and thoughtful gifts, Tara your voice is amazing and we love revisiting our memories whilst listening to your CD.
It was also special to meet your children who are so delightful and a credit to you.
Some guests may prove 'a challenge' at times but please rest assured they are a minority and you handled yourselves very professionally. ;) We are saving hard for the next visit and struggling to get back into normality.
Thanks guys ka kite ano xo

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Coppings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

If you're looking for a totally relaxing holiday in an absolutely gorgeous setting, then look no further! Shine and Tara have created a slice of heaven and we wouldn't hesitate to go back again. The villas are spacious and clean, and have everything you need to enjoy your holiday. Just a couple of steps from the front door and you are on the most beautiful secluded beach, where you can enjoy snorkeling, kayaking or just lying in the shade reading your book while the kids play all day. A few steps down the road you will find the well-equipped Wigmore's store and the Coco Latte cafe which makes a great espresso and the best coconut milkshakes. We were so relaxed, we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Huge thanks to Tara and Shine for making us feel so welcome at their stunning villas. They are just magical with all the little details thought of - kayaks, hammocks, ipod docs for music, snorkel gear and life jackets, clean modern villas with 2 bathrooms and each with it's own spa!! And we found the location so brilliant with a cafe down the road and Wigmores Supermarket - so useful when holidaying with small children (not to mention $2 icecreams!). And because there are only 5 villas, it's just so private and peaceful...we went down the road to another resort for a drink and were shocked to remember we were actually travelling in peak school holidays...at the villas we were in our own little private bubble. Without a doubt, we'll be back. Just wish it was tomorrow!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jodie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Shine and Tara were the best hosts ever. They go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. It was.
The accommodation was immaculate 10/10
The resort was spotless 10/10
Large fruit platter every morning 10/10
Free kayaks, free snorkel use, free reef shoes.
The pool area, fantastic.
BBQ area spotless.
The hosts were the best I have ever came across and I have been all around the world.
They gave us a free night back into our 3 villas after our airline cancelled our flights and refused to accommodate us. The villas had been cleaned on our departure and Shine insisted we stay there. Beautiful serene area. You can't go wrong if you choose this one. Very new villas overlooking the lagoon. Can't say enough about how fantastic this place is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marion F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka Town District, null, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

What a great place to stay: an excellent villa with all the things you need, an amazing view (from inside your villa and from your own private deck). You just step on the beach and right into the Lagoon. A magical place to see all those beautiful fishes. And if you wanna go on the water, you grab your own private kayak. Shine & Tara are wonderfull hosts that make you feel very welcome and at home. Everything is very clean and tidy. Your own private Spa pool is also very nice to have. In one word: everything is "PERFECT" here. If you are looking for accommodation on Rarotonga: only one place: Cooks Bay Villas !! We surely come back. Many thanks. Sonja & Filip, Golden Bay in New Zealand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sonja V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We travelled as a party of 10 and stayed in 3 of the villas at Cooks Bay Villas. CBV's is amazing, everything that the photos show and more. The villas are very clean, self contained and well laid out, everything has been thought of. Each bedroom has its own bathroom which was perfect for our party. The movie channel on the TV was ideal for when the kids needed some quiet time. Everything is well maintained and cared for and the cleaning girls do a fantastic job. The start up pack was great to get us going and the fruit platter every morning was wonderful. There is a supermarket over the road which was well stocked. The views are AMAZING. You step off your patio area straight onto sand and then just a few steps to the amazing lagoon. The fish were incredible in the lagoon and you didn't have to go far to see them. Hammocks, kayaks, snorkelling, life vests and reef shoes are all provided. On windy days the pool area is lovely. "Vaima" is a restaurant 1 minutes walk away and it served the most wonderful food at reasonable prices if you feel like having a night off from cooking. Our hosts Shine and Tara (& families) are the most beautiful, kind hearted people you will ever meet. Nothing is a problem and they went over and above helping us with what we wanted to do. My husband and I were renewing our vows after 15 years of marriage and the girls organised/made head garlands, neck Ei's, made a big love heart in the sand out of flowers as well as presenting us with a lovely gift which also was to celebrate my 40th. I didn't get to celebrate my 40th as we were saving up for our Cook Island holiday so it was very special that they had remembered. They helped make it a very special day for us all. But their generosity and kindness was truly shown when our plane got cancelled and we were stranded at the airport at midnight. Shine took all 10 of us back in and gave us beds for the night as well as organising somewhere for us to go the next day. I highly recommend CBV's as the place to stay when visiting the Cook Islands. We can not begin to thank you enough for our amazing holiday and look forward to staying with CBV's in the future, Lisa, Paul and clan xxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaimaanga
0.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
553 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
724 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooks Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooks Bay Villas

Property: Cooks Bay Villas
Address: | Vaimaanga Beach, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Vaimaanga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vaimaanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooks Bay Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooks Bay Villas (CBV) nightly tariff ranges between: NZD$395 - NZD$495per night and is situated on the unspoiled white sandy beach of Vaimaanga, Rarotonga Cook Islands. We offer a wonderful opportunity to indulge yourself in a little luxury, while being able to enjoy the serenity and seclusion of one of the most beautiful locations in the Pacific. Cooks Bay Villas embraces modern polynesian architecture and styling with all villas being absolute beach front, with spectacular views across the lagoon to distance ocean wave breaks. Our Villas include the following:~ Two separate bedrooms with ceiling fans, air-conditioning and separate walk-in en-suites, a King Split Beds in each room that can be set into single beds~ Spacious living area opens onto expansive private balcony with outdoor teak dinning furniture, teak loungers and day-bed~ Fully self contained and well equipped with all modern amenities with Full kitchen facilities including an electric oven, gas top stove, full fridge/freezer, microwave and each villa has its own (Ultra Violet) treatment water system~ Entertainment embraces a 40inch LED TV, Home Theatre, Stereo/Hard drive consisting of movies, documentaries, tv series, cartoons, music etc. Telephone and WIFI-Internet connection~ Each villa have a Private outdoor courtyard, accessible from both bedrooms and en-suites, outdoor shower, sitting area, clothes line and a small laundry with washing machine and tub~ Another fantastic feature of this property is that Villas 2, 3 & 4, having full wheelchair access and being disability friendly. Relation should be a way of life, so at Cooks Bay Villas we also offer guests a selection of on-site facilities and services to help you relax and recharge. We understand these little extras go a long way in helping you really enjoy your island experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooks Bay Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing