We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cut youself off from the world”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rawene
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Postmasters Lodgings
Ranked #1 of 1 Rawene B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I found this Guesthouse on an article i read entitled 'Unusual places to stay in New Zealand'. And unusual... and wonderful, it is!
The Postmaster's Lodgings is a building that used to be the home of the old postmaster in colonial New Zealand times. The old post office itself is next door but when the postal system got revolutionised the system called for the mass closing of post offices.
It is a wonderful old colonial house with some authentic touches such as the lanterns outside and the wooden flooring. Each of the boutique bedrooms has a different style of decoration. The room at the front of the house is quite dark but contains a spectacular four-poster bed and quite sultry, dark colouring with reds and burgandy colours. The room we stayed in was at the back of the house with three bright windows overlooking the picturesque Hokienga Harbour.
The town of Rawene in which the house is located is a small horbour town of a mere 425 people. There is a small shop and a fish and chip shop which closes every evening at 7pm. This ideallic place is perfect if you have a car and are exploring the northland. It almost seems untouched by modern times. The quiet out here is such a welcome change from the cities. The house has a verandah out at the back of the house where you can sit, relax and watch the sun go down (or up, as the case may be)
The owner, John, is very welcoming and friendly. He's an interesting man who plays his melodic classical music in the evenings while sipping on glasses of wine. The decor of the house is particularly vast, but fitting. He made the chandeliers himself from local woods, one of his many talents. He gave us lots of good advice on what to do and where to go. He made our experience there unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank christl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 39 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The hosts of the postmasters was extremely helpful from the moment I stepped in the door. The place is amazing with all the antiques everywhere. I had a wonderful breakfast with included local smoked bacon and sausages with the perfect poached egg.
Even tho I didn't get the chance to try the dinner menu it looked very, very good. Thank you John.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent two enjoyable nights at the Postmaster's Lodgings with Dorothy and John. It is a charmingly furnished historical property. The room we had was spacious with a good sized ensuite bathroom and free WIFI. Meals are taken on a deck at the rear of the property with extensive views over Hokianga Harbour. Dorothy is a more than capable cook preparing enjoyable dinners and breakfasts. John is an considerate and erudite host with whom we had many interesting discussions on a wide range of topics. He also keeps a wine cellar which I understand he will make available to guests, we had our own supplies which was perfectly acceptable.

Unfortunately Dorothy was not able to cook on Sunday night and the hotel across the road was a poor substitute.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank united33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Right at the bottom of Rawene close by the ferry John and Dorothy keep a tidy lodging. Good food, excellent wine and friendly conversation if you feel like it. I recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Rawene that this is one of the best places.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HokiTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

John & Dorothy made us really welcome, have great food, fabulous conversation and a dutch gin to toast the occasion!. The accomodation is really comfortable and a home from home. Rawene is well placed to tour Hokianga and Northland, and you're guaranteed a good rest and send off on your journey. Would really recommend Postmasters for a stop over and would definitely stay for dinner- a small but mouthwatering menu, supplemented with excellent wines. My 1st visit to Rawene on 5 trips to NZ and hope to make it up there on my next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet as far as I could tell- perhaps too much into my ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and also had breakfast and dinner at the hotel and had a great experience. The rooms are bian and all have en suites. We highly recommend staying with the hotel's friendly hosts John and Dorothy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank equinoxtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

This is a really unusual B&B. It is right down near the Quay in Rawene and is an old postmasters house. It was a cool and quiet oasis on a hot, dusty day.
The house is full of antiques and interesting things. My son spent the first hour looking for secret passages! Although he failed to find any, it did have that sort of feel!
Our bedroom had a 4 poster queen bed and another single with muslin curtains to draw across the alcove.
Wooden floors, high ceilings and clean white bedlinen.
There is a TV room with sky TV and good free wireless Internet access.
John the proprietor is friendly and welcoming, unfortunately his partner was away so no evening meals were available.
We went over to the fish and chip shop opposite and took our fresh Hokianga flounders and chips back to the terrace at the postmasters and shared them with the cat while admiring the beautiful view of the harbour.
If you like a minimalist and impersonal hotel room then this is definitely not for you.
We really enjoyed our stay and hope to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirajax327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rawene
11.9 mi away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Hokianga
21.3 mi away
Waipoua Lodge
Waipoua Lodge
#1 of 1 in Waipoua Forest
429 reviews
10.0 mi away
Opononi Hotel Limited
Opononi Hotel Limited
#1 of 2 in Opononi
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Opononi Lighthouse Motel
Show Prices

Been to The Postmasters Lodgings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Postmasters Lodgings

Address: 3 Parnell Street, Rawene 0473, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Rawene
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Rawene
Price Range: $68 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing