We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelente relation prive quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excelente relation prive quality”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

It is classified as a 4 Star hotel but in fact its service, rooms, exterior swimming pool, the beautiful landscape and the kindness of all staff turns it into a 5 Star. The only part of the hotel that does not fit is the Spa. The staff is very professional and attentive. The massage room is comfortable, the temperatura of the pool water was perfect. The sauna and the turkish steam bath serie appropriate. But, there is a great but, the pool is very small, the rest place has few deck chairs for relaxation for the hotel capacity. There some thing to improve to achite perfection
Very good the pianist/singer who played and sang and made that Saturday night very pleasant.
We wiil return and Tave some frendes wish us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    172
    55
    10
    3
See reviews for
92
232
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I stayed here or three nights and loved every minute of it.

The reception staff is helpful and friendly. The rooms have an ideal view, are cosy and still very practical.

The best thing to this hotel though (other than the views), is definitely the spa. The treatments , although on the pricey side, are excellent and I am a picky customer when it comes to treatments. The swimming pool in the spa, is small but with the fountains, it's really pleasant to be in there. Sauna and Hamman are clean and at a perfect temperature.

The restaurant is nice but I have to agree with some of the previous comments; it's very formal and doesn't give much room for a holiday feel. There are some lovely places near the hotel though (the receptionist are happy to advise on those).

I don't think this is a hotel to bring children to, much more for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coppelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We allowed ourselves an extended weekend to commemorate our 29th anniversary at this hotel which we didn’t know at all. And it became indeed a fine surprise. Definitely very good and real value for money. It deserves absolutely much more awareness.

Splendid and imaginative architecture design, cared and novel deco details, very professional and polite service and, above all, an amazing and luscious calmness. It seemed as the world buzz has stopped. The antique background of the old house is brightly fused in a very modern and quite comfortable ambience, but without disturbing the scenery.

One or two golf courses in the nearby would be the perfect complement to the fantastic landscape views and the splendid gastronomy of the area. With such resorts like this, the Douro Valley must become one top tourism destination all around the year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This is a newly built hotel on an old property. The modern architecture is nicely integrated into the surroundings, All rooms feature balconies with lovely views over the river valley.
The rooms themselves are a bit on the small side but very comfortable and tastefully decorated. The staff were wonderful: warm, smiling, helpful all the way.
The pool area is lovely although we did notice that the hotel was not very full so it could probably get a bit crowded if there were more people around. But while we were there it was super.
Restaurant was good, nice combination of traditional Portuguese with a modern twist. We had a problem with one dish, the plate was removed promptly and a fresh one prepared, smiles and apologies all the way, very professional. If we had any complaint it would probably be that the poolside barsnacks we had weren't great and a bit overpriced, but that was a very minor quibble.

Be aware that the hotel is somewhat isolated so there aren't really any nearby alternatives to eating in the hotel. But again,we wanted to relax so that suited us fine.

In summary, we loved our stay at this hotel and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on 2nd floor probably have best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCMh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampenhout
2 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2011

This hotel was very quiet - The rooms are very nice - personel very kind and personel always wanting to help !
Excellent food ! The soupes were not our favourites - eating and drinking together and not possible to eat the main course afterwards.
Nice swimming pool, but the water too cold, even in July !.
TOP !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DidierenAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here as our son was getting married to a Portugese girl in the village church. As many of 14 our family stayed here for about a week with us and all of them thought the Douro Palace was excellent. The staff deserve particular praise as nothing was too much trouble. With such a large party we were constantly asking for help making and re-arranging trips and requests for taxis etc. All our requests were dealt with in an unruffled and professional manner and there was always a smile and friendly reassurance that all would be well. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast as excellent, varied and well prepared and presented. The restaurant is also to be recomended.

Well done the Douro Palace you deserve to be very successful.

Room Tip: Dealt directly with the hotel by e-mail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Les B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The way to get there might be a bit tricky, but it is definitely worth a stay. Once there, don´t bother much about sightseeing the neighbourhood: it has everything you need. An excellent restaurant and bar, nice spa and outdoor pool area. You might even try a walk down to the river through the propertys wineyard. Rooms offer a nice view of the Douro river and surrounding wineyards. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monopteros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz do Douro
12.0 mi away
Vila Gale Douro
Vila Gale Douro
#1 of 6 in Lamego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
11.6 mi away
Casa da Calcada Relais & Chateaux
24.8 mi away
The Vintage House Douro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Douro Park Hotel
Douro Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Resende
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
19.9 mi away
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
Agua Hotels Mondim de Basto
#1 of 1 in Mondim de Basto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
4.5 mi away
Douro Royal Valley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa

Property: Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa
Address: Lugar de Carrapatelo - Santa Cruz Do Douro, Santa Cruz do Douro, Baiao 4640-423, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Baiao > Santa Cruz do Douro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Cruz do Douro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa, invites you to a unique experience of comfort and elegance in an informal atmosphere, where history and the contemporary are to be found side by side. Various spaces await your discovery, offering unforgettable moments of leisure. Professionalism, comfort, quality and the excellence of our services is our objective, which will allow you to return to the day-to-day concerns with a rested spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douro Palace Hotel Resort & Spa Portugal/Santa Cruz Do Douro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing