We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Cooks Bay Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vaimaanga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooks Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Wonderful accommodation, nicely decorated, beautiful beachfront location, and importantly with all the amenities indoors (washing machine, aircon, and a properly equipped kitchen with good knives, and decent frypans) and outdoors (free kayaks, snorkelling gear and a pool)
Location was perfect with the supermarket and a good cafe 1 minute walk in one direction and vaima's restaurant 2 minutes walk in the other.
Shine and Tara were wonderful hosts, we will be back

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank freddagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 139 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a wonderful holiday here with 3 friends and highly recommend it. Beautiful beach front views, and a lovely villa which is just great for a relaxing holiday. We did quite a bit of home catering on this trip and the kitchen was great to cook in, and the outdoor dining table great for al fresco dining. Having the option of sea or pool is great, as well as the (small) spa pool. Plenty of books and dvds available, as well as snorkeling gear and a kayak. The hosts and associated staff are lovely - really friendly and helpful. The only small oddity is the fact that there isn't a toilet door as such between bedroom and bathroom (there is a painted brick wall divider between bedroom and bathroom and the toilet is discretely tucked away in the corner of the large bathroom with double basins). Sorry, hard to explain. The design of the villa means as there is space at the top of the wall between both bedrooms which are side-by-side, it's not exactly soundproof if you are chatting. So, know your friends well if you're going on a group holiday ;-) Other than that, highly recommend - it's a beautiful part of Raro, and will happily return in future. The sisters have lovely taste and it's an attractive home away from home ... what a view!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Maxi69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My family and I spent 11 days at the Cooks Bay Villas. Great place for families, we had my parents with us so we took camp stretchers for the kids. Huge rooms with great indoor outdoor flow, plenty of room for all 6 of us. The villas are stunning and very clean. It rained the first few days so the large deck was great for the kids. This place is definitely beach front. This is great self catering accommodation and fab for kids. This would be a very cool place to go if planning a wedding, you could hire all five villas! Photos of this place do not do it justice. When I return to Rarotonga I will be staying at cooks bay villa again. Ps, the fruit platters in the morning a great to wake up to.

Room Tip: All villas are perfect, built with privacy in mind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just had another fantastic stay at Cooks Bay Villias.
These villas are very impressive & stylish.
I have had several vsits to the Cooks over the years and wouldn't stay anywhere else!
Thanks guys for an awesome stay.

Picture Perfect .... Paradise!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Vivienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place was fantastic. The Villa's are stunning and I didn't even realise until I got there that we get our own spa. The beach front was stunning and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The Villa's inside are beautiful and spacious and I felt like I was at home. I did not want to come home and my husband and I plan to visit annually especially coming home feeling absolutely relaxed. A big thanks to Shine, Simon and Tara, you are all wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jaimieleigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We went with another couple and found one Villa for 2 couples fabulous. They are so spacious and with a bathroom for each bedroom, it was heaven. Just a few steps from the front of the villa and you were in the sea,swimming, snorkeling, sailing, at your door. Just along from the super market and fabulous restaraunts, so no problem having a wine with dinner or self catering. We just walked back.The cafe just a few doors down made the best smoothies I have ever had but the best part was the people What a delight to find such friendly, helpful, happy, hosts. Tara and Shine you are the best..If you are looking for a relaxing easy place to spend time away, don't make it a short stay. This is the place to go.We went in June and the waether was perfect One wet day in 10 just gave us the excuse to read.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Wow! What can I say that hasn’t already been said? We spent 18 days at Cooks Bay Villas during June/July and had a wonderful time.
We enjoyed the spa in the private courtyard at rear as well as the shower there; it’s so great to shower under the sun after a long snorkel in the lagoon.
It was good to have a safe for our valuables and the washing machine was very handy, especially when staying for a couple of weeks.
The kitchen is fabulous, bigger than my kitchen at home and everything we needed for preparing a meal was provided.
Great to also have a super-comfy couch each as well.
The view from the patio is truly amazing (you can see the lagoon from the beds as well), and the outdoor furniture was very handy, as was the hammock.
There is a huge TV with DVD player as well as a separate CD player. (I always take some chill-out CD’s; music really adds to the atmosphere).
Such a spacious, comfortable and luxurious villa made it so easy to pass the time for the few days when the weather was not so good.
Sitting in the warm spa and sipping on champagne in the rain was another experience we will cherish!
A short walk to Wigmore’s store for anything you need and Viama Restaurant just up the road in the other direction was very convenient.
We were very pleasantly surprised with the clarity of the water in the lagoon right out front of the villa where we saw a fantastic number of beautiful tropical fish, a turtle, an octopus as well as several eels (some large morays and some smaller black and white ones).
We snorkeled at Fruits of Rarotonga (Titikaveka), and in the other direction, up near the Rarotongan (Rutaki), and the water was not so clear at either of these places.
Water clarity and variety of fish are very important to us, as we both love snorkeling.
There is a great library (books as well as DVD’s) in the Reception area as well as lots of magazines and information about what to do and see in Rarotonga.
Shine, Tara and Simon were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaimaanga
0.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
1.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
4.1 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
2.4 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
171 reviews
4 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooks Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooks Bay Villas

Address: | Vaimaanga Beach, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Vaimaanga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vaimaanga
Price Range: $292 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooks Bay Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooks Bay Villas (CBV) nightly tariff ranges between: NZD$395 - NZD$495per night and is situated on the unspoiled white sandy beach of Vaimaanga, Rarotonga Cook Islands. We offer a wonderful opportunity to indulge yourself in a little luxury, while being able to enjoy the serenity and seclusion of one of the most beautiful locations in the Pacific. Cooks Bay Villas embraces modern polynesian architecture and styling with all villas being absolute beach front, with spectacular views across the lagoon to distance ocean wave breaks. Our Villas include the following:~ Two separate bedrooms with ceiling fans, air-conditioning and separate walk-in en-suites, a King Split Beds in each room that can be set into single beds~ Spacious living area opens onto expansive private balcony with outdoor teak dinning furniture, teak loungers and day-bed~ Fully self contained and well equipped with all modern amenities with Full kitchen facilities including an electric oven, gas top stove, full fridge/freezer, microwave and each villa has its own (Ultra Violet) treatment water system~ Entertainment embraces a 40inch LED TV, Home Theatre, Stereo/Hard drive consisting of movies, documentaries, tv series, cartoons, music etc. Telephone and WIFI-Internet connection~ Each villa have a Private outdoor courtyard, accessible from both bedrooms and en-suites, outdoor shower, sitting area, clothes line and a small laundry with washing machine and tub~ Another fantastic feature of this property is that Villas 2, 3 & 4, having full wheelchair access and being disability friendly. Relation should be a way of life, so at Cooks Bay Villas we also offer guests a selection of on-site facilities and services to help you relax and recharge. We understand these little extras go a long way in helping you really enjoy your island experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooks Bay Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing