We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coach and Horses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Coach and Horses
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

A very pleasent stay had by the both of us, nice food, great service. 1 minute walk to Kew Gardens. Would stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighh73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    174
    38
    19
    13
See reviews for
104
201
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night with my wife & daughter. We had chosen this hotel to stay whilst watching Rugby at Twickenham. We wanted somewhere with parking a little away rom any hubbub after the match.

This hotel didn't disappoint. It had parking and we were allowed to check in before the match and before the room was ready. On our return from the match we were able to go to our room. It was large pleasant and the sofa bed was fine for our 11 yo daughter.

One of the most pleasant aspects of this hotel was its location just on Kew Green. it really had the feel of a small quaint village location whilst being close enough for most of Londons attractions. We would definatley consider staying again if visiting this part of the capital.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shanecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Stayed here for a long weekend with family to celebrate a birthday. Genuine, friendly staff that made you feel relaxed and comfortable as soon as you got there. No request was too much, and was all dealt with promptly. Everyone was pleasant, good humoured and helpful.

The rooms were spacious, clean and warmly furnished. All the facilities were there: hairdryer, iron+board, flatscreen tv, toiletries and a good tea + coffee selection with extras of hot chocolate and biscuits. Beds were comfortable with plenty pillows and a good duvet.

The hotel is about a 12 minute walk from Kew Gardens Tube and rail station where there are a few shops and restaurants (its worth going over the footbridge to Kew Gardens Oriental Cuisine, Chinese restaurant and takeaway - superb food and extremely good value). The hotel is also only a 5 min walk to the entrance to Kew Gardens. There are a couple of restaurants near the hotel and the hotel itself has both a restaurant and bar area for food. If you walk along Kew Green to Kew Bridge you can then go down and follow a footpath along the Thames.

All in all a great place to stay, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon188575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

Myself and my partner stayed for one night on 25/2/11. We found the hotel itself to be very well presented and the staff to be willing and able to help.

The room itself was very clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was nice.

The only small thing I would say is that even though we booked a double room, there was only 1 very small tube of shampoo to go between two of us!! But this was a small issue and did not affect our stay.

All in all, a great little hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Da1meny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2011

Travelled with friends to watch rugby and had great time. Easy to find and just off M4, secure underground parking a bonus. On Friday, despite it being February and 16.50 still full price at Kew Gardens, so gave that a miss and adjourned to comfy bar with roaring fire. On Saturday it was just 20 Min bimble to Richmond then onto Twickenham. All staff, lead by Nick the manager, where very helpful throughout and always had time to go beyond just pleasantries. Rooms very clean and modern. Food, in particular breakfast, boasted both quality and choice. Lowest marking for value, but then it is London and I am a Northerner.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dwcheetham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

Contrary to most of the other reviews we weren't super impressed with this hotel. Room was small sparse & colorless, the air very dry, and our shower wasn't draining properly. The service in the restaurant was friendly but the food mediocre. We thought the pie sampler was awful - they were filled with dry meat and barely any sauce and plain old skin-on boiled potatoes were served as a side with the new year's eve dinners. The breakfast options were decent however. Very nice welsh rarebit and delicious hot cocoa.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Piza99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

We recently stayed as a group of 3 couples for the 6 nations match v Italy. The hotel staff were very friendly and approachable throughout and the manager, Nick, a springbok, always took time to ask his guests if there stays were comfortable etc.... The actual location overlooking Kew Green was brilliant and even though the hotel fonted the A406 (as our rooms and i think the majority of the rooms were all located at the rear) the noise was not an issue. The Thames path was also only a matter of a few hundred metres away and had we a little more time we would have taken this route into Richmond but the easiest way was via Kew Road past the gardens entrance of only a mile or so. For those who prefer the bus a stop on Kew Road was literally only 100 metres away and busses pass both ways every 5 or 6 minutes and drop of on Richmond High St near to the Orange Tree pub/opposite the railway station.
The hotel itself was beautifully decorated and very comfortable and the bars and retaurant areas had charm and atmosphere not to mention really decent grub and real 'Youngs' ale. It was also a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of Twickenham and Richmond following the rugby. If you are into eating at 'celebrity Chef' retsaurant s Anthony Worrel Thompson has one over the road from the C&H called Kew Grill and we ate there on the Friday. This too was really good but could be a bit pricey and for a much 'cheaper bil'l the pub grub at the W&H was good value. I would also recommend to those 'budding' gardners as it is a great location for Kew Gardens. All in all great little hotel/pub and one we will stay at again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BROWNIE64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kew
0.5 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
2.2 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
2.3 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
Premier Inn London Richmond Hote...
#2 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond-upon-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coach and Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses

Property: The Coach and Horses
Address: 8 Kew Green, Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames TW9 3BH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond-upon-Thames > Kew
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kew
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Coach and Horses 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just like the coaching inns of old, we provide a relaxed home-from-home for locals and visitors alike - and if you're staying with us, you can be assured of all the comforts and luxuries you'd expect from the best modern accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Coach and Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Hotel Richmond-Upon-Thames
Coach And Horses Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing