We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly out of place but utterly excellent”
Review of Hotel Cidnay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cidnay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Tirso
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Utterly out of place but utterly excellent”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had booked into a Turihab Quinta a few miles from here, but the accomodation was a tad biblical, so we left swiftly. Santo Tirso was the nearest town, so we headed fro there, expecting somewhere pretty basic to rescue the situation for the night. The hotel had large directional signs throughout the small town, so arrival was easy. The hotel is built into a hillside on the edge of town, so when you walk into the lobby. the hillside opposite comes into view, through a large, comfortable lounge and terrace. Reception staff are efficient, helpful and human ie, they care about your stay. The rooms are cool,( unfortunately not decorated with the same flair as the rest of the hotel), good sized, clean, quiet with effective air con. Breakfast is in an excellent dining room, with an impressive breakfast, including smoked salmon, eggs, bread, hams, cheese, fruit etc. Parking and wifi are free.
This is a very impressive hotel which is in an incongruous place; it is a hotel you would normally find in a big city. Excellent

Room Tip: The rooms are below lobby level, as the hotel is built into the hillside. The rooms on level 2 are b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarksdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    62
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
28
5
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Nice modern hotel with good views situated in a small town not far from Porto airport so an excellent place to stay for a first night before travelling on. The shower/bath could do with an upgrade in the room that we had but otherwise could not fault the hotel. The continental breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrudyShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Etienne, France
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a well run small hotel. Rooms have been recently renovated, room service, breakfast buffet and food quality are all good. Their gym is small (only one treadmil) with old equipment and internet access could be bettter. The staff however are nice and efficient. If you need to sleep in Santo Tirso this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: On floor -1 you have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEX R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Unfortunately I arrived very late in the evening and had to leave very early in the morning because I was working on a big event in a nearby town. But the hotel impressed me for the kindness and efficiency of its staff upon arrival, the size of the room and ammenities,the nice and clean bathroom and next day a very good breakfast before departure. If you do not have to leave so early you can even order a box of fresh baken «jesuitas» (a local speciality) to be delivered at 9.30 am at the reception.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IsabelTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a very nice, compact hotel overlooking the hills and agricultural landscape of Santo Tirso. Santo Tirso is about halfway between Porto and Braga. The rooms are comfortable and clean, perhaps a little small but you get a private balcony as well. The bar was pleasant enough and there was a terrace one could sit on. The restaurant was good in the main with a decent wine list of local and Douro wines. Sometimes the service was a bit slow, but that is the way in Portugal. The reception staff were very nice indeed. I'd go back.

Room Tip: all the rooms are at the back of the hotel, stepped down a terrace and covering 2-3 floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Professor58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Situated in an extremely pleasant small town, the hotel is in a wonderful position with a panoramic view
from rooms and resturant and balcony. The service was excellent and the hotel immaculately clean. The price we paid was extremely reasonable. Lovely continental breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westsussexmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I recently spent four nights here on a business trip and had an excellent experience from start to finish. All of the staff are very professional, courteous and genuinely friendly. My room was spotless and the balcony was an unexpected surprise! Excellent free Internet was provided and the signal was very strong throughout my stay. Breakfast was excellent with a huge range of food to meet the tastes of all guests, it was particulalrly nice to be able to eat outside. We ate at the restaurant on three occasions and the food was fabulous - and matched by the enthusiasm and customer service from the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and made for three lovely evenings. For the price paid, I would recommend this hotel unreservedly and will return in the future for a leisure break.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Tirso
21.1 mi away
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
14.2 mi away
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Nature
Sao Felix Hotel Hillside & Natur...
#1 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
163 reviews
16.0 mi away
Axis Vermar Conference & Beach Hotel
Axis Vermar Conference & Beach H...
#2 of 10 in Povoa de Varzim
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Park Hotel Porto Valongo
18.3 mi away
Monverde Hotel
Monverde Hotel
#2 of 4 in Amarante
220 reviews
7.4 mi away
Quinta do Pinheiro
Quinta do Pinheiro
#1 of 1 in Pacos de Ferreira
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cidnay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cidnay

Property: Hotel Cidnay
Address: Rua Dr Joao Goncalves, Santo Tirso 4784-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Santo Tirso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Tirso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cidnay 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cidnay Hotel is located in Santo Tirso, a small town with 20,000 inhabitants, the heart of the most developed economic area of Northern Portugal. It was designed to offer comfort and an excellent service together with tradition and modernity. The whole common area with open spaces and inside gardens is an invitation to well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Cidnay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing