We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Meals everytime” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Yellow Hibiscus

The Yellow Hibiscus
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Vaimaanga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Polynesian, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Open-air restaurant open 7 days a week for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner. Casual dining at affordable prices. Reservations recommended for dinner. Ask about Friday Happy Hour and Sunday BBQ dinner.
Auckland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Meals everytime”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We tried several different meals ,mostly dinner but 1 lunch,the food was tasty , well presented and good service always with a smile, we couldnt ask for more than that ,many thanks to the chef very nice house special cocktail too

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiwis2NthShoreAuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    96
    39
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were casual diners at the Sunday night BBQ buffet. Fish or steak. We thought the food was great, a nice variety of dishes to choose from with Pacific flavours. They had live music which was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful and fitted us in even though we hadnt booked. Price was $35 adult and $20 for our 9yr old.
This restaurant is attached to Palm Grove resort. We would certainly return to this resort for the Sunday night buffet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Casual dining in a relaxed atmosphere, tasty quality meals with a good variety of dishes. Friendly staff and service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangiora, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Bad/slow service and the food was pretty poor. We spent 10 days in Rarotonga and ate out for every meal and this was the worst place easily. So disappointing. There was 4 of us and we all thought the same thing. Got back home and a friend said him and his wife had eaten there and didn't like it at all either.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sezza_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fresh surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

A little jewel in the pacific- I was absolutely taken with the freshest of fish and the jovial staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 47rugrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yellow Hibiscus also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Yellow Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing