We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Cooks Bay Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vaimaanga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooks Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our second time at Cooks Bay Villas and we loved it. We enjoyed snorkeling directly in front of the villa, rinsing off the sand under the sun and then sitting in the spa in the rear courtyard. The view of the lagoon is sensational and the villa is well-equipped, very modern and comfortable. The owner/managers are very friendly and helpful and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Having been to Raro a couple of times before this is by far the best place I have stayed, and if return will definately be back. We were only there for 3 nights on our way to Aitutaki, but it was just lovely. The room, the view, the pool, the whole setup is excellent. I did not think we would use the spa but did a couple times after snorkelling which was great. We cooked our own breakfast each morning which makes life easy. The location is great as well close to Wigmores supermarket for bits and pieces. Coffee at Coco Latte and we had a wonderful meal at Viama one night.
Dont hesitate booking here you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RobCre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motueka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

As per the other reviews, the location and beach are excellent. The units' level of finishing is exceptionally high - not just for the Cooks, but by NZ standards. Furnishings, kitchen, baths and audio-visual equipment were all first-class. Identical bedrooms with separate en suites made sharing with another couple easy (vs. the coin toss of who gets the tiny bedroom). Kayaks and snorkeling equipment were also first rate, with "glass bottom" kayaks a treat. Pool was good for days with too much wind and BBQ area was spotless. While the units are spaced well enough apart – akin to the other luxury destinations – say Royal Takitumu, keep in mind that CBV is very much a "child friendly" destination. No problem with that, but you might have a bit of a playground in front of the adjoining villa if parents don’t care to go the few steps down to the beach with their kids.

Room Tip: units 1 or 5 are on the ends and 1 has a bit of extra space to its side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mojo464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here on two occassions and the location and accommodation is exceptional... the beach is right in front of our covered deck and the two bedroom villas are huge the two bedrooms each with bathroom en-suite. The kitchen is a full kitchen with quality appliances, cutlery and dishes etc. A supermarket is just across the road. The place is spotlessly clean. There are only 5 villas all on the beach and a central swimming pool, not big but adequate. Free use of kayaks snorkelling gear etc. Each villa has its own spa pool washing machine and private courtyard. The positive energy we receive from staying here is what draws us back. The pace of life relaxing. We cycle around the island and use scooter or car. We use the Crown Beach for entertainment as the villas do not have night entertainment just peace and quiet listening and watching the surf on our doorstep. It is true paradise.....

Room Tip: All the villas are the same each about 160 sq meter all total beach front so all are excellant. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Geoff and Yana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Beautifully situated on the south shore with amazing snorkeling right on your doorstep! The villas were excellent, had everything you needed for cooking your own food and were just like new. Delicious fruit platter delivered each morning. The hammock provided great entertainment for my husband. Great separate bedrooms off the living area with own LARGE bathrooms that had entry to the outdoor hot tub. Also had a great deck/porch that faced the beach with outdoor furniture to laze around and play cards outside and night :) Heat pumps in the bedrooms and fans in all rooms were a great help for staying cool for sleeping. Kayaking and snorkeling equipment on hand. Close to Wigmore's Store and Vaima restaurant. Organised our island night out and scooter rental through reception. Would definitely stay here again. In fact the couple next to us were on their 8th visit to Cooks Bay Villas! If there was one thing that I could have changed it would have been for a firmer bed (personal preference).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CurRobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The villas provided the perfect setting for a luxurious holiday situated right on the beach. The large ensuite bathrooms with double sinks were light and spacious and the kitchen very well equipped with everything you need. The equipment provided for snorkeling, kayaking and such was always available and in good repair. The service provided by Tara, Shine and the team was excellent and the daily fruit platter was devine! Absolutely fantastic, relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dutch215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The villas exceeded our expectations, and were immaculately presented, including all the equipment (BBQ, snorkeling equipment, life jackets and Kayaks. Nicely set out for maximum family comforat and fun. Highly receommeded for a a relaxing getaway. Living on the beach at its best. Really friendly staff and owners.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaimaanga
0.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
1.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
151 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
710 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooks Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooks Bay Villas

Property: Cooks Bay Villas
Address: Vaimaanga Beach | PO Box 3018, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Vaimaanga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vaimaanga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooks Bay Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooks Bay Villas (CBV) nightly tariff ranges between: NZD$395 - NZD$495per night and is situated on the unspoiled white sandy beach of Vaimaanga, Rarotonga Cook Islands. We offer a wonderful opportunity to indulge yourself in a little luxury, while being able to enjoy the serenity and seclusion of one of the most beautiful locations in the Pacific. Cooks Bay Villas embraces modern polynesian architecture and styling with all villas being absolute beach front, with spectacular views across the lagoon to distance ocean wave breaks. Our Villas include the following:~ Two separate bedrooms with ceiling fans, air-conditioning and separate walk-in en-suites, a King Split Beds in each room that can be set into single beds~ Spacious living area opens onto expansive private balcony with outdoor teak dinning furniture, teak loungers and day-bed~ Fully self contained and well equipped with all modern amenities with Full kitchen facilities including an electric oven, gas top stove, full fridge/freezer, microwave and each villa has its own (Ultra Violet) treatment water system~ Entertainment embraces a 40inch LED TV, Home Theatre, Stereo/Hard drive consisting of movies, documentaries, tv series, cartoons, music etc. Telephone and WIFI-Internet connection~ Each villa have a Private outdoor courtyard, accessible from both bedrooms and en-suites, outdoor shower, sitting area, clothes line and a small laundry with washing machine and tub~ Another fantastic feature of this property is that Villas 2, 3 & 4, having full wheelchair access and being disability friendly. Relation should be a way of life, so at Cooks Bay Villas we also offer guests a selection of on-site facilities and services to help you relax and recharge. We understand these little extras go a long way in helping you really enjoy your island experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooks Bay Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing