We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Burger me that was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tap On The Line

Tap On The Line
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Kew
Price range: $12 - $17
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A traditional station pub, lovingly refurbished in 2013, The Tap on The Line combines vintage charm with modern comfort - and sets a brand new standard for train fare. Set right on the platform at Kew Gardens Station, it's a unique and special spot to watch the world go by. What now stands as The Tap on The Line was originally the station's Timber Steaming Hall. Later, it became the Buffet Rooms, before it was finally converted into a pub. One of a kind: The Tap on The Line is the only remaining licensed public house situated on a London Underground platform.
Stevenage
Level Contributor
92 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Burger me that was great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

The burger was really excellent as were the skinny fries I had on the side.

Supplemented with bacon ,salad and several glasses of peppered vodka I had a rather pleasant brunch!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    91
    40
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A brilliant pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We went here to meet a friend for drinks. It was buzzing with a great atmosphere and despite the fact it was fairly busy we were served at the bar immediately by friendly staff. The decor is beautiful after recently being refurbished and we found a lovely table with comfy arm chairs to settle in. There is a great selection of fabulous wines and beers which the staff are more than happy to advise you on. The whole atmosphere is warm, friendly and cosy, and I imagine the outdoor seating area is lovely to sit in during the sunny months. I will definitely be returning and trying out some more of the lovely red wine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Izzyflo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a fab pub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Popped into this pub before visiting Kew gardens. It was quite busy, but I can understand why! Gorgeous inside and such a brilliant atmosphere. The staff were so friendly recommend some lovely wine. The manager even popped over and introduced himself and asked if everything was ok. We popped back in again after visiting the gardens and ordered dessert- yum! Will definitely be returning soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank LucyRC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We went here with 6 or so friends before visiting 'Kew Gardens at Christmas'. Busy pub with great ambience, we managed to find a table and had a few great bottles of wine (preceded by some lovely mulled wine). The food going out looked so lovely, we got jealous and ordered some portions of sticky toffee pudding which was divine!! Will definitely visit again for a dinner. For a 'pub by the station' it had good loos as well!!! Thank you!!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Such a friendly pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

What I love the most about this Fuller's pub is it's decor, it's been recently refurbished and it's looking great! We had a wonderful easy meal here that arrived in perfect time and was just what I wanted. Being a pub, I wouldn't expect exceptional food, but actually it was really tasty.
This pub is just right for a lovely afternoon with friends. Beers are interesting, every drink you could want is available and the staff were always there when you needed them.
I'll definitely visit Tap On The Line again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tap On The Line also viewed

Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames
Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames
 
Kew, Richmond-upon-Thames
Richmond-upon-Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Tap On The Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing