We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first class hotel”
Review of Hotel Cidnay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cidnay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Tirso
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Situated in an extremely pleasant small town, the hotel is in a wonderful position with a panoramic view
from rooms and resturant and balcony. The service was excellent and the hotel immaculately clean. The price we paid was extremely reasonable. Lovely continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westsussexmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 140 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

I recently spent four nights here on a business trip and had an excellent experience from start to finish. All of the staff are very professional, courteous and genuinely friendly. My room was spotless and the balcony was an unexpected surprise! Excellent free Internet was provided and the signal was very strong throughout my stay. Breakfast was excellent with a huge range of food to meet the tastes of all guests, it was particulalrly nice to be able to eat outside. We ate at the restaurant on three occasions and the food was fabulous - and matched by the enthusiasm and customer service from the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and made for three lovely evenings. For the price paid, I would recommend this hotel unreservedly and will return in the future for a leisure break.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was a pleasant surprise. Went for business, but wished we could have just kicked back and relaxed there for a few days. Very pleasing view from every room. Wonderful outdoor eating. Excellent breakfast. Free parking in front of the door.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We we're there for a couple of days for a wedding and didn't have a lot of expectations about this hotel. Its located in St. Tirso, a city that is not known for any major points of interest, more of a suburb of Oporto. However it is perfectly located near some of the most interesting cities in the north of Portugal: Oporto, Guimarães and Braga. All around 15 minutes distance by car.

The hotel itself is very good. The rooms are impeccable and nicely decorated. The staff is welcoming and the breakfast was top notch. I have to admit the price we payed was great value for money too.

An hotel to come back the next time we go to the area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fprata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This 4 star hotel has everything any travel needs. The staff the architecture the breakfast, all makes You feel at home. In the quiet town of Santo Tirso, over looking the mountain so cosy. only 25 Km from Porto and perfect for business if You are on the north of Porto.

Room Tip: Any room is nice, may be over looking the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I stayed here recently on a business trip, and was very impressed. Room with a sofa and work desk, and balcony! The restaurant menu is exquisite.
Definitely stay there again if I get the chance. Free internet too, which is a boost!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redwards81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

My partner and I have been staying at Cidnay every August for the last 2 years.
The apartments are huge, and if you get a roof top terrace you're laughing...sun all day!!
we just do our own thing and enjoy every day. Good value, great location,
we WILL be back in August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harise j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santo Tirso
13.9 mi away
Villa C Boutique Hotel
Villa C Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Vila do Conde
197 reviews
12.4 mi away
Axis Porto Business & Spa Hotel
11.2 mi away
Hotel de Guimaraes
Hotel de Guimaraes
#4 of 19 in Guimaraes
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Torre de Gomariz Wine & Spa Hotel
13.7 mi away
Star Inn Porto
Star Inn Porto
#47 of 108 in Porto
845 reviews
12.4 mi away
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
Pousada Mosteiro Guimaraes
#2 of 19 in Guimaraes
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cidnay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cidnay

Address: Rua Dr Joao Goncalves, Santo Tirso 4784-909, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Santo Tirso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santo Tirso
Price Range: $112 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Cidnay 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cidnay Hotel is located in Santo Tirso, a small town with 20,000 inhabitants, the heart of the most developed economic area of Northern Portugal. It was designed to offer comfort and an excellent service together with tradition and modernity. The whole common area with open spaces and inside gardens is an invitation to well being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Cidnay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing