We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!!!”
Review of Cooks Bay Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vaimaanga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooks Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We love this place so much we have come three years in a row and have already booked for next year!! Everything you could need at your finger tips, so lovely and clean and easy living.Well designed, spacious villas right on the beach, with pool, spa love it! Great for a family or a couple. Thank Shine, Tara and family we love your place and will come back again and again!!

Room Tip: All are goo your can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrenaMino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 139 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

My husband and I love Rarotonga and have stayed many times over the years. This time we stayed at Cooks Bay Villas and it was exceptional. The villas are spacious, modern, cool, comfortable and affordable. In fact I almost don't want to share this island treasure.

Shine and Tara also made our stay even better. So friendly and thoughtful. I am looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: We were in the middle villa. It was great. The celings are high, we were close to the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank EiljB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just want to a leave a wonderful thank you to Shine and her family for our best holiday ever. Everything was seamless. There was nothing more to ask for. We travelled from Australia with a long stop over in Auckland. The international transfer lounge is so set up for everything that you need in transit that the time went by quite quickly. We could keep the children's technology charged which assisted with the smooth trip.
Arriving at Cooks Bay Villas was like a dream come true. A wonderful warm welcome at 0200am and a cosy bed awaited us. My parents had one villa and our little family of 5 stayed in a villa next to them. Time went by way too fast and everyday we were sad that we knew we would eventually have to leave. So much thought had gone into the design of the villas that each day felt like a privledge to be able to stay there. We would certainly love to go back in a heartbeat. Envious of anyone about to travel to the Cooks Bay Villas - you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our second time at Cooks Bay Villas and we loved it. We enjoyed snorkeling directly in front of the villa, rinsing off the sand under the sun and then sitting in the spa in the rear courtyard. The view of the lagoon is sensational and the villa is well-equipped, very modern and comfortable. The owner/managers are very friendly and helpful and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Having been to Raro a couple of times before this is by far the best place I have stayed, and if return will definately be back. We were only there for 3 nights on our way to Aitutaki, but it was just lovely. The room, the view, the pool, the whole setup is excellent. I did not think we would use the spa but did a couple times after snorkelling which was great. We cooked our own breakfast each morning which makes life easy. The location is great as well close to Wigmores supermarket for bits and pieces. Coffee at Coco Latte and we had a wonderful meal at Viama one night.
Dont hesitate booking here you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RobCre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

As per the other reviews, the location and beach are excellent. The units' level of finishing is exceptionally high - not just for the Cooks, but by NZ standards. Furnishings, kitchen, baths and audio-visual equipment were all first-class. Identical bedrooms with separate en suites made sharing with another couple easy (vs. the coin toss of who gets the tiny bedroom). Kayaks and snorkeling equipment were also first rate, with "glass bottom" kayaks a treat. Pool was good for days with too much wind and BBQ area was spotless. While the units are spaced well enough apart – akin to the other luxury destinations – say Royal Takitumu, keep in mind that CBV is very much a "child friendly" destination. No problem with that, but you might have a bit of a playground in front of the adjoining villa if parents don’t care to go the few steps down to the beach with their kids.

Room Tip: units 1 or 5 are on the ends and 1 has a bit of extra space to its side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mojo464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here on two occassions and the location and accommodation is exceptional... the beach is right in front of our covered deck and the two bedroom villas are huge the two bedrooms each with bathroom en-suite. The kitchen is a full kitchen with quality appliances, cutlery and dishes etc. A supermarket is just across the road. The place is spotlessly clean. There are only 5 villas all on the beach and a central swimming pool, not big but adequate. Free use of kayaks snorkelling gear etc. Each villa has its own spa pool washing machine and private courtyard. The positive energy we receive from staying here is what draws us back. The pace of life relaxing. We cycle around the island and use scooter or car. We use the Crown Beach for entertainment as the villas do not have night entertainment just peace and quiet listening and watching the surf on our doorstep. It is true paradise.....

Room Tip: All the villas are the same each about 160 sq meter all total beach front so all are excellant. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Geoff and Yana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaimaanga
0.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.1 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
1.6 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooks Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooks Bay Villas

Address: | Vaimaanga Beach, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Vaimaanga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vaimaanga
Price Range: $288 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooks Bay Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooks Bay Villas (CBV) nightly tariff ranges between: NZD$395 - NZD$495per night and is situated on the unspoiled white sandy beach of Vaimaanga, Rarotonga Cook Islands. We offer a wonderful opportunity to indulge yourself in a little luxury, while being able to enjoy the serenity and seclusion of one of the most beautiful locations in the Pacific. Cooks Bay Villas embraces modern polynesian architecture and styling with all villas being absolute beach front, with spectacular views across the lagoon to distance ocean wave breaks. Our Villas include the following:~ Two separate bedrooms with ceiling fans, air-conditioning and separate walk-in en-suites, a King Split Beds in each room that can be set into single beds~ Spacious living area opens onto expansive private balcony with outdoor teak dinning furniture, teak loungers and day-bed~ Fully self contained and well equipped with all modern amenities with Full kitchen facilities including an electric oven, gas top stove, full fridge/freezer, microwave and each villa has its own (Ultra Violet) treatment water system~ Entertainment embraces a 40inch LED TV, Home Theatre, Stereo/Hard drive consisting of movies, documentaries, tv series, cartoons, music etc. Telephone and WIFI-Internet connection~ Each villa have a Private outdoor courtyard, accessible from both bedrooms and en-suites, outdoor shower, sitting area, clothes line and a small laundry with washing machine and tub~ Another fantastic feature of this property is that Villas 2, 3 & 4, having full wheelchair access and being disability friendly. Relation should be a way of life, so at Cooks Bay Villas we also offer guests a selection of on-site facilities and services to help you relax and recharge. We understand these little extras go a long way in helping you really enjoy your island experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooks Bay Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing