We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best people. Best place.”
Review of Cooks Bay Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vaimaanga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cooks Bay Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We went with another couple and found one Villa for 2 couples fabulous. They are so spacious and with a bathroom for each bedroom, it was heaven. Just a few steps from the front of the villa and you were in the sea,swimming, snorkeling, sailing, at your door. Just along from the super market and fabulous restaraunts, so no problem having a wine with dinner or self catering. We just walked back.The cafe just a few doors down made the best smoothies I have ever had but the best part was the people What a delight to find such friendly, helpful, happy, hosts. Tara and Shine you are the best..If you are looking for a relaxing easy place to spend time away, don't make it a short stay. This is the place to go.We went in June and the waether was perfect One wet day in 10 just gave us the excuse to read.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Marg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 138 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

Wow! What can I say that hasn’t already been said? We spent 18 days at Cooks Bay Villas during June/July and had a wonderful time.
We enjoyed the spa in the private courtyard at rear as well as the shower there; it’s so great to shower under the sun after a long snorkel in the lagoon.
It was good to have a safe for our valuables and the washing machine was very handy, especially when staying for a couple of weeks.
The kitchen is fabulous, bigger than my kitchen at home and everything we needed for preparing a meal was provided.
Great to also have a super-comfy couch each as well.
The view from the patio is truly amazing (you can see the lagoon from the beds as well), and the outdoor furniture was very handy, as was the hammock.
There is a huge TV with DVD player as well as a separate CD player. (I always take some chill-out CD’s; music really adds to the atmosphere).
Such a spacious, comfortable and luxurious villa made it so easy to pass the time for the few days when the weather was not so good.
Sitting in the warm spa and sipping on champagne in the rain was another experience we will cherish!
A short walk to Wigmore’s store for anything you need and Viama Restaurant just up the road in the other direction was very convenient.
We were very pleasantly surprised with the clarity of the water in the lagoon right out front of the villa where we saw a fantastic number of beautiful tropical fish, a turtle, an octopus as well as several eels (some large morays and some smaller black and white ones).
We snorkeled at Fruits of Rarotonga (Titikaveka), and in the other direction, up near the Rarotongan (Rutaki), and the water was not so clear at either of these places.
Water clarity and variety of fish are very important to us, as we both love snorkeling.
There is a great library (books as well as DVD’s) in the Reception area as well as lots of magazines and information about what to do and see in Rarotonga.
Shine, Tara and Simon were wonderful hosts and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

When you get here you will see that what the website pictures show isn't as good as the reality. Tara and Shine were so friendly and helpful. The villa was spotlessly clean and we couldnt fault it. We booked here because there were only 5 villas and wanted privacy and peace and we got it in bucketloads. The villas are quite a way from town but when you are working on the Cook Islands pace of life it doesnt matter as you can amble across the road to the bus stop and get to town when you get there. The only downside for us was that the villas are on the windy side of the island and it got a bit chilly some days, but, hey, it was the middle of winter and far better than the NZ weather!

Room Tip: If you choose Villa 1 or Villa 5 you will only have neighbours on one side of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Piglethead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Words can't describe how truly wonderful Cooks Bay Villas is! We had a fantastic stay. Accommodation very clean and well kept, staff very friendly and helpful.
Loved the fresh fruit platters on the deck each morning. Very well equipped villa with everything you could need. Only downside is the ensuite not having it's own door but other than that, perfect! Love the outdoor shower, and the spa was nice to relax in at the end of the day. We will definitely return and have recommended this to many :)

Room Tip: All rooms perfect location!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Having stayed in a hotel for the first few days of the vacation, I didn't truly relax until we arrived here.

Family run by people who really "get" customer service ... Shine is ex- Qantas and it shows.

There was milk butter and bread in the fridge along with tea, coffee & cereals for brekkie. You did not need to leave until you felt like it much later in the morning! Fresh fruit delivered daily was more than adequate for 3 adults and a toddler too.

The lounge/kitchen area we well appointed in a home from home style which included an iPod dock, large flatscreen TV and home theatre along with a separate sound system. All the pots and pans, plates and cutlery and tupperware was well though about too.

I LOVED the daybed on the verandah which was fought over on a daily basis for afternoon naps!!!

Outside shower is also useful and fun for the kids. There is a Spa but it remained unused during our stay.

Things to consider:
- there is ceiling space above the bedrooms so that it is easy to hear bedroom one to another. OK for families, but if you are 2 couples you will need to know them quite well.
- no doors on the bathrooms so you have to close the bedroom door when visiting.

The beach is wonderful for strolls and snorkeling (you can borrow gear from reception) and we saw more fish here than in Muri lagoon (much fewer people too).

Wigmores Superstore over the road, Vaiima's excellent restaurant, and the cafe (name escapes me) opposite Wigmores all worth a visit too.

Would love to go back, but already full for the week we need next year :-(

Room Tip: All Villa's are identical, just opposite layouts for odd & even numbers. None seem to be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank GoFlyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We resently vacationed in Rarotonga and stayed at the Cooks Bay Villas.

Before I start to describe the Villas let me begin by saying that the hosts are exceptional. Shine, her husband Simon, sister Tara and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay an experience we will never forget.

The villas are very well planned and not a detail missed in my opinion. From the private outdoor shower through to the front balcony area, complete with a foot wash basin to keep the sand from entering the living area. For detailed info/pictures visit the Facebook page for Cooks Bay Villas.

The villas are on the south side of the island, with a beautiful beach at your doorstep and the best snorkelling I have ever seen. The water is calm and the fish/coral plentiful.

Check in/out was efficient yet personalized. We were greeted at a very early hour, after flying overnight, and immediatley knew we had made the right choice. Shine showed us to our villa, gave us a quick tour and made us feel welcome. Our departure was late in the evening but we were still greeted and invited to return again.

These few words can not come close to describing our experience but I can say we want/plan to return as soon as possible.

The villas are beautiful but the people are exceptional!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank SUNCKERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This was our 4th visit to the island travelling with 3 other couples we shared 2 Villas. We could not have been happier with our choice! The Villas were everything we had hoped for and more. The location was perfect, close to Wigmores, walking distance to both Vaima and Yellow Hibiscus (Palm Grove). The snorkelling was the best we have experienced in all our visits and right on our doorstep - no need take a tour. Shine, Tarah and Simon were gracious hosts and respected our privacy but were available to assist when needed. This is not a 'resort' and does not have daily maid service. What it does offer is a prime location and well designed, comfortable and fully equipped accommodation allowing for a truly relaxing vacation.
We would highly recommend Cooks Bay Villas and are now spoiled for any place else.

Room Tip: AC in the bedrooms at night was appreciated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank r10th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaimaanga
0.1 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
3.7 mi away
Te Manava Luxury Villas & Spa
1.5 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
569 reviews
2.4 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooks Bay Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooks Bay Villas

Address: | Vaimaanga Beach, Vaimaanga, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Location: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga > Vaimaanga
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Vaimaanga
Price Range: $287 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooks Bay Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cooks Bay Villas (CBV) nightly tariff ranges between: NZD$395 - NZD$495per night and is situated on the unspoiled white sandy beach of Vaimaanga, Rarotonga Cook Islands. We offer a wonderful opportunity to indulge yourself in a little luxury, while being able to enjoy the serenity and seclusion of one of the most beautiful locations in the Pacific. Cooks Bay Villas embraces modern polynesian architecture and styling with all villas being absolute beach front, with spectacular views across the lagoon to distance ocean wave breaks. Our Villas include the following:~ Two separate bedrooms with ceiling fans, air-conditioning and separate walk-in en-suites, a King Split Beds in each room that can be set into single beds~ Spacious living area opens onto expansive private balcony with outdoor teak dinning furniture, teak loungers and day-bed~ Fully self contained and well equipped with all modern amenities with Full kitchen facilities including an electric oven, gas top stove, full fridge/freezer, microwave and each villa has its own (Ultra Violet) treatment water system~ Entertainment embraces a 40inch LED TV, Home Theatre, Stereo/Hard drive consisting of movies, documentaries, tv series, cartoons, music etc. Telephone and WIFI-Internet connection~ Each villa have a Private outdoor courtyard, accessible from both bedrooms and en-suites, outdoor shower, sitting area, clothes line and a small laundry with washing machine and tub~ Another fantastic feature of this property is that Villas 2, 3 & 4, having full wheelchair access and being disability friendly. Relation should be a way of life, so at Cooks Bay Villas we also offer guests a selection of on-site facilities and services to help you relax and recharge. We understand these little extras go a long way in helping you really enjoy your island experience. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cooks Bay Villas Rarotonga, Cook Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing