We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful place to stay due to location, staff, food and value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Coach and Horses
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Well positioned for exploring Kew, Richmond and Twickenham, this lovely hotel/pub added a real bonus to our weekend away. Great rooms, food and service from helpful and friendly staff; and fantastic eggs benedict for breakfast set me up well for a stroll round Kew Gardens (opposite).

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheoneandonlyBirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

427 - 433 of 551 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2013

I went back here during a recent trip to London, and was pleasantly surprised with the unexpected refurb. The halls, reception and rooms are really clean, modern and well designed. The wool bed covers are a lovely touch and everything in the rooms are co-ordinated. The toiletries in the room are high quality and I loved the rubber duck :)

The breakfast room is simply stunning. I absolutely loved the design and lay out, with pastel shades, antique looking chairs and great wall designs. The quality of the breakfast is also really high. The egg's benedict are delicious :)

My only qualm is that the amazing pies seemed to have disappeared from the new trendy menu. I had been looking forward to a steak pie all day, and was disappointed to see it was no longer there :( The sausage and mash was tasty though!

I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel. It is in a fantastic location, in the beautiful Kew. Only 25-30 mins from central London by overland or tube.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed two nights on business.
Very comfortable room, clean, warm. Food lovely.
Management very evident, keeping an eye on everything. Welcoming.
Lovely staff, couldn't be more helpful.
Not very close to an underground station but lovely position near Kew Gardens.
Delicious breakfast.
Would definitely return. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devon2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights there recently and very much enjoyed our stay. The people are friendly, helpful and assist you with a smile. The location in Kew is convenient to everywhere in the area. Breakfast was generous and tasty. What's not to like? The mattresses are a bit soft, but the rooms are clean and fresh looking.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Ate her on Saturday night, lovely refurbishment and really liked the ethos etc, but sadly food awful, burger and chips , tasteless burger and chip SO greasy and tasted of stale oil, in edible, real shame, may be a one off but really basic cooking skills should not allow this to happen, coming back soon, to stay, but really not sure will eat there unless clearly better ....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here May 17th for one night and absolutely loved it! The staff were incredibly helpful. We went to see the evening performance of Les Miserables and a taxi firm was recommended by the receptionist,which came to pick us up after midnight, from the restaurant where we ate,in Covent Garden, after the show. Excellent taxi rate,wonderful breakfast,good clean room,would stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed for one night in two rooms. Very pleasant hotel. Very clean rooms. Quiet night. Would recommend and would happily stay there again. Breakfast was generous and relaxed and included in the room fee. Very glad we made this choice for our last night in London.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerLIb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kew
0.5 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
2.2 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,562 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#1 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#4 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
690 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#5 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Kew Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses

Address: 8 Kew Green, Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 3BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames > Kew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Price Range: $150 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coach and Horses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just like the coaching inns of old, we provide a relaxed home-from-home for locals and visitors alike - and if you're staying with us, you can be assured of all the comforts and luxuries you'd expect from the best modern accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your The Coach and Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Coach And Horses Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing