We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, comfortable room, helpful staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach and Horses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coach and Horses
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable room, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed here for two nights (Jan. 27 and 28) in room 103. Hotel location is about 10 minutes from Kew Gardens Tube Station and Kew Gardens. Bus stop for 65 and 391 is around the corner. Limited underground guest parking is available. You can either take the elevator or stairs to the parking garage. Luckily it was not a busy weekend so we did not have difficulty finding parking.

The room size is average and has air condition. The bed is king size, comfortable mattress and soft bed linens. In addition this room has, two side chairs, coffee table, portable electric heater, flat screen television with Freeview channels, desk, iron, ironing board, blow dryer, kettle, cups and saucers, teaspoons, selection of teas, milk, hot chocolate, biscuits, a couple of glasses. There are used books for sale as well. Bathroom towels and toiletries (i.e. shampoo, gel, lotion, bubble bath gel, shower cap) are good quality. The bedroom lighting is not that bright and cannot be adjusted. The bathroom lighting is okay. Bathroom does not have extraction fan so you have to use something to keep bathroom door ajar to let the steam out. By the way, there was a dirty cup and glass in the bathroom on our first night..... I guess the cleaning staff forgot to take it away. I called the front desk and a man brought over a cup/saucer, teaspoon, and glass.

Breakfast is included. Hot breakfast has 5-6 choices. I had eggs Benedict both days which I liked. My husband had English breakfast both days and said it was good. They also have cereals, fresh fruits, orange juice, apple juice, jug of water, coffee, tea, latte, sweet rolls (i.e. croissants, cinnamon rolls).

On Sunday, we had lunch at the restaurant and ordered roast beef with Yorkshire pudding, banana fritters with vanilla ice cream and lattes which we enjoyed very much.

I have three gripes. One is the not so bright bedroom lights, no extraction fan in the bathroom and Wi-Fi does not work all the time. I spoke to Carey at the front desk. She said Wi-Fi was on. Told her Wi-Fi is not responding. She was going to contact someone to see what can be done.

Carey, another lady who works at the front desk and restaurant staff are all helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    174
    38
    19
    13
See reviews for
104
201
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is a friendly, comfortable hotel. The staff are always helpful and you always feel welcome and included while you are staying here. The hotel is situated over a pub and in winter the log fire in the pub was very welcome. The room I stayed in was large, clean and comfortablke and I had no problems during my week stay. The food is good and there are a couple of great restaurants nearby as well.

My only gripe was the hotel WiFi system. The service is so intermittent as to make it completely useless. The hotel also seems to be in a 3G blackspot so it's difficult to connect via 3G as well.

If you like a warm comfortable hotel more friendly and personal than the normal chain hotels this is a great place to stay. If you need to be connected either be prepared to take a walk to a Starbucks for their free WiFi or don't stay here, you'll be too irritated to enjoy the charms of the place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have stayed at this place 3 or 4 times over the past 2 years. My comments are based on all visits.

The room size and standard vary GREATLY. Some rooms are very small and very poor value (they dont discount the small rooms so be careful). Other rooms are large and very good value for london. Make sure you check.

Very convenient to National Archives.

About 10 min easy walk to Kew Station.

Pub food / breakfast is good, but not spectacular.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavanpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Coach & Horses, Kew Green, Richmond, Surrey.

We have stayed here on many occasions over several years and felt it about time we did a review.

As the name implies, this is an 18th Century coaching inn, extended much more recently at the rear. The location at Kew Green, just on the Surrey side of Kew Bridge, makes it highly convenient from several standpoints. Although very popular with corporate clients, the hotel is an easy 15 minute walk from the National Archives at Kew (the reason we stay) and not too far from Kew Gardens. An underground car park for about 10 cars is a very useful facility and can be accessed via the hotel’s lift or stairs.

Entering from the road, the restaurant is on the left and the large bar on the right. In season, the latter has a wood fire. Beyond these rooms, one moves into the extension and to the reception desk and small seating area. Although there appears to be a steady staff turnover on the reception desk and in the food & beverage area, they have generally been friendly and helpful. Nick, the current manager, and his wife, Pippa, work hard and are extremely welcoming.

We prefer to opt for a “superior” room, all of which are located in the extension. These rooms have been fitted to a high specification, including air conditioning and double-glazing, the only gripe being the use of energy-saving lights, which (bathroom excepted) do not give a good overall light in the room. There is plenty of space for the provision of a king-sized bed (with a very comfortable mattress), a beautiful (and new) cosy feather duvet and a “pillow menu” with a choice of feather if required. We are extremely fussy about the comfort of beds in hotels round the world, and can honestly say that these are amongst the best, and compare favourably to our very expensive four figure bed at home! Also in the room are two lounge chairs and a dressing table, complete with hair dryer. Tea/coffee/hot chocolate-making facilities and biscuits are provided, as well as a Freeview TFT TV. Good-quality towels and toiletries are superior to those found in some more expensive hotels.

A hot breakfast is included in the room rate and offers a good selection. During our 2-night stay on 19/20 January 2012, the pastries were superb, whilst dried fruit in cinnamon was a treat.

The dinner menu is reasonable in its extent and the fish-and-chips is always a good staple. Being a Young’s Brewery property, steak & ale pie is offered but the last time we tried this it proved to be a disappointment. Prices for the food are not a bargain, whilst we judge bar prices to be high.

Overall, the Coach & Horses has enough plus points to make us return. Sometimes we have been woken early by red-eye flights in Heathrow because Kew is more or less on the glide path to the airport. Accommodation here is not cheap, currently up to £150 on weekdays, though convenience and quality of the product are major plus points.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back are generally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank masterecho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

friendly,warm and comfortable hotel.
many thanks for pleasant stay.
good rates if booked in advance.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank totnesjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed Dec 11 to visit London and take in the sights i.e. The London eye, winter wounderland, Buckingham palace, Big ben and so on.

The tube staiton at Kew gardens is a short pleasent walk and the houses along the way was described by my children as peter pan style.

The tube was about 30 minutes to westminster and all the other sights. Children under 10 travel free on tube and busses and an all day pass for an adult is £7.50 BARGIN! dont let the fact that this hotel is out side london put you off as you would probably buy an all day pass if you had a hotel in inner london.

The Hotel it self was really nice (posh) as my girls said. the rooms were quite big and really clean and quiet we all slept well.
The car park was a good plus as well as it is a safe under ground one and they allowed us to leave our car in it after check out allowing us to make the most of our last day.

We had a meal in the evening all three adults were well fed and thought the food was amazing!

I would go back and i would definatly recomend this hotel to everyone a big thank you to all the freindly staff at the coach and horses at kew will see you again soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daddymanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Room was absolutely shocking. I was placed in a single room which was somehow located within the roofspace with a window overlooking a flat roofspace. The room was clean enough but I slightly resented paying an expensive rate for such a tiny room. The shower was also exceptionally small (clearly below the standard size of a shower so that it could be fitted into the space available). I found myself showering with the door open as I would not have been able to move if I had actually closed the shower door! The shower would also quickly overfill. When I remarked to the receptionist on the way out she just replied "ok" instead of "we will take a look at it for you" or "we will fix it". The noise from the pub downstairs could also clearly be heard within my sleeping quarters. This noise continued until after midnight, most nights. Staff seemed friendly although slightly scatty at times (most of the time). Reminded me a bit of Faulty Towers. Breakfast was good although service was very slow.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kew
0.5 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
2.2 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#2 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses

Property: The Coach and Horses
Address: 8 Kew Green, Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 3BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames > Kew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coach and Horses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just like the coaching inns of old, we provide a relaxed home-from-home for locals and visitors alike - and if you're staying with us, you can be assured of all the comforts and luxuries you'd expect from the best modern accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Coach and Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Coach And Horses Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing