We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vidago Palace Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Primavera Perfume Hotel(Vidago)(Great Value!)
$89
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$79
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residencial Casa Das Termas(Chaves)(Great Value!)
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Petrus Hotel(Chaves)
$46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residencial Brites(Chaves)(Great Value!)
$39
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$38
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AJ(Chaves)
bedfinder
View Deal
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveler rating
600
78
16
5
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
600
78
16
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvidago palacegolf coursebreakfast roombeautiful buildingmain restaurantnorthern portugaldining roomsoutdoor poolshort breakamazing hotelamuse bouchewater jetspublic areasrui paulafive star hoteltasting menubar food
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 706 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We had the most memorable holiday at Vidago. One would think this is due to the wonderful renovated palace and the facitlities. It is ofcourse that but most of all it is the fantastic people that work there. We stayed for 11 nights with our 11 months daughter and they just took care of her needs better than I do! One can eat at the restaurant, the golf club, the bar and the pool restaurant and everywhere they remembered each time how much mashed her food needs to be. Their kids menu was fantastic and everything we asked was immediately provided. The genuine kindness, interest and hospitality of the people working there is unmatchable. The grounds, the hotel common areas and our room were fantastic and done to perfection. it was as if we have just moved in the room, everything was pristine and perfect. The common areas are breathtaking and the spa facilities divine. They have a fantastic chef at the ballroom which is the main restaurant whle their somelier is excellent. We had a wine tasting of Portuguese wines which were fantastic. The visitors were mainly Portuguese familes with grandparents accompanying, as well as couples and one could see that everyone had a fantastic time. coming back home was tough and we can't just wait to go back again - perhaps New Year's!

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel which overlooks at the forest and it was great. The rooms at the front overlook at the terrace and the front garden and they are equally quiet and beautiful!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed for just one night at the Vidago Palace as part of a 10 day holiday in northern Portugal. The hotel has been tastefully restored and certainly has the "wow factor". We were a little worried at first that it might be too formal but the staff were all very welcoming, particularly the receptionist, and were pleased to show us the facilities. The dining room, breakfast room and staircase were all beautiful, as were the bedrooms (ours was small but perfectly formed!) and grounds. As a contrast to the period charm of the hotel, the modern pool and spa area was stunning. I was particularly keen on the large pool-side beanbags! We decided to eat dinner in the hotel, which was expensive but delicious. It was a shame there were so few other diners. Breakfast was also very good. Our only small complaint was that our room was too warm at night despite the air conditioning, but the weather was hot and humid. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cegidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We arrived Vidago Palace with high expectations, and they were all met! The historic buildings are beautifully restored, the new extension (SPA with the best jacuzzi I have ever seen) fits in well, and the service is attentive without being "too pushy." Dining room and breakfast hall are both fantastic, food is very good (though dinner is a bit expensive and the wine list could easily be expanded). Without any doubt, a truly 5-star experience, highly recommended.

Room Tip: The junior suites are good value for money. Bigger space is always nice, especially if travelling with kids. Room 401 is great.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegard14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Well restored recreaiting the original Palace with all is "soul " .
The dining room is beautiful ,the food very good and the service really five stars . Breakfast is superb (the room and the food) .
Our room was a deluxe room with a big bed and lots of space .The bathroom is excellent - large and beautiful .
The spa is very good and the staff very professional .
And the park - the park is magnificent !!! Beautiful and well tended allow us to walk inside the it savouring the singing of the birds and the shadow of the old trees !
I enjoyed very much my stay in the Vidago Palace Hotel and and I will surely return as soon as I can !!!

Room Tip: The difference betwween rooms is the size because the hote is in the midle of the park and allthe rooms have the same view and noise !
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max_Luca_Porto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. The staff were charming and helpful. The grounds were well kept and extensive including a golf course. The outdoor pool area was spectacular. The food was great. The breakfast and the room it was served in was superb. If there is a hotel that truly deserves its 5* badge this is it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews