We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely spot and pub-ripoff humus starter” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach and Horses

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Coach and Horses
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely spot and pub-ripoff humus starter”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

went for a drink and light bite very busy place nice location however the humus and pitta bread was a complete rip off 4.95 for the smallest pot of humus I have seen with a round of pitta bread. come on even a more expensive restaurant locally can come up with this for the same price with a more generous portion. The Manager was quite rude to people in the bar that had children. I suggest if you don't want them put a big sign up rather than embarrass people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    174
    38
    19
    13
See reviews for
104
201
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at 6 p.m. and had to work our way through a cloud of smokers at the front door. They put the ashtray right in the door and the smell of cigarettes wafted into the pub. The staff said the kitchen would be open in 10 minutes. Then it was 25 more minutes to wait. Then we got sick of waiting and left. The couple next door to us got a similar set of lies and also left. It's such bad customer service to keep telling the customer they have to wait for a little more and a little more and just strining them along. The pub was way to loud to talk. We won't be back. We went across the road to the botanist gore instant service, food all organised and friendly. Much better not to have to deal with rubbish.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick B, Manager at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Hello Drew

First of all I am sorry that you arrived when the kitchen was closed and you couldn’t order straight away.

But I would like to add some context. The Kitchen was closed for 30 minutes, from 5.30pm until 6pm. At 6pm on the dot we started serving food again.
The reason the kitchen was closed for 30 minutes and the bar was extra busy, was the fact that England where playing Wales at Twickenham, only a few miles along the road.
On top of that it was an especially busy Sunday in Kew, due to the lovely sunny day.
Our Kitchen was flat out from the minute we opened.

We decided to close the kitchen for 30 minutes, so that the chefs could reorganise them self’s for dinner service.

Regarding the smokers, yes I agree that they tended to gravitate towards the door. But on very busy days it is hard to police people all the time.
I can assure you that we did our best to get people to move further away.

We have a good reputation for customer service and quality food. Hence the reason we were so busy.

I hope that if you are in the area again you give us a second chance

Regard, Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed at the Coach and Horses again in early February. Again the the bar was good and the bedroom on the top floor was good but not as good as other rooms we have stayed in at the Coach and Horses - but for 1 night it was fine. It was really pleasing that the Coach and Horses had taken note of my needs this time for a gluten free diet choice for breakfast and had organised gluten free cereal and bread. Many thanks for doing this - it does make a difference to be able to have bread. As well as gluten free bread the breakfast was as usual very good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithWiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is an old coaching inn style hotel on kew green, ideal for kew gardens.

The pub and restaurant are exemplary with an open kitchen serving great quality dishes gastro pub style.

As a hotel, its good, but not that good. The room we had was small, and overlooked a nasty bit of roof which for the price was not good, it was clean,ceverything was good quality, and it all worked so no complaints there.

Breakfast again, exemplary.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, any view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gda_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Great service, lovely food and stylish surroundings. The small touches on the menu made me laugh and the ambience was friendly and warm. Definitely a great regular for a good meal and a drink. Yes it's a pub but the menu is at a restaurant standard but with that great pub informality and lack of pretension.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDave300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night on a business trip. Good value and good location for Kew and national archives. Really clean, spacious and comfy room. Friendly pleasant staff. Nice bar with a great menu and real ales. Recommended!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank phillyndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Visiting Kew between Christmas and New Year we searched for somewhere to stay, and helped by Tripadvisor reviews, we decided upon The Coach and Horses. What a great decision. A lovely old world pub from outside, which looked over the village green at Kew.On entering you find a very welcoming bar area with a roaring wood fire in a large fireplace. To the left a spacious room, well named the library, and behind, the hotel reception and a lovely dining room with open plan kitchen. The accommodation, all very nicely presented, from what we could see, was above and behind the ‘pub area.
Food from the very good menu, could be taken in either the restaurant or the bar and ‘library’. It was well cooked, nicely presented, and good value. The wine list was also very good with some very drinkable budget bottles and some more expensive. There was the added bonus of excellent beer on draught in a very welcoming village style bar.
The hotel/pub is in a lovely spot; with a good car park, though parking is not a major problem around the ‘Green’. It is only 10 minutes walk from two stations, underground and overground, so to visit by rail is easy, and a trip to London less than an hour away. There is also a convenient bus service to Richmond. Kew village has several restaurants and interesting shops. A main gate to Kew Gardens is only about 2- 300 yards away.
And what was in Room 101? Well not the nasties from 1984. It was ground floor very spacious and light room. It was very clean and housekeeping was excellent. One slight problem was that the room had been designed, very well, for disabled/wheel chair visitors and the wet room was very wet and the mirror in the bathroom was very low and not well lit, so having a shave was bit of a problem. Altogether though a great room.
Hope we get the chance to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bright Fame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kew
0.5 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
2.2 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#2 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses

Property: The Coach and Horses
Address: 8 Kew Green, Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 3BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames > Kew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coach and Horses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just like the coaching inns of old, we provide a relaxed home-from-home for locals and visitors alike - and if you're staying with us, you can be assured of all the comforts and luxuries you'd expect from the best modern accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Coach and Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Coach And Horses Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing