We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We got a bargain but would never have paid full price.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Vicko

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vicko
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We got a bargain but would never have paid full price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We turned up here because we were looking for tourist info (so we could book private accommodation through them) and saw a Tourist Information sign so went in and said we had a budget of 300Kn (40 euros) per night. The man at reception gave us a room for this price for 2 nights, which we later discovered was slightly less than half the normal price. This was in mid-Sept.
The room was fine and had a good view out of the window. We didn't eat there as we found cheaper options.
Unfortunately the first night there was a disco which sounded like there it was under our room. Luckily I'd brought ear plugs. I didn't feel like we could complain as we had a cheap rate.
The booklet in the room repeatedly mentioned the good customer service they provide however I did not see any particularly special efforts being made. Saying this, it also wasn't bad.
Good location for Paklenica National Park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
27
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rijeka
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed in Vicko hotel ***
Rooms are clean but should be updated: furniture is old, no good place to put bigger suitcases; should use full covers for blankets (it's a mess during sleeping with a blanket and a sheet)
Nice terrace.
Bathroom very clean - a shelve in the shower would be a big plus.
Food - simple, local - very good mussels made in traditional way, calamari..
Breakfast - good
Highlight - personnel - all very helpful and friendly ( to mention are: Mr. Miro for sights, tours, tips and organization, Mr. Jozo in the restaurant)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ela_Rijeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Nice and clean small hotel. Very good food in rastaurant and good service. Not too cheap...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coyoteZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bavaria
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Two locations: one above towards the hills, called *** "hotel Vicko", the other at seafront, called **** "Villa Vicko". Latter aims at ****, more ***. We also saw one Hotel room in the *** part, definetly in our eyes not *** whichfore we went for the villa Part which is what we rate:

+ : seafront, clean, close to NP entrance, heater, balcony

- : exaggerated (!!!) pricing, small breakfast, small balcony, no Mini bar, no complimentary Drinks, no included WLAN, etc.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hightower875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

The hotel was clean and comfortable with staff going out of their way to be kind and helpful.
The food was great with the chef creating exceptional vegetarian dishes.
All staff were friendly and were happy to book excursions and give advice on the local area.
Overall we were very happy with the whole Hotel Vicko experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaymaker0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokra, Slovenia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

We stayed in Vicko in early season. We chose in the "villa" part. The view was great (the house - not really a villa! - is situated on the beach). I specifically asked about the heating, since it was chilly and rainy outside. The receptionist confirmed that the heating works properly - but it did not. Luckily we had enough blankets.

The room is very basic, TV had such a bad signal that we could not watch it. The heating system was not working at all (I do not know how is it with cooling). Breakfast was great though and the view from breakfast room was nice, too.

Overall the price is much to high for what we were getting. Be ware: the prices listed in reception desk are PER PERSON and NOT PER ROOM! So we thought we will pay for one night + breakfast for two persons 47€, we ended up paying almost a hundred! In early may!!

When I complained about the heating I was just told: "We had it serviced, it should work." The guy did not even check it out. We were very unhappy with the managers' reaction to our complaint.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanaSlovenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Starigrad-Paklenica hotels

odsmal
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

They advertise their doublas at up to 56 euro in Links und Rechts der Autobahn.
Upon arrival the price is 80 euro and up for a camped room overlooking a garbage dump.
The whole place has long passed its best before date.
The owner is very rude and outright unhelpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank borsgarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Starigrad-Paklenica
2.4 mi away
Pansion Kiko
Pansion Kiko
#2 of 4 in Starigrad-Paklenica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
14.0 mi away
Zaton Holiday Resort
1.2 mi away
Bluesun Hotel Alan
Bluesun Hotel Alan
#1 of 4 in Starigrad-Paklenica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Rajna
Hotel Rajna
#4 of 4 in Starigrad-Paklenica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
15.9 mi away
Pinija Hotel
Pinija Hotel
#2 of 9 in Petrcane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aparthotel Buratovic
Aparthotel Buratovic
#1 of 2 in Vinjerac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vicko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vicko

Property: Hotel Vicko
Address: Ulica Jose Dokoza 20, Starigrad-Paklenica 23244, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Starigrad-Paklenica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Starigrad-Paklenica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vicko 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vicko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing